Find a nursing home

Home / Utah / Vernal

Uintah Health Care Special Service District

510 South 500 West, Vernal, UT 84078 · Uintah County · (435) 781-3505

110 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · Government - County · Medicare and Medicaid since 1984

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 465092 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 25, 2025, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Utah average is 8.8, the national average 9.2).

Of 8 health citations since February 2022, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $28,038 in the last three years; the largest was $28,038, and the latest is dated September 25, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 6.49 hours per resident per day, against 4.09 across Utah and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.88 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 25, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. J
    Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.
    F740 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 out of 22 sampled residents, that the facility failed to ensure that each resident received and the facility provided the necessary behavioral health care and services to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being, in accordance with the comprehensive assessment and plan of care. Specifically, the facility failed to provide behavioral health care and services to a resident who had expressed a desire to commit suicide and interventions and monitoring were not implemented prior to the resident successfully committing suicide. Additionally, another resident made statements of wanting to hang himself and behavioral health care and services were not provided and interventions and monitoring were not implemented. [...]
  2. E
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 3 out of 22 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug was any drug when used- (1) In excessive dose (including duplicate drug therapy); or (2) For excessive duration; or (3) Without adequate monitoring; or (4) Without adequate indications for its use; or (5) In the presence of adverse consequences which indicate the dose should be reduced or discontinued. Specifically, residents were prescribed psychotropic medications and monitoring was not conducted for episodes of behavior, adverse side effects, and non-pharmacological interventions. Resident identifiers: 3, 5, and 22.
  3. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined for 1 out of 22 sampled residents, that the facility failed to send a copy of the discharge notice to a representative of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman. Specifically, the facility was only notifying the Ombudsman of residents who transferred to a hospital. Resident Identifier: 38. Findings Included: Resident 38 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, unspecified fracture of left femur, unspecified fracture of right humerus, and unspecified fall. Resident 38's medical record was reviewed 9/23/35 through 9/25/25. A review of resident 38's progress notes revealed:a. On 8/11/25 at 6:08 PM, a progress note documented, Medication, follow up appointments and Home health PT [physical therapy] with [name redacted] discussed and answered any questions resident and husband had. [...]
  4. D
    Keep complete, dated laboratory records in the resident's record.
    F775 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined for 1 out of 22 sampled residents, the facility did not file in the resident's clinical record laboratory reports that were dated and contained the name and address of the testing laboratory. Specifically, the resident's laboratory results were not located in the electronic medical record. Resident identifier: 21Findings included: Resident 21 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included other amnesia, borderline intellectual functioning, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and drug induced movement disorder. Review of resident 21's medical record was completed on 9/22/25 through 9/25/25. [...]
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined that for 1 out of 22 sampled residents, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) were not implemented for a resident with a chronic abdominal abscess wound. Resident identifier: 5. Findings Included: Resident 5 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, cutaneous abscess of abdominal wall, weakness, and unspecified severe protein-calorie malnutrition. Resident 5's medical record was reviewed 9/22/25 through 9/25/25. On 9/23/25 at 9:09 AM, an observation was made of resident 5's room. [...]
September 14, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations
February 9, 2022Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure the resident's doctor reviews the resident's care, writes, signs and dates progress notes and orders, at each required visit.
    F711 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 7, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility did not ensure that the physician reviewed the resident's total program of care, including medications and treatments, during required visits. Specifically, for 4 out of 21 sampled residents, the physician did not include an evaluation of the resident's condition and total program of care, including medications and treatments, and a decision about the continued appropriateness of the resident's current medical regimen. Resident identifiers: 11, 22, 25, and 28.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 7, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, staff were not sanitizing the vital signs cart contents between residents including the forehead thermometer. In addition, staff did not use hand hygiene while assisting residents during dining resulting in cross contamination. Resident identifiers: 7 and 20.
  3. D
    Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
    F676 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 7, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility did not provide the necessary care and services to ensure that a resident's abilities in activities of daily living do not diminish unless circumstances of the individual's clinical condition demonstrate that such diminution was unavoidable. Specifically, for 1 out of 21 sampled residents, a resident did not receive the feeding assistance she needed at meal time. Resident identifier: 28.

Fire safety inspections

13 fire safety citations on file: 2 on September 25, 2025, 5 on September 14, 2023, 6 on February 9, 2022.

Every fire safety citation13 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · September 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · September 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · September 14, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have an alternate power supply for its alarm system.
    K 344 · September 14, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 200 · September 14, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · September 14, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · September 14, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 9, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
September 25, 2025Fine $28,038

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeUtahUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)6.494.093.86
Registered nurses1.881.250.69
All nursing staff on weekends6.163.583.42
Nurse aides3.92
Licensed practical nurses0.69
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported50.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.90 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.63 on weekdays and 6.16 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.47 in April to June 2025 to 6.49 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20266.491.886.636.16 0.0%0 of 9029
Oct to Dec 20256.471.786.636.07 0.0%0 of 9230
Jul to Sep 20256.251.796.405.88 0.0%0 of 9231
Apr to Jun 20256.471.886.646.03 0.0%0 of 9131
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Utah, Jan to Mar 20263.911.114.103.442.8%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeUtahUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.011.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.01.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.02.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.915.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.23.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
47.814.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.916.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.011.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.21.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: UINTAH HEALTH CARE SPECIAL SERVICE DISTRICT.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hall, RobertIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2008
Hatch, AlicenIndirect ownership interestIndividual02/23/2018
Jolley, RichardIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2008
Lefevre, WillisIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2025
Long, EdwardIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2025
Rasmussen, DouglasIndirect ownership interestIndividual08/01/2019
Rimer, TeresaIndirect ownership interestIndividual03/01/2023
Woodward, KirkIndirect ownership interestIndividual02/01/2006
Hall, RobertManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2008
Jolley, RichardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2008
Lefevre, WillisManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Long, EdwardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Rasmussen, DouglasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/01/2019
Rimer, TeresaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2023
Woodward, KirkManaging control - governing bodyIndividual02/01/2006
Uintah Health Care Special Service DistrictOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/23/2018
Hatch, AlicenOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/23/2018
Hatch, AlicenAdp of the SNFIndividual05/08/2025
Rasmussen, DouglasAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2019
Woodward, KirkAdp of the SNFIndividual05/08/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 25, 2025: "Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 25, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 25, 2025: "Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 25, 2025: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Utah contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Utah. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Uintah Health Care Special Service District's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Uintah Health Care Special Service District 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Uintah Health Care Special Service District get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 25, 2025. The Utah average is 8.8.
Has Uintah Health Care Special Service District been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $28,038 in the last three years.
Does Uintah Health Care Special Service District accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Uintah Health Care Special Service District?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers. Legal business name: UINTAH HEALTH CARE SPECIAL SERVICE DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection