Find a nursing home

Home / Illinois / Batavia

Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center

520 Fabyan Parkway, Batavia, IL 60510 · Kane County · (630) 879-5266

63 certified beds, about 39 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicaid since 1975

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 14E095 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 5, 2025, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Illinois average is 12.6, the national average 9.2).

None of its 23 health citations since July 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.96 hours per resident per day, against 3.45 across Illinois and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.65 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 23 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
15D
0E
8F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 8, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to be free from physical abuse by an employee. This applies to 1 of 3 (R1) residents reviewed for physical abuse. This past noncompliance occurred from 8/24/2025 to 9/10/2025.
June 5, 2025Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide 8 hours of RN (Registered Nurse) coverage on 20 days during the past 6 months. This applies to all 37 residents who reside in the facility.
  2. F
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    F865 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and present a facility QAPI (Quality assurance Performance Improvement) plan. This applies to all 37 residents residing in the facility.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to have a water management plan for Legionella which included ways to intervene when control limits are not met and to document control measures for the prevention of Legionella growth. The facility also failed to follow their Infection Prevention and Control Program for surveillance of infections. This applies to all 37 residents residing in the facility.
  4. F
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop an Antibiotic Stewardship Program with a standardized tool and criteria to assess residents for infections. This applies to all 37 residents residing in the facility.
  5. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from unnecessary psychotropic medications. This applies to 3 of 5 residents (R13, R18, and R21) reviewed for unnecessary medications in the sample of 14.
  6. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wrote2. R19's EMR (Electronic Medical Record) showed R19 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. 2023, with diagnoses that included dementia unspecified severity with psychotic disturbances, anxiety, depression, and PTSD. R19's MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated March 31, 2025, showed R19 had mild cognitive impairment, and her active diagnoses included anxiety, depression, psychotic disorder, and PTSD (Post-traumatic stress disorder). R19's care plan showed there was no assessment of R19's diagnosis of PTSD, identification of PTSD triggers, or interventions to assist with R19's PTSD. R19's Social Service Quarterly Assessments showed there was no documentation that R19 had PTSD. On June 2, 2025, at 2:27 PM, R19 said she has had a lot of trauma in her life and she didn't know if facility knew that or knew what her triggers were. [...]
  7. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record reviewed the facility failed to date and contain resident's oxygen equipment for a resident with oxygen concentrator in their room. This applies to 1 of 1 resident (R25) reviewed for oxygen use in the sample of 14.
  8. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to assess a resident with PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) and identify triggers. This applies to 1 of 1 resident (R19) reviewed for trauma informed care in a sample of 14.
  9. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident did not receive an unnecessary medication. This applies to 1 of 5 residents (R4) reviewed for unnecessary medications in a sample of 14.
  10. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
    F805 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to puree food items to a smooth consistency per their facility policy. This applies to 3 of 3 residents (R2, R18, R22) reviewed for pureed diets in the sample of 14.
August 16, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to properly label/date/seal/store items, discard expired items, ensure the chloride dishwasher and quaternary sanitation bucket strips are not expired, and wear hair restraints while in the facility kitchen. This applies to all residents that receive oral nutrition and foods prepared in the facility kitchen.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to enter a physician's order that reflects the resident chosen code status. This applies to 2 of 3 residents (R7 and R21) reviewed for advanced directives in a sample size of 18.
  3. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility failed to preserve a resident's privacy and dignity. This applies to one resident R8 reviewed for privacy in a sample size of 18.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to have an accurate fall risk assessment after a fall. This applies to 1 of 1 resident (R16) reviewed for falls in a sample of 18.
  5. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide ADL (Activities of Daily Living) care for residents who required assistance from staff. This applies to 2 of 2 residents (R15, R8) reviewed for ADL care in a sample of 18.
  6. D
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide meals that meet a resident's health care needs as ordered by the physician. This applies to 1 of 1 resident (R5) reviewed for diet orders in a sample size of 18.
July 20, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to make efforts to resolve grievances. This applies to all 37 residents residing in the facility.
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the food was being prepared and served in a sanitary environment. This applies to all 37 residents in the facility.
  3. F
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the shower area was maintained in a safe and operational manner. This applies to all 37 residents in the facility.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure interventions were in place to prevent pressure ulcers for 1 resident (R37) reviewed for pressure outside the sample.
  5. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure a resident was transferred in a safe manner for 1 of 3 residents (R7) reviewed for safety in the sample of 12.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide incontinence care in a manner to prevent cross contamination for 1 of 1 resident (R7) reviewed for infection control in the sample of 12.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 8 on June 5, 2025, 3 on July 20, 2023.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Develop Emergency Preparedness policies and procedures.
    E 13 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Create arrangements with other facilities to receive patients.
    E 25 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Develop a communication plan.
    E 29 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Establish emergency prep training and testing.
    E 36 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · June 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Establish roles under a Waiver declared by secretary.
    E 26 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIllinoisUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.963.453.86
Registered nurses0.650.720.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.743.073.42
Nurse aides1.81
Licensed practical nurses0.51
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.8%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 4.71 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.05 on weekdays and 2.74 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.09 in April to June 2025 to 2.96 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.960.653.052.74 0.7%0 of 9039
Oct to Dec 20252.960.653.032.77 1.8%0 of 9240
Jul to Sep 20252.960.663.132.54 0.2%0 of 9240
Apr to Jun 20253.090.573.212.81 7.0%1 of 9139
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Illinois, Jan to Mar 20263.260.653.402.925.4%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Illinois

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Illinois, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.10$18.95 to $23.2668,640
LPNs and LVNs$36.06$30.57 to $38.2517,440
Registered nurses$46.15$38.47 to $50.94138,910
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIllinoisUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.113.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.31.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.13.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.414.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.74.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.821.715.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 5, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 5, 2025: "Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 5, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 16, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.74 hours per resident per day, below the Illinois average of 3.07.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Illinois contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Illinois. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 5, 2025. The Illinois average is 12.6.
Has Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Batavia Rehabilitation and Health Care Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection