Find a nursing home

Home / Nebraska / Plainview

Plainview Manor

101 W Harper Ave, Plainview, NE 68769 · Pierce County · (402) 582-3849

39 certified beds, about 33 residents a day · Government - City · Medicare and Medicaid since 2007

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 285273 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 12, 2025, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Nebraska average is 7.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.76 hours per resident per day, against 3.98 across Nebraska and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.95 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
August 12, 2025Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThis requirement was not met as evidenced by: Licensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.12Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to obtain signed informed consents for the use of psychotropic (medication medications for Residents 1,2,12,17, and 34. The sample size was 5 and the facility census was 34.
  2. E
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteS483.45(e)(4) PRN orders for psychotropic drugs are limited to 14 days. Except as provided in S483.45(e)(5), if the attending physician or prescribing practitioner believes that it is appropriate for the PRN order to be extended beyond 14 days, he or she should document their rationale in the resident's medical record and indicate the duration for the PRN order. This requirement is not met as evidenced by:Licensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.12Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to have a stop date for as needed (PRN) antianxiety medications for Resident's 12, 17 and 34. The facility census was 34.
  3. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.12(D)(vi)Based on observation, record review, and interview; the facility failed to label open insulin contains (vials/pens) with dates indicating when they were opened for Resident's 2, 13, and 14, to ensure the medication was not used beyond recommended use by dates. The sample size was 3 and the facility census was 34.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.02 (H)Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to report a fall with major injury within the required time frame for 1 (Resident 17) of 3 sampled residents. The facility census was 34.
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09(F)(iii)Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to ensure Resident 7's Care Plan was reviewed and revised to ensure staff implemented Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP-infection control strategy using gowns and gloves during high contact resident care to reduce the spread of Multi-Drug Resistant Organisms (MRDO's-germ/s resistant to many antibiotics) during the provision of wound care for Resident 7. The sample size was 5 and the facility census was 34.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09 Based on interview and record review; the facility failed to complete neurological assessments (assessment of motor and sensory skills, hearing, speech, vision, coordination, and balance to determine a potential injury or change in status) after unwitnessed falls for 1 (Resident 24) of 4 sampled residents. The facility identified a census of 34.
  7. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09(H)(iii)Based on observation, record review, and interview; the facility failed to implement new measures to prevent pressure ulcer development for Resident 7 following a significant condition change. The sample size was 3 and the facility census was 34.
  8. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLICENSURE REFERENCE NUMBER 175 NAC 12-006.09(l)(i)Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to develop and/or revise interventions for the prevention of ongoing falls for 1 (Residents 24) of 4 sampled residents. The facility census was 34.
  9. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThis REQUIREMENT is not met as evidenced by Licensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.12(A)(vi) Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from unnecessary medications related to long term use of an antibiotic medication for Resident 23. The antibiotic did not specify a duration and had no supporting documentation for clinical use based on laboratory results. The sample size was 7 and the facility census was 34.
  10. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.18Based on observation, record review, and interview; the facility failed to implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP-infection control strategy using gowns and gloves during high contact resident care to reduce the spread of Multi-Drug-Resistant Organisms (MRDO's-germ/s resistant to many antibiotics) during the provision of wound care for Resident 7. The sample size was 5 and the facility census was 34.
August 8, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.02(H) Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to report an incident related to elopement for Resident 15. The sample size was 2 and the facility census was 34.
  2. D
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    F678 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLICENSURE REFERENCE NUMBER 175 NAC 12-006.09 Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to ensure Transportation Personal maintained current Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR-emergency procedures performed if a person stops breathing or their heart stops) credentials. This had the potential to affect 2 Residents 34 and 25) of 23 total sampled residents. The facility census was 34.
  3. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09(H) Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to have a diagnosis in place to support the use of an antipsychotic (medication that affects behavior, mood, thoughts, perception, and is used to manage psychotic disorders) medication for Resident 25. The sample size was 5 and the facility census was 34.
  4. C
    Not hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.
    F606 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.04A3b Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from potential abuse regarding a failure to verify there were no negative findings in the state nurse aide registry for 2 (Dietary Aides F & K) of 5 employee records reviewed. The facility census was 34.
June 21, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 14, 2023
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09B Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to ensure Resident 2's Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR-federally mandate screen performed to identify Mental Disorders (MD), Intellectual Disability (ID), or Related Disorders (RD) and to ensure appropriate facility placement with appropriate services), accurately reflected a potential MD. The sample size was 1 and the facility census was 30.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on June 21, 2023.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.763.983.86
Registered nurses0.950.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.193.483.42
Nurse aides2.29
Licensed practical nurses0.53
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.43 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.99 on weekdays and 3.19 on weekends, 20% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.58 in April to June 2025 to 3.76 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.760.953.993.19 0.0%0 of 9033
Oct to Dec 20253.620.883.873.01 0.0%0 of 9234
Jul to Sep 20253.630.963.902.94 0.0%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20253.581.043.813.00 0.0%0 of 9133
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Nebraska, Jan to Mar 20264.010.664.213.537.1%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.119.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.21.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.72.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.64.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.518.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.84.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.920.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PLAINVIEW MANOR.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Alexander, JoanManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/01/2021
Born, JodyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2022
Doty, SarahManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Gaylor, TraciManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/01/2023
Hoffart, MelissaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/01/2024
Janovec, CorrineManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2022
Sanne, TylerManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/01/2019
Smith, RobertManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2022
Tarr, MelissaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/01/2023
Wolken, KimManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/01/2012
Plainview ManorOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2025
Alexander, JoanOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2021
Born, JodyOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2022
Doty, SarahOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Gaylor, TraciOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2023
Hoffart, MelissaOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2024
Janovec, CorrineOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2022
Johnson, JuleenOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/01/2005
Sanne, TylerOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2019
Smith, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2022
Tarr, MelissaOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2023
Wolken, KimOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2012
Plainview ManorAdp of the SNFOrganization03/18/2025
Handke, LaneAdp of the SNFIndividual03/18/2025
Johnson, JuleenAdp of the SNFIndividual02/04/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on August 12, 2025: "Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on August 12, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 12, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 12, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.19 hours per resident per day, below the Nebraska average of 3.48.

Other nursing homes nearby

Nebraska contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Nebraska. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Plainview Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Plainview Manor 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Plainview Manor get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 12, 2025. The Nebraska average is 7.4.
Has Plainview Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Plainview Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Plainview Manor?
CMS lists 25 owners and managers. Legal business name: PLAINVIEW MANOR.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection