Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Deridder

Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc

714 High School Drive, Deridder, LA 70634 · Beauregard County · (337) 463-6293

132 certified beds, about 93 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2001

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195525 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 8, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 16 health citations since May 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

61.3% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Louisiana average 47.6%).

CMS links it to Rightcare Health Services, an affiliated group of 13 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
14D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 8, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 4, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications and biologicals were stored and labeled properly in accordance with currently accepted professional principles. The facility failed to ensure:1. Expired medications were not available for use/administration to Resident #20;2. Resident #48's medication was properly labeled; and3. Residents (#15, #29, #72, and #77)'s insulin pen/vials were properly labeled after opening and discarded after 28days of opening.
July 30, 2025Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen to prevent the likelihood of foodborne illnesses and failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This deficient practice had the potential to affect the 90 residents that received meals prepared in the kitchen.
  2. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident received reasonable needs for 1 (Resident #32) of 1 residents reviewed for accommodation of needs. The facility failed to ensure Resident #32 received a Geriatric chair as requested.
  3. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to transmit an admission MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessment within 14 days of completion for 1 (Resident #33) of 1 sampled residents with a MDS record over 120 days old.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident's comprehensive care plan was revised after each assessment for 1 (Resident #22) of 30 sampled residents. Review of Resident #22's medical record revealed an admission date of 03/26/2018 with diagnoses including Alzheimer's Disease, Epilepsy, Gastrostomy, and Quadriplegia. Review of Resident #22's Discharge with Return Anticipated MDS with ARD of 07/15/2025 revealed a BIMS Score was not conducted. Resident #22 did not receive Oxygen. Review of Resident #22's previous physician's orders revealed Oxygen at 2-4L NC PRN SOB and O2 sat below 95% RA as needed was discontinued on 01/29/2025. Review of Resident #22's care plan revealed the following interventions: Oxygen settings: O2 via NC at 2-4L PRN SOB or O2 less than 95% on RA; and Oxygen: Administer as ordered. [...]
  5. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the Facility failed to ensure that a resident who was unable to carry out activities of daily living received the necessary services to maintain good personal hygiene by failing to provide nail care for 1 (#5) out of 30 sampled residents.
  6. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure expired medications were not available for administration to residents in 1 (Room A) of 1 medication room checked for safe and secure storage. Observation of Room A on 07/29/2025 at 10:00 a.m. accompanied by S14 LPN revealed Room A was used to store medications and supplements to be provided to residents. Observation revealed 2 unopened bottles of Ocuvite Adult 50+ Soft Gels with an expiration date of 06/2025, and 3 DiabetiSource AC Complete Nutrition 250mL supplements with an expiration date of 05/23/2025. An interview was conducted at this time with S14 LPN who confirmed expired medications and supplements were in Room A, but should not have been. Interview with S3 ADON on 07/29/2025 at 10:45 a.m. [...]
  7. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides drinks consistent with resident needs and preferences and sufficient to maintain resident hydration.
    F807 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident received and the facility provided liquids consistent with resident needs for 1 (Resident #52) resident investigated for hydration. The sample size was 30 residents. Review of Resident #52's medical record revealed an admission date of 12/16/2020 with diagnoses including, in part. Dementia, Mild Protein-Calorie Malnutrition, and Aphasia. Review of Resident #52's Quarterly MDS with ARD of 06/06/2025 revealed a BIMS Score of 99. Resident #52 required substantial/maximal assistance with eating and did not have a swallowing disorder. Review of Resident #52's active physician's orders revealed the following: 09/03/2024: 360mL fluid of choice po TID with med pass; and 09/03/2024: Give 360mL fluid of choice po BID at snack times. Review of Resident #52's care plan revealed the following: 12/01/2021: [...]
  8. D
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility failed to ensure garbage and refuse were disposed of properly. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 95 residents who resided in the facility.
May 15, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure a cognitively impaired resident was treated with respect and dignity, and cared for in a manner that promoted enhancement of his or her own quality of life for 1 (#96) of 2 (#45, #96) Residents reviewed for dignity in a total sample of 29. The facility failed to ensure Resident #96 was dressed appropriately.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure the Resident's right to formulate an advanced directive was properly reflected in the Resident's medical record for 1 (#96) of 2 (#96, #352) Residents reviewed for advance directives. The total sample size was 29. The facility failed to ensure all medical records regarding code status consistently reflected the Resident's wishes to be a DNR (Do Not Resuscitate).
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain a clean, comfortable, and homelike environment, by failing to ensure a resident's bed linens were clean for 1 (Resident #18) of 4 (Resident #10, Resident #18, Resident #49 and Resident #55) sampled Residents. Total sample size was 29.
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a prompt resolution of an allegation of missing property for 1 (Resident #13) of 1 resident reviewed for grievances by failing to initiate a grievance for Resident #13. Total sample size was 29.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement a CPOC (Comprehensive Person Centered Care Plan) to meet Resident's medical needs for 2 (#47, #96) of 29 sampled residents. The facility failed to: 1. Ensure Resident #47 was transferred with a mechanical lift by 2 person assist as specified in the resident's physician's orders and CPOC, and 2. Ensure Resident #96 had a CPOC to address the Resident's code status of DNR.
  6. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident who was unable to carry out activities of daily living received the necessary services to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene for 2 (#47, #49) of 2 residents reviewed for Activities of Daily Living (ADLs).
  7. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to administer the Pneumococcal Vaccine after receiving consent for 1 (#45) of 5 (#2, #45, #57, #66 and #352) residents sampled for Influenza, Pneumococcal and COVID-19 immunizations.

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 1 on July 8, 2026, 2 on May 15, 2024.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. E
    Have a fire alarm with audible and visual signals that transmits the alarm automatically to notify emergency forces in event of fire.
    K 343 · July 8, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  2. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · May 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · May 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.763.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.310.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.213.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)61.3%47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover42.9%41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.59 on weekdays and 3.06 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 2.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.80 in April to June 2025 to 3.44 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.440.313.593.06 2.1%0 of 9093
Oct to Dec 20253.600.313.793.12 2.4%0 of 9291
Jul to Sep 20253.630.303.833.14 8.2%0 of 9293
Apr to Jun 20253.800.334.033.24 14.1%0 of 9192
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Louisiana, Jan to Mar 20263.640.263.863.103.6%0.9% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.517.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.62.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.53.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.83.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
27.617.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.95.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.422.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.828.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.914.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.32.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.02.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WESTWOOD MANOR NURSING HOME LLC. CMS links this home to Rightcare Health Services, a group of 13 nursing homes averaging 2.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Davis, Eric5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual13%07/01/2019
Dowden, Christine5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%01/01/2024
Gates, Cynthia5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%01/01/2024
Herpin, Daniel5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%01/01/2024
Kimble, Shannon5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%01/01/2024
Lebouef, Stephanie5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual5%01/01/2024
Poston, Albert D5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual6%08/29/2001
Poston, Bryan a5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual6%09/30/2011
Poston, Larry S5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual6%09/30/2011
Sanders, Jack5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual11%09/30/2011
Stevens, Vikki5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual13%07/01/2019
Sullivan, Marjorie P5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual6%08/29/2001
Ca Davis Enterprises LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization11/01/2023
Davis, Craig5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual13%11/01/2023
Davis, CraigCorporate directorIndividual04/16/2019
Poston, Albert DCorporate directorIndividual08/29/2001
Sanders, JackCorporate directorIndividual08/29/2001
Gates, CynthiaCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Rightcare Health Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization05/01/2024
Sanders, JackOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2024
Rightcare Health Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization04/11/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2025: "Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2025: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 8, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on July 8, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Westwood Manor Nursing Home, Inc?
CMS lists 21 owners and managers, and links the home to Rightcare Health Services. Legal business name: WESTWOOD MANOR NURSING HOME LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection