Find a nursing home

Home / Nebraska / Beemer

Colonial Haven

424 Harrison St., Beemer, NE 68716 · Cuming County · (402) 528-3268

34 certified beds, about 32 residents a day · Government - City/county · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 285204 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 26, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Nebraska average is 7.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 5 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.98 hours per resident per day, against 3.98 across Nebraska and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.57 of those hours.

CMS links it to Rural Health Development, an affiliated group of 9 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
June 26, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.05(E)Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to have informed consent and/or comprehensive informed consent for the use of psychotropic medications (any medications that affect behavior, mood, thoughts, or perception) in advance of administration that included the current dose and/or alternate treatment plan options for Residents 4, 5, 9, 18, and 27. The sample size was 6 and the facility census was 32.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteLICENSURE REFERENCE NUMBER 175 NAC 12-006.09(l)(i)(3) Based on record review and interviews; the facility failed to identify causal factors for falls and to develop fall prevention interventions based on causal factors to prevent ongoing falls for Resident 9. The sample size was 5 and the facility census was 32.
April 15, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
February 13, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.17 Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to implement an opportunistic waterborne pathogens plan, to prevent the growth of Legionella and other opportunistic waterborne pathogens in the facility's water system. This had the potential to affect all facility residents. The facility census was 27.
  2. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09A Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to ensure a new PASARR (Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review- a tool used to ensure residents receive the care they require for mental illness) screen was completed related to a mental health diagnosis for 1 (Resident 4) of 1 sampled resident. The facility census was 27.
  3. C
    Not hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.
    F606 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.04A3b Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to ensure all newly hired staff had the required background screenings were completed for 4 out of 5 employee files reviewed. The facility census was 27.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 2 on June 26, 2026, 3 on April 15, 2025, 3 on February 13, 2024.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 26, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 26, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · April 15, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · April 15, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure that sources of ignition are removed from patients receiving respiratory therapy.
    K 925 · April 15, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · February 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · February 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.983.983.86
Registered nurses0.570.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.383.483.42
Nurse aides2.65
Licensed practical nurses0.76
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.13 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.22 on weekdays and 3.38 on weekends, 20% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 18.3% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.33 in April to June 2025 to 3.98 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.980.574.223.38 18.3%0 of 9032
Oct to Dec 20254.100.564.363.45 16.0%0 of 9232
Jul to Sep 20254.180.564.403.60 6.8%0 of 9232
Apr to Jun 20254.330.554.613.64 6.5%0 of 9131
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Nebraska, Jan to Mar 20264.010.664.213.537.1%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.319.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.62.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.24.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.018.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.94.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.220.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.61.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.21.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: VILLAGE OF BEEMER. CMS links this home to Rural Health Development, a group of 9 nursing homes averaging 3.8 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Village of Beemer5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%06/01/1972
Lierman, LaurenW-2 managing employeeIndividual08/22/2019
Meaike, TraciW-2 managing employeeIndividual09/19/2014
Steffensmeier, DouglasCorporate officerIndividual06/01/1991
Rural Health Development Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization09/01/2004

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 26, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 26, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 13, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 13, 2024: "Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.38 hours per resident per day, below the Nebraska average of 3.48.

Other nursing homes nearby

Nebraska contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Nebraska. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Colonial Haven's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Colonial Haven 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Colonial Haven get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 26, 2026. The Nebraska average is 7.4.
Has Colonial Haven been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Colonial Haven accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Colonial Haven?
CMS lists 5 owners and managers, and links the home to Rural Health Development. Legal business name: VILLAGE OF BEEMER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection