Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / West Bend

West Bend Health and Rehabilitation

203 Fourth Street Nw, West Bend, IA 50597 · Palo Alto County · (515) 887-4071

45 certified beds, about 43 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2001

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165444 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 25, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 18 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.94 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.59 of those hours.

CMS links it to The Ensign Group, an affiliated group of 344 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 18 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
17D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 25, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 11, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on personnel file reviews, staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide a criminal background check and a Single Contact License and Background Check (SING) for 2 of 5 current employees sampled (Staff B and Staff C). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  2. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 11, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interviews the facility failed to notify the Long Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman for 1 of 2 residents reviewed who transferred to the hospital or discharged from the facility (Resident #5). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
May 1, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interview and policy review the facility failed to complete a discharge summary including a recapitulation of the resident's stay for 1 of 1 resident review for discharges for closed record review (R#39). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  2. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to submit a Level 2 Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) evaluation for 1 of 1 residents reviewed with a new mental health diagnosis and start of new psychotropic medications (Resident #8). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  3. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and staff interview, the facility failed to follow physician orders for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for medications (Resident #15). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and clinical record review the facility failed to provide appropriate catheter care for 1 of 2 residents reviewed (Resident #140). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  5. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5%, with 2 errors of 33 medications passed for an error rate of 6.06% for 2 of 6 residents (Resident #5, and #21). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide infection control practices for personal devices for 1 resident (Resident #27) and during medication pass for 2 of 6 residents (Resident #27 and #8). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
December 16, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to treat each resident in a manner that promoted dignity and respect for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure staff followed professional standards for administering medication for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  3. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary services to maintain personal hygiene for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #1) and failed to ensure linens and clothing soiled by incontinence were changed promptly. The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
March 7, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, and family interview the facility failed to notify the physician and failed to notify the family/power of attorney of change for 2 residents reviewed for notification, (Resident #18 and #143) regarding a decrease in medication and an unresponsive episode . The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, family and staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to accurately complete a comprehensive care plan and failed to follow the care plan for 2 of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #14 and #20). The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review staff interviews and policy reivew, the facility failed to revise the resident's care plan for 3 of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #2, #6, #8). The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  4. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff and resident interviews the facility failed to provide professional standards by not administering medication prescribed by a physician for 1 of 8 residents reviewed (Resident # 19). The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  5. D
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    F661 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interview and policy review the facility failed to complete a discharge summary including a recapitulation of the resident's stay for 1 of 1 resident review for discharges for closed record review (Resident #40). The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, staff interview and policy review the facility failed preform proper hand hygiene and proper personal protective equipment guidelines to prevent the spread of potential infection and germs during peri cares for 1 of 2 residents reviewed (Resident #8). The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
January 12, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident interview, resident council minutes and facility policy review the facility failed to answer resident call lights within the allotted professional standards of 15 minutes for 2 of 2 residents, (Resident #4 and #5). The facility identified a census of 40 residents.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 3 on June 25, 2026, 3 on May 1, 2025, 2 on March 7, 2024.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 25, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 25, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 25, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.943.823.86
Registered nurses0.590.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.663.373.42
Nurse aides2.09
Licensed practical nurses0.26
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.20 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.05 on weekdays and 2.66 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.14 in April to June 2025 to 2.94 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.940.593.052.66 1.2%0 of 9043
Jul to Sep 20253.090.763.232.76 0.0%0 of 9241
Apr to Jun 20253.140.713.342.65 0.4%0 of 9139
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Iowa

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Iowa, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.92$17.96 to $21.9522,670
LPNs and LVNs$30.11$27.12 to $34.065,510
Registered nurses$37.80$32.83 to $41.3234,420
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.017.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.73.83.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.316.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.54.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.419.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.21.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.62.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PRAIRIE CREEK HEALTHCARE INC. CMS links this home to The Ensign Group, a group of 344 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Kleinstreuber, PeterManaging control - governing bodyIndividual11/19/2019
Owen, BrentManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/01/2014
Jorgensen, DavidCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Burnam, SoonCorporate officerIndividual07/18/2011
Keetch, ChadCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2011
Koenig, DebraCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2020
Sato, AmiCorporate officerIndividual09/09/2024
Ventura Medstaff, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/18/2011
Kleinstreuber, PeterOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/19/2019
Owen, BrentOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2014
Port, BarryIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual07/09/2025
4th Street Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Caretrust Gp LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Caretrust Reit IncAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Ctr Partnership LPAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Ensign Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization06/01/2011
Burnam, SoonAdp of the SNFIndividual07/09/2025
Kleinstreuber, PeterAdp of the SNFIndividual07/09/2025
Owen, BrentAdp of the SNFIndividual07/09/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.66 hours per resident per day, below the Iowa average of 3.37.

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is West Bend Health and Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates West Bend Health and Rehabilitation 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did West Bend Health and Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 25, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has West Bend Health and Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does West Bend Health and Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns West Bend Health and Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers, and links the home to The Ensign Group. Legal business name: PRAIRIE CREEK HEALTHCARE INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection