Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Pinehurst

Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center

103 Gossman Road, Pinehurst, NC 28374 · Moore County · (910) 246-1000

176 certified beds, about 73 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1968

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345044 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 31, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since April 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.92 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.57 of those hours.

CMS links it to Trinity Health, an affiliated group of 19 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
July 31, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Provide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.
    F694 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 8, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, Nurse Practitioners and staff interviews, the facility failed to change the dressing to Resident #76's Peripherally Inserted Central Catheter (PICC) line. This occurred for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #76) reviewed for intravenous (IV) antibiotic therapy.
  2. B
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · no revisit needed August 8, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to transmit a discharge Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment within the required time frame for 1 of 5 residents selected to be reviewed for submission of Resident Assessments within the required time frame (Resident #59).
July 11, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to report allegations of abuse to Adult Protective Services (APS). This deficient practice was for 4 of 4 residents reviewed for abuse. (Resident # 41, Resident #324, Resident #72 and Resident #223).
  2. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews and record review, the facility failed to issue a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), CMS-10055 Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNF ABN) to 1 of 3 residents reviewed for SNF Beneficiary Protection Notification Review (Resident # 50).
  3. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has August 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews, observations, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the daily nurse staffing sheets were completed and posted for 1 of 30 days reviewed (07/08/24) for staffing.
April 5, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 28, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and staff interviews the facility failed to treat a resident with dignity and respect by not removing food debris from a resident's clothing and bed after meal trays were removed for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for dignity (Resident #28). The reasonable person concept was applied to this deficiency as individuals have the expectation of being treated with dignity while in their home environment.
  2. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 28, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to trim and clean a dependent resident's nails (Resident #35) for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for Activities of Daily Living (ADLs).

Fire safety inspections

13 fire safety citations on file: 5 on July 11, 2024, 8 on April 5, 2023.

Every fire safety citation13 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · April 5, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.923.853.86
Registered nurses0.570.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.573.423.42
Nurse aides2.24
Licensed practical nurses1.12
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.39 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.06 on weekdays and 3.57 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.49 in April to June 2025 to 3.92 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.920.574.063.57 0.8%2 of 9073
Oct to Dec 20254.070.744.233.66 1.6%0 of 9272
Jul to Sep 20254.460.874.644.00 1.0%0 of 9266
Apr to Jun 20254.490.804.703.97 1.8%0 of 9170
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.015.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.60.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.22.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.63.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.818.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.35.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.114.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.722.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.712.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.41.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.21.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ST. JOSEPH OF THE PINES, INC. CMS links this home to Trinity Health, a group of 19 nursing homes averaging 3.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Trinity Continuing Care Services5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/01/2013
Che Trinity Inc5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization05/01/2013
Latovick, PamelaW-2 managing employeeIndividual05/01/2013
Tally, DeborahW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/16/2012
Canfield, BrianCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Castrejon, JavierCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Crane, Mary JulieCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Geary, MaryCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Kastner, StevenCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2013
McNeill, CherylCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Ruggles, ClareCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
West, MattCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Williams, CarlaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Buist, TimothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/29/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 31, 2025: "Provide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 11, 2024: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 31, 2025: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 11, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 31, 2025. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Saint Joseph of the Pines Health Center?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers, and links the home to Trinity Health. Legal business name: ST. JOSEPH OF THE PINES, INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection