Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Polk City

On With Life Long Term Care

1002 W Washington Ave., Polk City, IA 50225 · Polk County · (515) 421-9200

40 certified beds, about 39 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165281 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 31, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since September 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 31, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 5, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, staff interviews, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure accurate control, accountability, and disposition of scheduled controlled narcotic medication with narcotic medication not disposed of when the resident discharged from the facility for 1(Resident #1) of 1 resident reviewed and narcotic counts not being completed accurately. The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
December 12, 2024Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteKitchen Based on observations, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to serve food under sanitary conditions to prevent foodborne illness during one of two meals observed. Facility staff also failed to conceal hair completely in a hairnet to prevent foodborne illness. The facility reported a census of 40 residents.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, staff interview, and policy review, the facility failed to maintain infection control standards due to a catheter bag not maintained in a bag cover and lying on the floor under the resident's wheelchair for 1 (Resident #26) of 1 resident reviewed for catheter care. The facility reported a census of 40 residents.
September 28, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, guidance from the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines, and facility policy review the facility failed to accurately reflect the pneumococcal vaccination status on the Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment for 1 of 5 residents reviewed (Res #8). The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 28, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, staff interviews and family interviews, the facility failed to follow interventions on a comprehensive care plan for 1 of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #11). The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, clinical record review, and staff interviews the facility failed to provide respiratory care and services in accordance with professional standards of practice for 2 of 2 residents reviewed (Resident #10 and #15) requiring humidified air through tracheostomy. The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  4. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines, the facility failed to provide the pneumococcal vaccination as appropriate for 1 of 5 residents reviewed (Res #8). The facility reported a census of 31 residents.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 2 on December 31, 2025, 1 on December 12, 2024, 2 on September 28, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · December 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · December 12, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · September 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · September 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.823.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.740.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.373.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.32 on weekdays and 6.96 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 27.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 8.26 in April to June 2025 to 7.94 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20257.941.808.326.96 27.5%0 of 9240
Apr to Jun 20258.261.978.647.31 37.0%0 of 9139
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Oct to Dec 20253.800.713.973.374.6%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.017.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.11.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.92.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.83.2
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.24.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.419.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.21.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.02.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ON WITH LIFE EXTENDED SERVICES LTD.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Fors, RudyIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2024
Hoogestraat, DianaIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2024
Benson Larson, KateManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Fors, RudyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Hoogestraat, DianaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Snyder, JohnManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Foreman, JimW-2 managing employeeIndividual01/01/2015
Shelton, JeanetteCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2017
On With Life Extended Services LtdOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2011
On With Life IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2001
Lewis, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2019
Shelton, JeanetteOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/01/2017

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 28, 2023: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 5, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 12, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is On With Life Long Term Care's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates On With Life Long Term Care 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did On With Life Long Term Care get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 31, 2025. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has On With Life Long Term Care been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does On With Life Long Term Care accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns On With Life Long Term Care?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers. Legal business name: ON WITH LIFE EXTENDED SERVICES LTD.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection