Find a nursing home

Home / Kentucky / Madisonville

Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC

55 East North Street, Madisonville, KY 42431 · Hopkins County · (270) 821-1492

40 certified beds, about 32 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 185013 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 8, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Kentucky average is 2.9, the national average 9.2).

None of its 9 health citations since March 2020 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $3,387 in the last three years; the largest was $3,387, and the latest is dated January 30, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.39 hours per resident per day, against 3.95 across Kentucky and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.31 of those hours.

44.6% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kentucky average 46.4%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 9 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 8, 2026Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed ensure residents had the right to be informed of, and participate in their treatment by failing to inform residents and/or their representatives in advance of the risks and benefits of psychotropic medication use prior to administration, which affected 5 (Residents 2, 20, 4, 6, and 5) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  2. E
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, review of facility policy and manufacturer instructions, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5 percent (%). There were six errors out of 26 opportunities, which yielded a medication error rate of 23.08%, which affected 2 (Resident 36 and Resident 15) of 8 residents observed during medication administration.
  3. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 2 sampled residents (R14) reviewed for beneficiary notifications was provided a Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) and a Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice of Non-coverage (SNF ABN) prior to the end of covered Medicare Part A services.
  4. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide necessary activity of daily living (ADL) care for 1 of 1 sampled resident's (Resident 12) reviewed for ADL care. Specifically, the facility failed to offer to shave Resident 12's facial hair.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure staff implemented Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) and followed infection prevention and control practices for 1 (Resident 29) of 1 resident's reviewed for tube feeding.
March 6, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to cover, store and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety which had the potential to affect 36 of the facility's 36 residents who consumed food from the kitchen. Observation of the kitchen revealed food items stored in the refrigerator and freezers that were not covered and exposed to air, and which were outdated and not rotated to ensure older items were used first. Further observation of the dry pantry storage revealed two large bins, one filled with cornmeal and a second filled with flour which were undated to indicate when they were opened or when the items should be discarded.
  2. E
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the facility staffing schedules, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the services of a Registered Nurse (RN) were utilized for at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week as required. Review of the facility's staffing schedules revealed the facility failed to provide eight consecutive hours of RN coverage for 15 days between 07/27/2024 and 09/29/2024. This failure affected all persons residing in the facility during those 15 days.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure all drugs were labeled in accordance with professional standards. Observation of the front hall medication room revealed a vial of Tubersol solution (an injectable medication used to test for tuberculosis) was not properly stored in the medication refrigerator.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to establish and maintain a proper infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases. Observation during wound care on 03/06/2025 at 9:50 AM, revealed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 3 failed to clean the bedside table or place a barrier device to cover it, prior to placing the residents' clean wound dressing supplies on the table for 2 of 14 sampled residents (Resident (R)3 and R11).
March 4, 2020Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

28 fire safety citations on file: 4 on January 8, 2026, 12 on March 6, 2025, 12 on March 4, 2020.

Every fire safety citation28 citations
  1. F
    Establish emergency prep training and testing.
    E 36 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Have corridors or aisles that are unobstructed and are at least 8 feet in width.
    K 232 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Establish policies and procedures for volunteers.
    E 24 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Have corridors or aisles that are unobstructed and are at least 8 feet in width.
    K 232 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Provide primary/alternate means for communication.
    E 32 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Have corridors or aisles that are unobstructed and are at least 8 feet in width.
    K 232 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Conduct risk assessment and an All-Hazards approach.
    E 6 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Establish policies and procedures for volunteers.
    E 24 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  28. D
    Ensure precautions for handling oxygen cylinders and equipment are correctly followed.
    K 929 · March 4, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 30, 2024Fine $3,387

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.393.953.86
Registered nurses0.310.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.103.493.42
Nurse aides3.16
Licensed practical nurses0.92
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)44.6%46.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.8%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.99 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.51 on weekdays and 4.10 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 4.39 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.390.314.514.10 0.1%1 of 9032
Oct to Dec 20254.340.314.454.06 0.0%0 of 9232
Jul to Sep 20254.620.344.814.15 0.1%1 of 9232
Apr to Jun 20254.450.314.574.15 0.2%0 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kentucky, Jan to Mar 20263.850.714.043.403.2%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.813.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.63.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.51.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.314.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.44.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
35.216.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
30.224.223.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
37.013.712.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.01.91.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.22.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BRIGHTON CORNERSTONE GROUP LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Frances, JayCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2016
Smith, KimberlyCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2016
Legacy Health Services IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/01/2015
Frances, JayOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2016
Smith, KimberlyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2016
Legacy Health Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization04/08/2025
Proactive Medical Review and Consultants LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/01/2022
Hargis, ForwoodAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2024
Howard, ValerieAdp of the SNFIndividual10/28/2024
McIntosh, SarahAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2015
Petersen, JalmeAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."

Other nursing homes nearby

Kentucky contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Kentucky. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 8, 2026. The Kentucky average is 2.9.
Has Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $3,387 in the last three years.
Does Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Brighton Cornerstone Group, LLC?
CMS lists 11 owners and managers. Legal business name: BRIGHTON CORNERSTONE GROUP LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection