Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Inwood

Fellowship Village

300 East Jefferson, Inwood, IA 51240 · Lyon County · (712) 753-4663

40 certified beds, about 36 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165283 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on November 20, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 6 health citations since December 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.44 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.19 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
November 20, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
September 5, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) Staffing Data Report for Quarter 2, 2024 (January 1 - March 31) review, facility staffing reports review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to submit accurate staff reports for the PBJ Staffing Data Report. The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  2. E
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, document review and staff interview the facility failed to follow the menu and prepare food to meet the nutritional needs for 11 of 31 residents reviewed. The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  3. D
    Provide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs.
    F800 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, document review, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to provide a well balanced diet that meets nutritional and special dietary needs by use of incorrect serving size portions for meals for 1 of 31 residents reviewed, (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
December 7, 2023Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to obtain resident/ resident representative signatures or record attempts to obtain resident/resident representative signatures on notification of the Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) Centers of Medicare & Medicaid (CMS)-10123 for 2 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #8 and #27) and CMS form CMS-10055 for 1 of 3 sampled residents (Residents #27). The facility reported a census of 29 residents. Findings Include: 1. Record review for Resident #8 revealed form CMS 10123-NOMNC with a services end date of 9/12/23. Resident #8 ' s representative gave verbal consent for signature on 9/8/23 however lacked a signature of patient or patient representative and date. Review of Resident Progress Notes dated 9/8/23 at 2:02 p.m., revealed Reviewed the SNFABN and NOMNC with representatives. [...]
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, resident interview, staff interviews, and facility record review, the facility failed to provide adequate nursing supervision to prevent a fall for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Residents #132). The facility reported a total census of 29 residents.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, facility policy review and staff interviews, the facility failed to perform proper hand hygiene during routine cares for 1 of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #19). The facility reported a total census of 29 residents.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 2 on November 20, 2025, 3 on September 5, 2024.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · November 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · November 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · September 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · September 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · September 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.443.823.86
Registered nurses1.190.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.483.373.42
Nurse aides3.96
Licensed practical nurses0.29
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.48 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.83 on weekdays and 4.48 on weekends, 23% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 8.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.79 in April to June 2025 to 5.44 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.441.195.834.48 8.6%0 of 9036
Oct to Dec 20254.800.945.074.12 6.8%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20254.991.145.374.03 4.7%0 of 9235
Apr to Jun 20254.791.115.183.80 0.0%0 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.817.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.91.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.82.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.43.83.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.116.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.24.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.519.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.82.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: FELLOWSHIP VILLAGE.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Jones, EmilyW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/27/2013
Jones, EmilyCorporate directorIndividual11/27/2013
Jones, EmilyOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/27/2013

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 5, 2024: "Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident."
  2. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 5, 2024: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 7, 2023: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 7, 2023: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Fellowship Village's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Fellowship Village 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Fellowship Village get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on November 20, 2025. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Fellowship Village been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Fellowship Village accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Fellowship Village?
CMS lists 3 owners and managers. Legal business name: FELLOWSHIP VILLAGE.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection