Find a nursing home

Home / Kentucky / Greenville

Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon

440 Hopkinsville Street, Greenville, KY 42345 · Muhlenberg County · (270) 338-8433

45 certified beds, about 37 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 185008 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 19, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Kentucky average is 2.9, the national average 9.2).

None of its 10 health citations since November 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.77 hours per resident per day, against 3.95 across Kentucky and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.16 of those hours.

38.9% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kentucky average 46.4%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 10 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
2E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 19, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, which had the potential to affect 37 of the facility's 37 residents who consumed food from the kitchen. Observation of the kitchen revealed food items were not sealed and/or covered to prevent contamination. Food items were labeled with a use-by date but had not been discarded after expiration. Review of the facility policy titled, Food and Supply Storage, revised 04/2025, revealed all food supplies used in food preparation should be stored in such a manner as to prevent contamination to maintain the safety and wholesomeness of the food for human consumption. All foods past the use by date should be discarded. [...]
  2. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to maintain a comprehensive care plan that is reviewed and revised by the interdisciplinary team after each assessment, including both the comprehensive and quarterly review assessments for 4 out of 4 sampled residents.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, policy review, and interviews, the facility failed to have follow-up procedures that must be in place to provide the information to the individual directly at the appropriate time for advance directives for one of the three residents sampled. A record review of Resident (R) 28's electronic chart on 03/18/2026 at 9:00 AM revealed the resident had an order for Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) as of 02/26/2026 and had advanced directive in parentheses behind the DNR located just beneath the resident's picture. A policy review of the documents titled Advance Directives & Medical Orders for Scope of Treatment (MOST), 600-024, revised date of 12/2025, on 03/18/2026 at 10:00 AM, revealed that the policy did not have direction on follow-up assessments for an advance directive. [...]
January 9, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the Facility Assessment, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the services of a Registered Nurse (RN) were utilized for at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. The facility failed to provide eight consecutive hours of RN coverage for 13 days between 07/01/2024 and 09/30/2024. This failure affected all persons residing in the facility on those 13 days, as the residents did not receive the required minimum nursing services.
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Refrigerated foods were not dated, labeled, and/or discarded in a timely manner. These failures had the potential to affect 34 of 34 residents in the facility who consumed food from the kitchen.
November 17, 2023Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The facility census was forty (40) and thirty-nine (39) residents received meals from the kitchen and had the potential to be affected. Observation, during initial tour of the kitchen, revealed opened food items that were not labeled or dated.
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that an alleged allegations of physical abuse was reported to the State Agency and local law authorities immediately, but no later than two (2) hours after the allegations were made for one (1) of twelve (12) sampled residents ( Resident #15). During a Resident Council Meeting on 11/15/2023 at 2:06 PM, Resident #15 stated he/she reported an allegation of abuse last week to the Nursing Supervisor/ However, the allegation was not reported to the Abuse Coordinator until 11/15/2023. Additionally, the facility failed to notify the State Survey Agency (SSA) of the allegation.
  3. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) for one (1) of twelve (12) sampled residents (Resident #24). Observations and record review revealed Resident #24 was being treated for a wound however, there was no documented evidence a care plan had been implemented to include wound care.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to review and revise each resident's Comprehensive Person Centered Care Plan for one (1) of twelve (12) sampled residents (Resident #33). Resident #33 had a significant weight loss of nineteen percent (19%) from 07/02/2023 to 11/10/2023, with no revisions made to his/her plan of care.
  5. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to maintain acceptable parameters of nutritional status, including usual body weight for one (1) of four (4) sampled residents for weight loss of a total sample size of twelve (12) (Resident 33). Resident #33 had a significant weight loss of nineteen percent (19%) from 07/02/2023 to 11/10/2023.

Fire safety inspections

16 fire safety citations on file: 8 on March 19, 2026, 5 on January 9, 2025, 3 on November 17, 2023.

Every fire safety citation16 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Ensure that waiting areas, nurse’s stations, gift shops, and cooking facilities, open to the corridor are properly protected.
    K 361 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · March 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Establish policies and procedures for volunteers.
    E 24 · January 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · January 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Have a complete alarm system manually initiated and initiated by fire sprinkler system connection.
    K 342 · January 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · January 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · January 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · November 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Provide rooms that can be unlocked from inside without a key.
    K 221 · November 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · November 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.773.953.86
Registered nurses1.160.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.883.493.42
Nurse aides3.16
Licensed practical nurses1.45
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)38.9%46.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover45.5%41.8%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.14 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.13 on weekdays and 4.88 on weekends, 20% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.60 in April to June 2025 to 5.77 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.771.166.134.88 0.0%0 of 9037
Oct to Dec 20255.701.206.014.90 0.0%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20255.781.316.114.93 0.0%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20255.601.126.044.48 0.0%0 of 9138
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kentucky, Jan to Mar 20263.850.714.043.403.2%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Kentucky

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Kentucky, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.45$17.38 to $21.2123,410
LPNs and LVNs$29.07$26.10 to $31.298,570
Registered nurses$38.96$36.38 to $46.7350,300
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.013.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.90.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.21.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.23.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.314.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.44.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.516.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.724.223.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.013.712.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.21.91.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.02.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: OH MUHLENBERG LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Heath, EdwardW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/01/2015
Mitchell, KathleenW-2 managing employeeIndividual06/01/2017
Brake, CandaceCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2022
Dufrayne, FrancisCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2021
Gardner, TeresaCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2021
McBride, AnthonyCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2022
Pollock, ArchieCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2021
Prunty, MarshallCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2021
Roberts, DavidCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2022
Heath, EdwardCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2015
Marsh, MarkCorporate officerIndividual06/07/2021
Mitchell, KathleenCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2017
Ranallo, RussellCorporate officerIndividual06/20/2022
Owensboro Health, IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization05/01/2014

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 19, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 19, 2026: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 19, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 9, 2025: "Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis."

Other nursing homes nearby

Kentucky contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Kentucky. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 19, 2026. The Kentucky average is 2.9.
Has Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital Lon?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers. Legal business name: OH MUHLENBERG LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection