Find a nursing home

Home / Arkansas / Cave City

Cave City Nursing Home Inc

442 Taylor Circle, Cave City, AR 72521 · Sharp County · (870) 283-5313

90 certified beds, about 70 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1989

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 045148 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 2, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Arkansas average is 2.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since February 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.99 hours per resident per day, against 4.02 across Arkansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.42 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
6E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
July 2, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure medications were administered according to physician's orders for one (Resident #40) of five residents reviewed.
  2. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide Provider Enhanced Reporting Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) mandatory staffing data to the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for the 2nd Quarter of 2025.
April 4, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure written information regarding the right to formulate an advanced directive was provided to the residents or their responsible parties, to enable them to make informed decisions regarding which measures would be provided or withheld at the end of life for 2 (Residents #8 and #45) of 3 residents reviewed for Advance Directive.
  2. E
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure resident fingernails were kept clean for 3 (Residents #8, #53, and #66) of 3 sampled residents, oral hygiene was being completed for 1 (Resident #66) of 1 sampled resident, and male residents were shaved to promote good personal hygiene for 2 (Resident #53, and #66) of 2 sampled residents.
  3. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the clothes dryers remained free of lint build-up to decrease the potential for fire and loss of laundry services in 1 of 1 laundry room. This failed practice had the potential to affect all 78 residents due to the potential for the interruption of laundry services and due to the proximity of the laundry room.
  4. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure proper handwashing/hand sanitizing was completed during dining observation.
  5. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure thickened liquids kept in a cooler remained on ice/with ice packs for 1 (Resident #14) of 1 sampled resident who required thickened liquids.
February 2, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility failed to ensure that dishes and utensils were stored properly, food was covered, and hands were washed between clean and dirty tasks to minimize the risk of cross contamination. The failed practice had the potential to affect 82 residents who received their meals from 1 of 1 kitchen according to a list provided by the administrator on 2/3/23 at 8:28 AM. a. On 1/30/23 at 11:20 AM, three nested mixing bowls were stored right side up. There were two large metal pans that were right side up under the steam table. b. On 1/30/23 at 12:05 PM, the tray line was serving lunch, the insulated base and dome plate covers were stored with the inside exposed to air and contaminants. c. On 2/2/23 at 10:42 AM, there were two trays of rolls sitting on the shelf above the range. The rolls were uncovered and open to contaminants. [...]
  2. E
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview the facility failed ensure humidified oxygen was administered at the physician prescribed rate for 1 (Resident #58) of 6 (R #4, R #17, R #24, R #58, R #69, R #233) sampled residents who received oxygen according to a list provided by the Director of Nursing (DON) on 2/3/23.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure the Minimum Data Set (MDS) was completed accurately, related to functional status for 1 (Resident #33) of 4 (Resident #32, R #23, R #33, and R #45) sampled residents who required extensive assistance with eating.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure palm grips was consistently utilized to prevent further decline in range of motion for 1 (Residents #45) of 5 (Resident #19, R #45, R #32, R #33 and R #23) sample mix residents who had contractures.

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 6 on July 2, 2025, 1 on February 2, 2023.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · February 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeArkansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.994.023.86
Registered nurses0.420.410.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.873.453.42
Nurse aides3.52
Licensed practical nurses1.04
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.8%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.40 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.44 on weekdays and 3.87 on weekends, 29% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.11 in April to June 2025 to 4.99 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.990.425.443.87 0.0%0 of 9070
Oct to Dec 20254.810.425.253.67 0.0%0 of 9273
Jul to Sep 20254.630.354.983.74 0.0%0 of 9276
Apr to Jun 20255.110.485.554.01 0.0%0 of 9176
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Arkansas, Jan to Mar 20264.050.404.283.472.0%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeArkansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.89.513.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.60.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.81.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.83.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.91.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.510.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.94.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.010.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.224.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.512.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.62.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.92.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: CAVE CITY NURSING HOME, INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Turney, NathanContracted managing employeeIndividual01/01/2024
Maupin, MaryW-2 managing employeeIndividual10/25/2019
Robinson, JamieW-2 managing employeeIndividual09/01/2024
Bell, CherylCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Carpenter, JoeyCorporate directorIndividual12/06/2022
Green, StevenCorporate directorIndividual05/28/2004
Harris, CalebCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Hastings, JeralCorporate directorIndividual05/28/2004
Hodges, KathyCorporate directorIndividual09/01/2011
Johnson, JulieCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2018
Jones, VickieCorporate directorIndividual05/28/2004
Matthews, JoshCorporate directorIndividual12/06/2022
Perkey, ArbraCorporate directorIndividual10/18/2004
Sanders, BobbyCorporate directorIndividual05/28/2004
Shreve, AnnetteaCorporate directorIndividual12/06/2022
Walling, MarcusCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Robinson, JamieAdp of the SNFIndividual01/21/2025
Turney, NathanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/21/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 2, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 2, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 4, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Arkansas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Arkansas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cave City Nursing Home Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cave City Nursing Home Inc 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cave City Nursing Home Inc get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 2, 2025. The Arkansas average is 2.7.
Has Cave City Nursing Home Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cave City Nursing Home Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cave City Nursing Home Inc?
CMS lists 18 owners and managers. Legal business name: CAVE CITY NURSING HOME, INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection