Find a nursing home

Home / Maryland / Towson

Pickersgill Retirement Community

615 Chestnut Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 · Baltimore County · (410) 825-7423

43 certified beds, about 31 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 215259 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 10, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Maryland average is 17, the national average 9.2).

None of its 20 health citations since February 2020 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.43 hours per resident per day, against 3.87 across Maryland and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.24 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 20 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
16D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 10, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to:1. Follow professional standards for food service safety, evident for 1 of 1 emergency water supply, and 3 out of 3 food storage bins reviewed. 2. Ensure a drain was maintained sanitarily. This was evident for 1 out of 2 drains located near the facility's dishwasher. Observations made during the surveyor's review of the kitchen task during the facility's recertification survey.
  2. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure the environment was free from pests. This was evident for 1 out of 1 nursing unit during the surveyor's review of Complaint #2714168 and during the facility's recertification survey.
  3. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide documentation that indicates that the facility provided the receiving hospital with the resident's information prior to transferring the resident to the hospital. This was evident for 1 (Resident #33) out of 4 residents reviewed during an annual recertification survey for hospitalizations and discharges.
  4. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure documentation of medication side effect monitoring, and maintain medical records in accordance with accepted professional standards and practices. This was evident for 2 (#9, #17) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
January 31, 2025Standard inspection · 12 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, it was determined that the facility staff failed to ensure canned goods and dry food were labeled with expiration dates and failed to label opened food with a used by date. This deficient practice was evident during the kitchen observation and has the ability to impact all residents who receive food from the kitchen.
  2. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure residents were treated with dignity and respect. This was evident during observation of 19 rooms on 1 unit (Decker Unit) during the survey.
  3. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a resident's medical record was protected from public view. This was evident for 1 of 2 medication carts (400 hallway medication cart) observed during the survey.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, it was determined that facility staff failed to update the residents' (#8) Minimum Data Set to accurately reflect the resident's medical condition, and failed to code the residents' (#16, #31) status accurately on the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment. This occurred for 3 (#8, #16, #31) out of 3 residents reviewed during the annual survey.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident received care based on professional standards. This was evident for 1 (Resident #16) of 2 residents reviewed for skin conditions.
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview with facility staff, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a resident receiving oxygen therapy had orders that were being followed and failed to post cautionary signs indicating the use of oxygen. This was evident for 1 (Resident #31) of 1 resident reviewed for respiratory care, and 1 (Resident #9 and #31) of 2 residents observed receiving oxygen.
  7. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview with facility staff, it was determined that the facility failed to obtain informed consent and document alternatives attempted prior to the initiation of bed rails. This was evident for 2 (Resident #31 and #13) of 2 residents reviewed for accident hazards.
  8. D
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure staff received annual performance reviews. This was evident for 4 of 5 GNAs (GNA#7, GNA #19, GNA #21, and GNA #26) reviewed during the annual survey.
  9. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to have a medication error rate of less than 5% during medication administration observation. This was evident for 3 (Resident #9, #16, and #236) of 26 medication administration opportunities which resulted in a medication error rate of 11.54%.
  10. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a resident was free from a significant medication error. This was evident for 1 (Resident #236) of 5 resident medication administrations observed during the survey.
  11. D
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    F909 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to conduct regular inspection of all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails to identify areas of possible entrapment. This was evident for 2 (Resident #31 and #13) of 2 residents reviewed for accidents hazards.
  12. D
    Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
    F947 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure there was a system in place to ensure Geriatric Nursing Assistants (GNAs) completed 12 hours of in-service training annually. This was evident for 3 (GNA #7, GNA #19, GNA #21) of 5 GNAs reviewed during the survey.
February 28, 2020Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, it was determined the facility staff failed to thoroughly clarify a medication order with the physician for Resident (#228). This was evident for 1 of 29 residents selected for review during the annual survey process.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation and staff interview, it was determined the facility staff failed to ensure the resident's environment was free from potential accidents (#12 and #14). This was evident for 2 of 2 residents selected for review of accidents and 2 of 29 residents selected for review during the annual survey process.
  3. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation and interview, it was determined the facility staff failed to provide Resident (#24) with dietary interventions as ordered by the physician. This was evident for 1 of 1 resident selected for review of nutrition care area and 1 of 29 residents selected for review during the annual survey process.
  4. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, it was determined the facility staff failed to maintain the medical record for Resident (#12) in the most accurate and complete form. This was evident for 1 of 29 residents selected for review during the annual survey.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 2 on April 10, 2026, 3 on January 31, 2025.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · April 10, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 10, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.433.873.86
Registered nurses1.240.840.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.853.473.42
Nurse aides2.01
Licensed practical nurses2.18
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported40.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.7%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.32 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.08 on weekdays and 3.85 on weekends, 37% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 5.43 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.431.246.083.85 0.0%1 of 9031
Oct to Dec 20254.851.235.164.07 0.0%1 of 9232
Jul to Sep 20255.881.306.514.30 0.0%0 of 9233
Apr to Jun 20254.451.334.953.19 0.8%3 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Maryland, Jan to Mar 20263.730.743.883.348.0%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.720.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.40.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.61.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.02.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.722.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.05.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.013.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.421.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.29.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.01.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PICKERSGILL, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Allen, MariaCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2024
Eisneberg, BarryCorporate directorIndividual09/16/2015
Flower, NancyCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2002
Gerberg, KennethCorporate directorIndividual04/09/2007
Karpovich, JillCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2022
Knight, NicoleCorporate directorIndividual05/08/2023
Long, CarolCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2013
Smith, EmilyCorporate directorIndividual01/01/1999
Auwaerter, KarenCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2017
Brooke, AnnCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2001
Carroll, MarshaCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2013
Finnegan, FranCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2013
Forster, KristenCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2021
Hughes, WinnieCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2019
Ortwein, SandraCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2015
Tully, FayeCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2004
Eisneberg, BarryOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/03/2015
Knight, NicoleOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/08/2023
Allen, MariaAdp of the SNFIndividual10/10/2025
Zibell, JeffreyAdp of the SNFIndividual10/10/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on January 31, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 10, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 10, 2026: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 10, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Maryland contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Maryland. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Pickersgill Retirement Community's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Pickersgill Retirement Community 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Pickersgill Retirement Community get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 10, 2026. The Maryland average is 17.
Has Pickersgill Retirement Community been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Pickersgill Retirement Community accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Pickersgill Retirement Community?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers. Legal business name: PICKERSGILL, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection