Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / North Wilkesboro

Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation

204 Old Brickyard Road, North Wilkesboro, NC 28659 · Wilkes County · (336) 667-2020

111 certified beds, about 104 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345401 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 11, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 16 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

28.2% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (North Carolina average 49.0%).

CMS links it to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation, an affiliated group of 18 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 30, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Not yet corrected · disputed by the home (informal dispute resolution)
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, National Weather Service online record, record review, and resident, staff, Nurse Practitioner, and Medical Director interviews, the facility failed to provide care in a safe manner when a staff member (Nurse Aide #1) assisted a resident (Resident #1) outside into a courtyard without notifying the resident's assigned Nurse Aide (NA) or nurse. Resident #1 was observed sitting in direct sunlight at approximately 12:45 PM and was noted to be hot, sweaty, with reddened skin on the back of her neck and shoulders. This deficient practice occurred for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for the prevention of accidents (Resident #1).
December 11, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to assess a resident's ability to keep over the counter lubricating eye drops for self-administration in the residents' room for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for self administration (Resident #28).
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and staff and resident interviews, the facility failed to remove petroleum based jelly from a resident's room who received oxygen for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for respiratory care (Resident #96).
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to store medicated powder in a secure locked storage area for 1 of 1 resident observed with medication at bedside (Resident #15).
September 11, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to provide a complete Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice of Non-coverage (SNF ABN) by omitting the estimated out of pocket cost for care for 4 of 4 residents reviewed for beneficiary notices (Residents #4, #151, #45, #11).
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to discard expired food and food items with signs of spoilage stored for use in 1 of 1 walk-in cooler. The facility also failed to label and date food items in 1 of 1 walk in cooler and in 1 of 2 nourishment room freezers (Hall 100). Additionally, the facility failed to store a dry ingredient scoop in a manner to prevent cross-contamination of food. These practices had the potential to affect food served to residents.
  3. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to maintain the privacy of a resident's record by leaving a medication cart laptop unattended with resident information exposed in an area accessible and visible to the public on 1 of 6 medication carts (Medication cart #3).
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, resident, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure a prompt resolution to a grievance and failed to provide a written summary about a grievance for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for grievances (Resident #43).
  5. D
    Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
    F847 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, resident, resident representative, and staff interviews the facility failed to explain the arbitration agreement to a resident, or the resident's representative, prior to having them sign the agreement This occurred for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #296) reviewed for arbitration.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and staff interviews the facility failed to follow their infection control policy when the Medical Records Assistant delivered a lunch tray to a resident on Enhanced Droplet Precautions without donning a mask, gloves, gown, and/or eye protection for 1 of 1 resident who required Enhanced Droplet Precautions (Resident #19).
June 15, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 30, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to anchor a Resident's indwelling urinary catheter tubing (Resident #53) to prevent pulling and trauma and failed to change the drainage sponge as ordered around a Resident's suprapubic stoma (an artificial opening in the skin) where the suprapubic urinary catheter was inserted (Resident #19). This was for 2 of 3 residents (Resident #53 and #19) who were reviewed for urinary catheters.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    F561 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and resident and staff interviews the facility failed to honor a resident's request to be assisted out of bed for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for choices (Resident #1).
  3. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 30, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, resident, and staff interviews the facility failed to provide routine incontinence care to a resident before his breakfast meal was served to him for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for activities of daily living (Resident #143).
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 19, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, resident, staff, and Wound Provider interviews the facility failed to keep a Stage 4 pressure ulcer covered and free from contamination of fecal matter for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for pressure ulcers (Resident #143).
  5. D
    Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
    F867 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and staff interviews, the facility's Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) committee failed to maintain implemented procedures and monitor interventions the committee put into place following a focused infection control survey on 11/12/20 a focused infection control and complaint survey on 1/29/21, and the recertification and complaint survey conducted on 12/02/21. This failure was for two deficiencies originally cited in the area of Infection Control (F880) and Quality of Care (F686) that were subsequently recited on the current recertification survey of 06/15/23. The repeat deficiencies during two federal surveys of record showed a pattern of the facility's inability to sustain an effective QA program.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interviews the facility failed to perform hand hygiene and change gloves after removing a soiled dressing and before cleansing a resident's suprapubic stoma (an artificial opening through the abdomen to the bladder) site for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #19) reviewed for dressing change.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 11, 2024, 3 on June 15, 2023, 1 on December 2, 2021.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · June 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · June 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · June 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 2, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.853.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.620.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.423.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)28.2%49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover37.5%45.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.75 on weekdays and 4.12 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.83 in April to June 2025 to 4.57 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.570.694.754.12 0.1%0 of 90104
Oct to Dec 20255.020.655.194.58 0.0%0 of 9298
Jul to Sep 20254.900.565.104.41 0.0%0 of 92100
Apr to Jun 20254.830.655.034.31 0.0%0 of 9197
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.015.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.62.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.13.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.318.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.55.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.514.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.422.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.612.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.21.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.51.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WILKESBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION LLC. CMS links this home to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation, a group of 18 nursing homes averaging 4.3 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Sprenger, Christopher5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual100%02/01/2020
Sprenger, ChristopherCorporate officerIndividual02/01/2020
Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2020
Sprenger, ChristopherOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/01/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on December 11, 2025: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 11, 2024: "Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 11, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 11, 2025. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Wilkesboro Health and Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 4 owners and managers, and links the home to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation. Legal business name: WILKESBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection