Find a nursing home

Home / Utah / Salt Lake City

City Creek Post Acute

165 South 1000 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84102 · Salt Lake County · (801) 322-5521

108 certified beds, about 69 residents a day · For profit - Partnership · Medicare and Medicaid since 1979

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 465072 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 30, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Utah average is 8.8, the national average 9.2).

Of 21 health citations since May 2022, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.63 hours per resident per day, against 4.09 across Utah and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.66 of those hours.

CMS links it to The Ensign Group, an affiliated group of 344 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 21 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
3G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
6E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 30, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure each resident received adequate supervision to prevent accidents. Specifically, for 1 out of 43 sampled residents, one resident sustained a third-degree burn to his left wrist from spilling a prepackaged soup prepared and served by facility staff. Resident identifier: 3. It was determined the provider's non-compliance with the requirements of participation had caused harm. The harm was related to the State Operations Manual, Appendix PP, S483.25(d)(2) Each resident receives adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents, F689, at a scope and severity of G. However, based on the facility's corrective actions and a review of its current compliance in this regulatory area, the deficiency was determined to be past noncompliance. [...]
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility did not store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, a Bluetooth speaker was stored on a shelf used to store items used in food preparation and a male staff member with a beard was observed to be preparing food without wearing a beardnet.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment, and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, for 3 out of 43 sampled residents, staff did not wear personal protective equipment (PPE) when residents were on Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) and hand hygiene was not performed during wound care. Resident identifiers: 14, 73, and 74.
  4. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure that when they transferred or discharged a resident that it was documented in the resident's medical record and that the information contained the contact information of the practitioner responsible for the care of the resident; resident representative information; Advanced Directive information; all special instructions for ongoing care; comprehensive care plan goals; and all other necessary information to ensure a safe and effective transition of care. Specifically, for 1 of 43 sampled residents, the facility did not document in the residents' medical record the information that was given to the receiving provider when the resident was transferred to the hospital. Resident identifier: 9.
  5. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that when a bed rail was utilized that the resident was assessed for the risk of entrapment from the bed rail prior to installation. Specifically, for 1 out of 43 sampled residents, the facility did not evaluate a resident for entrapment from the bed rail prior to use and the resident reported that her hand was caught in the bar. Resident identifier: 65.
  6. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that each resident received food that accommodated the resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences. Specifically, for 1 out of 43 sampled residents, the facility did not provide the resident with the food preferences as outlined on their meal ticket. Resident identifier: 8.
January 29, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and observation, the facility did not ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accidents as possible. Specifically, the laundry room was left open with no staff present; the laundry room was observed to have various chemicals inside.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 37 sampled residents, that the facility failed to ensure that a resident with urinary incontinence, based on the resident's comprehensive assessment received appropriate treatment and services to restore continence to the extent possible. Specifically, a resident who was incontinent of bladder and was assessed to be a likely candidate for a toileting program was not provided treatment and services to achieve as much normal bladder function as possible. Resident identifier: 10.
May 4, 2022Standard inspection · 13 citations
  1. G
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 of 23 sample residents, that each resident did not have the right to be free from abuse. Specifically, a resident was threatened by a roommate and there was no investigation to rule out abuse. Resident identifier: 33 and 89.
  2. G
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 23 sample residents, the facility did not ensure that residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and residents' choices. Specifically, a resident was not treated for a urinary tract infection (UTI). Resident identifier: 38.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, appropriated signage was not placed outside resident rooms identifying the need for transmission-based precautions (TBP), staff were observed in a patient's isolation room without personal protective equipment (PPE) and unvaccinated COVID-19 newly admitted residents were not put on TBP. [...]
  4. E
    Perform COVID19 testing on residents and staff.
    F886 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 5 out of 6 sampled staff, that the facility did not conduct testing based on parameters set forth by the Secretary. Specifically, routine testing of unvaccinated staff members, based on community transmission, was not completed.
  5. E
    Ensure staff are vaccinated for COVID-19
    F888 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, it was determined the facility did not develop and implement policies and procedures to ensure that all staff were fully vaccinated for Coronavirus Disease-2019 (COVID-19). The facility did not ensure that the policies and procedures applied to individuals who provided care, treatment, or other services for the facility and/or its residents, under contract or by other arrangement. Also, the facility did not implement policies and procedures that included, at a minimum, a process for ensuring the implementation of additional precautions, intended to mitigate the transmission and spread of COVID-19, for all staff who were not fully vaccinated for COVID-19. Specifically, the facility was unaware and did not keep documentation of the vaccination status for their contracted staff. [...]
  6. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 2 of 23 sample resident, the facility did not provide the right for residents to choose medical treatment. Specifically, residents Physicians Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (POLST) forms were not filled out timely after the residents were admitted to the facility. Resident identifiers: 8 and 30.
  7. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility did not provide housekeeping and maintenance services necessary to maintain a sanitary, orderly, and comfortable interior. Specifically, the two showers in the third floor shower room were in disrepair.
  8. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 4 of 23 sample residents, that in response to an allegation of abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, the facility did not ensure that all alleged violations were report no later than 2 hours after the allegation was made and the results of all investigations were reported within 5 working days of the incident. Specifically, two resident to resident altercations were not reported within 2 hours to the state survey agency. Resident identifiers: 9, 31, 33 and 89.
  9. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 of 23 sample residents, that in response to allegations of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment, the facility did not have evidence that all alleged violations were thoroughly investigated. Specifically, a resident threatened another resident and there was no investigation. Resident identifiers: 33 and 89.
  10. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 23 sample residents, the facility did not ensure that the residents' environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible or that each resident received adequate supervision to prevent accidents. Specifically, a resident had access to hazardous chemicals and there was a hallway rug outside of a resident's room which a resident tripped over when using a walker. Resident identifier:
  11. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility did not label all drugs and biologicals used in the facility in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and did not include appropriate accessory instructions and the expiration date when applicable. Specifically, insulins were not labeled with an open date and administered to residents. The medication cart was not locked when the nurse was not by it. Resident identifier: 8, 19, and 194.
  12. D
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 23 sampled residents, the facility did not obtain laboratory (lab) services to meet the needs of the residents. Specifically, a resident had physician's orders to obtain a glycated hemoglobin (A1C), Phosphorous (Phos), Complete Metabolic Panel (CMP), C-reactive protein (CRP), and Pre-Albumin for medical monitoring and the labs were not completed timely as ordered. Resident identifiers: 30.
  13. D
    Provide or obtain laboratory tests/services when ordered and promptly tell the ordering practitioner of the results.
    F773 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 23 sample residents, that the facility did not promptly notify the ordering physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist of laboratory results that fell outside of clinical reference ranges in accordance with facility policies and procedures for notification of a practitioner or per the ordering physician's orders. Specifically, a resident's urine culture and sensitivity was not reported to the physician. Resident identifier: 38.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeUtahUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.634.093.86
Registered nurses0.661.250.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.213.583.42
Nurse aides2.20
Licensed practical nurses0.78
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported50.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.33 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.80 on weekdays and 3.21 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 8.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.72 in April to June 2025 to 3.63 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.630.663.803.21 8.2%0 of 9069
Jul to Sep 20253.580.673.753.13 6.2%0 of 9269
Apr to Jun 20253.720.653.923.22 6.3%0 of 9167
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Utah, Jan to Mar 20263.911.114.103.442.8%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeUtahUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.211.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.50.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.91.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.42.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.515.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.23.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.814.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.216.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
12.211.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.21.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BEAVER VALLEY HOSPITAL. CMS links this home to The Ensign Group, a group of 344 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ellis, KcManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/01/2016
Workman, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/20/2024
Burnam, SoonCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2016
Keetch, ChadCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2011
Moss, TylerCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2016
Avenues Healthcare, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization05/01/2016
Ellis, KcOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2016
Workman, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/20/2024
Avenues Healthcare, Inc.Adp of the SNFOrganization09/15/2025
Caretrust Gp LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2006
Caretrust Reit IncAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2006
Ctr Partnership LPAdp of the SNFOrganization08/28/2014
Ensign Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2006
Tenth East Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/28/2014
Ellis, KcAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2016
Workman, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual09/20/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 30, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 30, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 30, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on May 4, 2022: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.21 hours per resident per day, below the Utah average of 3.58.

Other nursing homes nearby

Utah contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Utah. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is City Creek Post Acute's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates City Creek Post Acute 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did City Creek Post Acute get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 30, 2026. The Utah average is 8.8.
Has City Creek Post Acute been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does City Creek Post Acute accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns City Creek Post Acute?
CMS lists 16 owners and managers, and links the home to The Ensign Group. Legal business name: BEAVER VALLEY HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection