Find a nursing home

Home / Alabama / Red Bay

Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center

106 Tenth Avenue Northwest, Red Bay, AL 35582 · Franklin County · (256) 356-4982

90 certified beds, about 58 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1978

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 015201 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 25, 2022, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Alabama average is 4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since July 2018 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.96 hours per resident per day, against 3.88 across Alabama and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.46 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
10D
1E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 25, 2022Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and review of a facility policy titled Storage and Destruction of Medications, the facility failed to ensure the crash cart did not contain expired intravenous fluids and an expired prefilled syringe of normal saline. This was observed on one of five days of the survey, and had the potential to affect any resident who may have required treatment from the facility's crash cart.
  2. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, document review, and interviews, the facility failed to provide a Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice (SNFABN) after Resident Identifier (RI) #301, RI #39, and #21 were discharged from Medicare Part A services. Further, the facility failed to provide documentation of receipt of the Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) by RI #301, RI #39, and RI #21 and/or their responsible parties. This affected three of three residents sampled for beneficiary protection notification review.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to provide a clean, homelike, and orderly environment for Resident Identifier (RI) #48 and RI #29. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure: 1. Maintenance services were provided to address a non-latching door for room [ROOM NUMBER], and a difficult-to-latch door for RI #48. 2. RI #29's room was not used for storage for medical supplies not belonging to RI #29. This deficient practice affected RI #48 and RI #29, two of six residents reviewed during environmental observations.
  4. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff contacted the physician to obtain clarification orders to determine the most appropriate route of administration for Resident Identifier (RI) #8's Atropine eye drops, ordered to treat excess respiratory secretions. This deficient practice affected RI #8, one of one sampled resident reviewed for tracheotomy care and orders.
  5. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #33 was provided showers as scheduled. This affected one of two sampled residents reviewed for Activities of Daily Living (ADLs).
  6. D
    Provide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.
    F694 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #29's PICC (Peripherally Inserted Central Catheter) line dressing was changed in accordance with professional standards of practice. This deficient practice had the potential to affect RI #29, one of one sampled resident reviewed for IV care.
  7. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, record review, and review of a facility policy titled Hand Hygiene, the facility failed to ensure: 1. Nursing staff washed their hands and changed gloves while providing tracheostomy (trach) care and suctioning for Resident Identifier (RI) #8; and 2. Staff performed appropriate hand hygiene during wound care for RI #29. These deficient practices affected RI #8, one of one sampled residents reviewed for tracheostomy care, and RI #29, one of three sampled residents reviewed for wound care.
August 29, 2019Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 23, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interview and review of facility policy titled, Refrigerator/Freezer Storage, the facility failed to ensure: 1. outdated food was not stored in the stand-up refrigerator/walk-in freezer; and 2. prepared food items were labeled with a use by date prior to storage in the walk-in freezer. These failures had the potential to affect 71 of 73 residents who received meals from the kitchen. Findings Include: The facility policy titled, Refrigerator/Freezer Storage with a last revised date of 11/08, included, Label all refrigerated food .by its use by date .Outdated food is to be discarded . On 08/26/19 at 4:01 p.m., the surveyor observed food items in the stand-up refrigerator. There was one plastic container of Puree Swedish Meatballs with an open date of 08/22/19 and use by date 08/25/19. On 08/26/19 at 4:18 p.m., the surveyor observed food items in the walk-in freezer. [...]
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 23, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and a facility document titled RESIDENTS-These are YOUR Rights, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #32's catheter bag was covered with a privacy cover during the Resident Council Meeting on 8/27/2019 with 9 other residents in the room. This affected RI #32 one of two residents sampled with a catheter bag. Findings Include: A review of a facility document, RESIDENTS-These are YOUR Rights, with no date, revealed .Federal law requires us to treat YOU with dignity, privacy, . RI #32 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE]. A review of RI #32's physician order dated 2/22/19 revealed Foley Catheter 18 fr (french) with 30 ml (millimeter) bulb for urinary retention. [...]
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 23, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, medical records, and a facility policy titled Handwashing, the facility failed to ensure a Licensed Practical Nurse washed her hands: 1. after giving Resident Identifier (RI) #63's oral medications, and prior to putting on gloves to give RI #63's eye drop medication, and 2. after administering RI #63's eye drop medication, removing her gloves, and prior to leaving RI #63's room, before opening the drawer of the medication cart. This affected one of three residents during medication pass and one of three licensed nurses observed during the mediation pass. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled Handwashing, with no date, revealed Purpose To provide guidelines to employees for proper and appropriate handwashing techniques that will aid in the prevention of the transmission of infections . When to Wash Hands . 4. [...]
July 25, 2018Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 21, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, review of the facility's online reports to the State Agency, and review of the facility policy titled, Resident Abuse, the facility failed to ensure allegations of physical abuse were reported to the state agency within two hours. This affected 1 of 5 reports of abuse reviewed and involved 3 residents: Resident Identifier (RI) #25, #44 and #49. Findings Include: Review of undated policy tilted Resident Abuse documented: .VIII .8. If reportable .the facility will report the alleged event immediately not to exceed 2 hours if the events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious bodily injury . 1) Review of the facility's online report to the state agency revealed the facility became aware of an allegation of physical abuse concerning RI #25 on 7/11/18 at 10:00 a.m The allegation of physical abuse was not reported to the State Agency until 7/11/18 at 2: [...]
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, medical record review and a facility policy tilted Comprehensive Care Plans, the facility failed to ensure a care plan for oxygen use was developed for Resident Identifier (RI) #62. This affected RI # 62, 1 of eighteen residents, whose care plans were reviewed. Findings Include: A review of a policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans with a revised date of November 2017 documented: .Purpose: To assure each resident has a Comprehensive Care Plan that is current, person-centered, and consistent with the medical regimen .8. The resident care plans are kept in the medical record .Residents who are readmitted to the facility .will have their previous Care Plan reviewed and revised as needed . RI # 62 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses to include shortness of breath (SOB). A review of a Physician's Order Form for RI # 62 documented: [...]
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, medical record review, and review of facility policies titled, Small Volume Nebulizer, Hand Washing and Oral Medications, the facility failed to ensure: 1. a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) rinsed with water and dried the mouthpiece and cup of the nebulizer after administration of Resident Identifier (RI) #6's nebulizer treatment, and 2. a LPN washed her hands, per facility policy, after having direct contact with RI #71, after removing gloves and after completion of medication administration to RI #71. The LPN further handled medications with her bare hands during the medication administration to RI #71. These deficient practices affected RI #6, one of one resident observed during a nebulizer treatment, and RI #71, one of three residents observed during medication administration, involved two of three nurses observed for medication administration. [...]

Fire safety inspections

16 fire safety citations on file: 1 on March 25, 2022, 10 on August 29, 2019, 5 on July 25, 2018.

Every fire safety citation16 citations
  1. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 25, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Have restrictions on the use of flammable curtains.
    K 751 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have horizontal exits used in accordance with safety requirements.
    K 226 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · July 25, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have a fire alarm with audible and visual signals that transmits the alarm automatically to notify emergency forces in event of fire.
    K 343 · July 25, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 25, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · July 25, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 25, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.963.883.86
Registered nurses0.460.650.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.663.263.42
Nurse aides1.74
Licensed practical nurses0.76
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.5%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.44 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.08 on weekdays and 2.66 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.99 in April to June 2025 to 2.96 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.960.463.082.66 0.0%1 of 9058
Jul to Sep 20252.950.493.182.35 0.0%1 of 9258
Apr to Jun 20252.990.483.232.40 0.0%0 of 9158
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Alabama, Jan to Mar 20263.880.634.133.270.9%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.112.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.90.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.02.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.33.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.012.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.75.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
31.521.215.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2022: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2022: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2022: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2022: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.66 hours per resident per day, below the Alabama average of 3.26.

Other nursing homes nearby

Alabama contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Alabama. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 25, 2022. The Alabama average is 4.
Has Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Redbay Nursing and Rehab Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection