Find a nursing home

Home / Wyoming / Buffalo

Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility

700 Veteran's Lane, Buffalo, WY 82834 · Johnson County · (307) 684-5511

36 certified beds, about 21 residents a day · Government - State · Medicare and Medicaid since 2024

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 535061 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 23, 2026, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the Wyoming average is 7.8, the national average 9.2).

Of 16 health citations since July 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 7.88 hours per resident per day, against 3.87 across Wyoming and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 2.01 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
6E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
January 23, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. G
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, incident review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to protect the residents' right to be free from physical and verbal abuse by a staff member for 1 of 2 sample residents (#3) reviewed for allegations of abuse. This failure resulted in actual harm to resident #3.
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, policy and procedure review, and food code review, the facility failed to ensure food was stored in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The census was 24.
  3. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on payroll based journal staffing report review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure mandatory submission of staffing data. The census was 24.
  4. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure as needed psychotropic medications were limited to 14 days for 1 of 6 sample residents (#6) reviewed for unnecessary medications. 1. Review of the quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE] showed resident #6 had a BIMS score of 15 out of 15, which indicated the resident was cognitively intact, and had diagnoses which included anxiety disorder, insomnia, chronic pain, muscle weakness, and a history of cerebrovascular accident or transient ischemic attack. The following concerns were identified:a. Review of the physician orders dated 12/8/25 showed the resident received Ativan 0.5 milligrams (mg) every six hours as needed for anxiety. There was no evidence a stop date was indicated.b. [...]
  5. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure written discharge notice was provided to residents or resident representatives for 1 of 2 sample residents (#24) reviewed for closed records.
  6. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure a Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) level I or PASRR Level II was completed for 3 of 3 sample residents (#4, #12, #23) reviewed for pre-admission screening.
  7. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to act on pharmacy recommendations for 1 of 6 sample residents (#18) reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  8. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, review of manufacturer's instructions, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to label and provide the date medications were opened in 1 of 2 two cottages (Cottonwood).
  9. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review the facility failed to ensure the residents were immunized for pneumococcal disease in 1 of 5 sample residents (#12) reviewed for current vaccination status.
July 26, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    The resident has the right to receive notices in a format and a language he or she understands.
    F574 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure access to state agency and advocacy groups' names, addresses, and telephone numbers. The census was 18.
  2. E
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    F576 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure mail delivery, including on Saturdays. The census was 18.
  3. E
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, resident and staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure prompt resolution for 1 of 1 sample residents (#15) with grievances. In addition, the facility failed to ensure information on how to file a grievance or complaint was available to all residents. The census was 18.
  4. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure target symptoms and nonpharmacological interventions were identified and monitoring of target symptoms was completed for 4 of 6 sample residents (#3, #4, #12, #15) reviewed for unnecessary psychotropic medications.
  5. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on, observation, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to ensure medications available for resident use were not expired in 1 of 2 storage rooms (Cottonwood Cottage).
  6. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure accommodation of resident preferences for 1 of 3 sample residents (#17).
  7. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure nurse staffing was posted in a prominent location which was accessible to residents. The census was 18.

Fire safety inspections

10 fire safety citations on file: 2 on January 23, 2026, 8 on July 26, 2024.

Every fire safety citation10 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 23, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 23, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Develop a communication plan.
    E 29 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · July 26, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 23, 2026Payment Denial 62 days from February 27, 2026

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWyomingUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)7.883.873.86
Registered nurses2.010.940.69
All nursing staff on weekends6.753.373.42
Nurse aides4.61
Licensed practical nurses1.26
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported51.8%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.08 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.34 on weekdays and 6.75 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 64.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20267.882.018.346.75 64.8%0 of 9021
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wyoming, Jan to Mar 20263.610.863.803.157.5%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWyomingUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.616.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.91.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.33.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.14.73.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.815.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.14.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
41.521.815.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: STATE OF WYOMING.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
State of Wyoming5% or greater security interestOrganization01/14/2025
Johansson, StefanManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/14/2025
Meredith, GregoryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/10/2024
State of WyomingOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/14/2025
Allison, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/03/2022
Johansson, StefanOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/14/2025
Meredith, GregoryOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/10/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2026: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2026: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Wyoming contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wyoming. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 23, 2026. The Wyoming average is 7.8.
Has Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Wyoming Veterans' Skilled Nursing Facility?
CMS lists 7 owners and managers. Legal business name: STATE OF WYOMING.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection