Find a nursing home

Home / Kentucky / Dawson Springs

Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center

213 Water Street, Dawson Springs, KY 42408 · Hopkins County · (270) 797-2025

59 certified beds, about 43 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 185263 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 25, 2025, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Kentucky average is 2.9, the national average 9.2).

None of its 4 health citations since January 2019 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

35.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kentucky average 46.4%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 4 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 25, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Food items were not dated at the time of storage. Food that had been opened were not covered and/or sealed to prevent contamination. The deficiency had the potential to affect 47 of the facility's 47 residents who consumed food from the kitchen.
March 26, 2021Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to maintain sanitary conditions related to dirty, soiled kitchen floors. Observation revealed the kitchen floor was not clean with black soiled marks on the floor as the base of the entrance doorway; and, black areas and dust particles to the floor to the left of the steam table and beside the hot water heater.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility Protocol review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that one (1) of one (1) residents in the facility with an indwelling urinary catheter (Resident #50) received appropriate treatment and services to prevent urinary tract infections (UTI). Observations on 03/24/2021 revealed Resident #50's urinary catheter drainage bag was on the floor. Observation of State Registered Nursing Assistant (SRNA) #1 at 1:41 PM on 03/24/2021 revealed the SRNA picked the catheter bag up off the floor, moved it closer to the resident, but put it back on the floor without ensuring the catheter bag was maintained off the floor to prevent UTIs.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that all drugs and biologicals used in the facility were labeled in accordance with professional standards, including expiration dates and with appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions. Observation of two (2) of four (4) medication carts revealed one (1) cart had 2 boxes of expired medications.
January 17, 2019Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

4 fire safety citations on file: 2 on June 25, 2025, 2 on March 26, 2021.

Every fire safety citation4 citations
  1. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · June 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · March 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.953.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.790.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.493.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)35.8%46.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover42.9%41.8%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.62 on weekdays and 4.04 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 6.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 4.45 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.450.624.624.04 6.9%1 of 9043
Oct to Dec 20254.470.564.703.89 7.1%1 of 9246
Jul to Sep 20254.230.564.403.79 12.7%0 of 9248
Apr to Jun 20254.450.664.683.88 12.6%0 of 9147
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kentucky, Jan to Mar 20263.850.714.043.403.2%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.913.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.41.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.93.93.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.014.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.34.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
38.116.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
19.324.223.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.513.712.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.91.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.32.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: DAWSON POINTE, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Brenda Lowry Irrv Tr Fbo James Lowry5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization16%12/31/2025
David Lowry Irrv Tr Fbo Matthew Lowry5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization26%12/31/2025
James Lowry Family Irrv Tr5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization10%01/07/2010
Lowry, Brenda5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual25%12/31/2025
Lowry, David5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual24%12/31/2025
Lowry, BrendaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, JamesManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, MatthewManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, BrendaCorporate officerIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, JamesCorporate officerIndividual06/30/2024
Concord Health Systems Management Group IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization03/30/2007
Curtis, MargaretOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2015
Lowry, BrendaOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, JamesOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, BrendaTrustee of the SNFIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, DavidTrustee of the SNFIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, JamesTrustee of the SNFIndividual03/17/2026
Lowry, MatthewTrustee of the SNFIndividual07/31/2025
Brenda Lowry Irrv Tr Fbo James LowryAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
Concord Health Systems Management Group IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
Concord Professional Properties LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
David Lowry Irrv Tr Fbo Matthew LowryAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
Hargis & Associates, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
James Lowry Family Irrv TrAdp of the SNFOrganization01/14/2025
Curtis, MargaretAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2015
Davis, SteveAdp of the SNFIndividual01/14/2025
Hargis, ForwoodAdp of the SNFIndividual01/14/2025
Lowry, BrendaAdp of the SNFIndividual06/30/2024
Lowry, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual12/31/2025
Lowry, JamesAdp of the SNFIndividual06/30/2024
McIntosh, SarahAdp of the SNFIndividual01/14/2025
Wilcher, RobynAdp of the SNFIndividual01/14/2025
Wilder, DebraAdp of the SNFIndividual01/14/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 26, 2021: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 26, 2021: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Kentucky contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Kentucky. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on June 25, 2025. The Kentucky average is 2.9.
Has Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Dawson Springs Health and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 34 owners and managers. Legal business name: DAWSON POINTE, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection