Find a nursing home

Home / Arizona / Yuma

Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma

6051 East 34th Street, Yuma, AZ 85365 · Yuma County · (928) 247-8303

80 certified beds, about 73 residents a day · Government - State · Medicare and Medicaid since 2023

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 035303 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 20, 2024, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Arizona average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 8 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.58 hours per resident per day, against 3.98 across Arizona and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.10 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
4E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 22, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, interviews, and facility documentation and policy, the facility failed to ensure a drug regimen free from unnecessary medications for one resident (# 8). The deficient practice may result in medication-related problems such as adverse drug reactions and side effects.
December 27, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, interviews, facility documentation, and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure resident #1 was free from abuse from resident #3. The deficient practice can result in further instances of resident to resident abuse.
September 20, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, facility documentation, staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure that the required staffing information and CASPER Payroll-Based Journal (PBJ) data was submitted to CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) for two quarters. The deficient practice could result in residents receiving inadequate care due to a potential lack of staffing.
  2. E
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on video footage, clinical record review, resident and staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure one resident (#35) was not abused by another resident (#43). The deficient practice could result in residents being physically and emotionally harmed.
  3. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, facility documentation, and policy review, the facility failed to implement their abuse policy by failing to report an allegation of abuse within the required time for Resident #35. The deficient practice could result in further incidents of abuse not being reported in a timely manner and continued abuse.
  4. E
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident and staff interviews, a food test tray, facility documents, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents consistently received food that was palatable and warm. The deficient practice could result in the potential for residents who disliked a meal to experience nutritional problems or dissatisfaction with their meals.
  5. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure safety and sanitary kitchen regarding expired items, dusty dishwasher, and rotten produce, and food labeling. The deficient practice in this will lead to food contamination. During an observation on September 15, 2024 at 11:24 am on the walk-in cooler, multiple iceberg lettuce items had brownish spotting, white/gray fuzzy growth spots, and slimy liquid substances. Bell peppers had white/gray fuzzy growth spots, and blackish spots. An apple had a mushy spot on its surface. The pantry had an expired brown sugar label dated back to April 20, 2023. An interview was done with staff #722 a dietary aid on September 15, 2024 who stated that A few days ago they would have tossed those lettuce out. These food items are moldy. They figured that they would have gone to the trash. [...]
  6. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, policy review, and facility documents review, the facility failed to ensure appropriate code statutes per resident request. The deficit practice could result in residents' wishes not being followed. Resident #8 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnosis of epilepsy, hallucinations, sequelae of cerebral infarction, and Parkinson's disease. Care plan for resident #8 revealed that advanced directives will quarterly be communicated and confirmed. Physician's order on resident advance directives will be followed. Progress notes for resident #8 revealed that communication is difficult because of their health condition stated by resident #8 spouse. Assessment was done to identify resident cognition and had revealed resident #8 has a BIMs score of 6. Code statues on progress notes revealed that resident #8 code status DNR ( Do Not Resuscitate). [...]
June 22, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on September 20, 2024.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. E
    Establish roles under a Waiver declared by secretary.
    E 26 · September 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · September 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.583.983.86
Registered nurses1.100.700.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.993.513.42
Nurse aides3.07
Licensed practical nurses1.41
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.6%42.9%
Administrators who left2

CMS expects 2.75 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.82 on weekdays and 4.99 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 13.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.13 in April to June 2025 to 5.58 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.581.105.824.99 13.0%0 of 9073
Oct to Dec 20255.831.246.115.10 5.6%0 of 9267
Jul to Sep 20256.291.356.575.59 7.7%0 of 9264
Apr to Jun 20256.131.316.465.32 0.1%0 of 9160
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Arizona, Jan to Mar 20263.870.634.053.433.3%0.5% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.110.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.60.80.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.92.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.71.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.912.814.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.74.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.910.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.91.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.71.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Arizona Department of Veterans Services5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization5%10/03/2022
Chapman, LaurieOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/09/2012

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 27, 2024: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 20, 2024: "Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 22, 2025: "Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 20, 2024: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 2 administrators who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Arizona contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Arizona. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 20, 2024. The Arizona average is 6.4.
Has Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Arizona State Veteran Home - Yuma?
CMS lists 2 owners and managers. Legal business name: ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection