Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / York

Rest Haven-York

1050 South George Street, York, PA 17403 · York County · (717) 843-9866

159 certified beds, about 136 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395058 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 5, 2026, inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 22 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.75 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.42 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
18D
4E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
February 5, 2026Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, facility policy review, clinical record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain an effective infection control program related to labeling and storage of medical supplies for one of two residents reviewed with gastrostomy tubes (Resident 14). The facility also failed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections during two of two meal observations in the Royal Garden Cafe.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, clinical record review, observations, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a resident has the right to a dignified existence, including in an environment that promotes maintenance or enhancement of his or her quality of life, for one of 29 residents reviewed (Resident 7).
  3. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, clinical record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the interdisciplinary team determined a resident was safe to self-administer medications for one of the 29 residents reviewed (Resident 10). Findings Include: Review of the facility's policy, titled Medication- Self Administration-Assessment, Review, Care Planning, Documentation, revised April 2022, read, the purpose of the policy is To provide a uniform process through which residents are assessed and reviewed to self-administer medication and care-planning, and documentation is completed. [...]
  4. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy, staff interviews, and clinical record reviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide an explanation of the risks and benefits of psychotropic medications use and obtain consent prior to administering psychotropic medications for two of three residents reviewed for psychotropic medication use (Residents 15 and 45).
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for two of 29 residents reviewed (Residents 45 and 92). Findings Include: Review of Resident 45's clinical record revealed diagnoses that included chronic kidney disease (the long-term, irreversible loss of kidney function) and dementia (a general term for severe mental function loss). Review of Resident 45's Quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set is part of federally mandated process for clinical assessment of all Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing homes) dated November 11, 2025, indicated in Section I2300. Urinary Tract Infection (UTI) (LAST 30 DAYS) that Resident 45 had a UTI in the previous 30 days. [...]
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide respiratory services for two of two residents reviewed for respiratory care (Residents 141 and 144).
  7. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy, clinical record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain complete and accurate records related to dialysis communication for one of two residents reviewed that received dialysis services (Resident 12). Findings Include: Review of facility policy, titled Dialysis Care of Resident- transport, communication, observation, documentation, last revised January 2, 2017, read, in part, the facility is to communicate with dialysis facility. Prior to dialysis, pre-dialysis observation will be completed and sent with or faxed to dialysis center. Upon return from dialysis, a post-dialysis observation will be completed, and physician and dialysis center will be notified as needed. [...]
  8. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the ice machine equipment manual, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to store and serve food/beverages in accordance with professional standards for food safety for one of three pantry refrigerators and one of three ice machines.
January 30, 2025Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observations, clinical record reviews, facility document review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to protect the residents' right to privacy for three of three residents reviewed for the use of video/audio monitoring (Residents 16, 27, and 65).
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation, review of select facility documentation, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to utilize kitchen equipment in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in the main kitchen.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, facility policy review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure staff implemented infection control policies to prevent the spread of infection by doffing PPE (personal protective equipment) prior to exiting the resident room in two of seven resident care areas observed (100 and 700 hall), and failed to properly disinfect resident areas after one of two dressing changes observed (Resident 12). Findings Include: [...]
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain a safe, clean, comfortable, and home-like environment for one of 30 resident's reviewed (Resident 106).
  5. D
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    F637 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to conduct a Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS - standardized assessment tool utilized to identify a resident's physical, mental, and psychosocial needs) for one of four residents reviewed for hospice status (Resident 70).
  6. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observations, clinical record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a resident who is unable to carry out activities of daily living receives the necessary services to maintain grooming for one of 30 residents reviewed (Resident 7).
  7. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, hospital record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide care and services that met professional standards for one of 30 residents reviewed (Resident 240).
  8. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure residents receive treatment and services consistent with professional standards to promote healing and prevent infection for one of two residents reviewed for pressure ulcers (Resident 37).
  9. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, clinical records review, observations, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident environment was free of accident hazards for one of 30 Residents reviewed (Resident 26).
May 9, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility investigation, clinical record review, and staff interviews it was determined that the facility displayed past noncompliance, in that they had failed to ensure residents receive treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice and physician orders for one of seven residents reviewed (Resident 6 ). Findings Include: Review of Resident 6's clinical record revealed diagnoses that inlcuded Diabetes Mellitus Type II (a problem in the way the body regulates and uses sugar as a fuel) and vascular dementia (Brain damage caused by multiple strokes) Review of Resident 6's physician orders revealed an order that read Ozempic (semaglutide) pen injector; 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg .subcutaneous once a day on Friday. [...]
March 4, 2024Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the resident assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for two of 28 residents reviewed (Residents 7 and 8). Findings Include: Review of Resident 7's clinical record revealed diagnoses that included vitamin D deficiency, osteoporosis (a condition that weakens bones and increases the risk of fractures), and chronic pain. Review of Resident 7's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS - assessment tool utilized to identify residents' physical, mental and psychosocial needs), with an assessment reference date (ARD - last day of the assessment period) of February 6, 2024, revealed Resident 7 was coded as having had a weight loss of 5% or more in the last month or 10% or more in the last six months. [...]
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, clinical record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to review and revise the resident plan of care for two of 28 residents reviewed (Residents 118 and 128).
  3. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to precisely and effectively monitor hydration status and implement a therapeutic diet for one of 28 residents reviewed (Residents 128).
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observations, record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide respiratory care consistent with professional standards of practice for one of 28 residents reviewed (Resident 65).

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 1 on January 30, 2025, 5 on March 4, 2024, 2 on March 9, 2023.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · January 30, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install a two-hour-resistant firewall separation.
    K 133 · March 4, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 4, 2024 · Waiver
  4. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 4, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · March 4, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. C
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · March 4, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.753.893.86
Registered nurses0.420.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.363.533.42
Nurse aides2.19
Licensed practical nurses1.14
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.20 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.91 on weekdays and 3.36 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 5.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.76 in April to June 2025 to 3.75 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.750.423.913.36 5.6%0 of 90136
Oct to Dec 20253.820.443.943.51 4.0%0 of 92133
Jul to Sep 20253.980.414.133.60 8.9%0 of 92132
Apr to Jun 20253.760.223.893.44 10.2%0 of 91131
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.216.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.90.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.71.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.13.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.21.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.817.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.64.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.017.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
24.422.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
6.29.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.21.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: HES INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Think on Limiited Liability Company5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization05/01/2010
Evans, Alison5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual05/14/2010
Evans, David5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual05/14/2010
Evans, Karen5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual01/03/2010
Evans, Kristien5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual12/01/2020
Evans, Robert5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual12/01/2020
Gentry, Catherine5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual12/01/2020
Kelly, MeghanW-2 managing employeeIndividual06/15/2006
Evans, JamesCorporate officerIndividual05/14/2010
Evans, KarenCorporate officerIndividual01/03/2010

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 9 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2026: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.36 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Rest Haven-York's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Rest Haven-York 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Rest Haven-York get at its last inspection?
8 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 5, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Rest Haven-York been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Rest Haven-York accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Rest Haven-York?
CMS lists 10 owners and managers. Legal business name: HES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection