Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / West Columbia

Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community

1 Still Hopes Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169 · Lexington County · (803) 796-6490

22 certified beds, about 20 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2011

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425401 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 15, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 2 health citations since April 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 7.61 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 2.47 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 2 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 15, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 12, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure expired medications were removed and not stored with other medications in use for residents, in 1 of 2 medication carts. Furthermore, the facility failed to ensure medications were safely stored. Specifically, medications were left prepoured and unlabeled in the top drawer of the medication cart for 1 of 2 medication carts reviewed for medication storage.
April 17, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observations, and record review, the facility failed to ensure infection control procedures were followed for one Resident (R) R13 of six residents reviewed during medication administration. The nurse failed to ensure the blood glucometer used to obtain the resident's glucose level was properly sanitized prior to use and failed to ensure the glucometer was placed on a clean barrier in the resident's room during use. A total of 8 residents were reviewed in the sample.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on April 17, 2024.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)7.613.843.86
Registered nurses2.470.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends6.003.333.42
Nurse aides3.69
Licensed practical nurses1.44
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.36 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.26 on weekdays and 6.00 on weekends, 27% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.13 in October to December 2025 to 7.61 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20267.612.478.266.00 0.0%0 of 9020
Oct to Dec 20257.132.007.645.85 0.0%0 of 9221
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.21.51.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.824.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.913.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTH CAROLINA EPISCOPAL HOME AT STILL HOPES.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
South Carolina Episcopal Home at "still Hopes"5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%04/16/2010
Dieckmann, MarieManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2025
Johnston, PhillipManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2025
Sabalis, PrestonManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2025
Stinnette, WadeManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2025
Dieckmann, MarieCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2025
Johnston, PhillipCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2025
Sanford, DannyCorporate directorIndividual04/16/2010
Stinnette, WadeCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2025
Robertson, NikkiCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2019
Sanford, DannyCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2000
Wenger, JosephCorporate officerIndividual11/14/2022
Functional Pathways of Tennessee LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/01/2023
Geriatric Health and Wellness Ltd Co.Operational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2023
South Carolina Episcopal Home at "still Hopes"Operational/managerial controlOrganization04/16/2010
Robertson, NikkiOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2019
Sanford, DannyOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2000
Wenger, JosephOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/14/2022
Geriatric Health and Wellness Ltd Co.Adp of the SNFOrganization06/05/2025
South Carolina Episcopal Home at "still Hopes"Adp of the SNFOrganization04/16/2010
Robertson, NikkiAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2019
Sanford, DannyAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2000
Wenger, JosephAdp of the SNFIndividual11/14/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 12, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 17, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 15, 2026. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Still Hopes Episcopal Retirement Community?
CMS lists 23 owners and managers. Legal business name: SOUTH CAROLINA EPISCOPAL HOME AT STILL HOPES.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection