Find a nursing home

Home / Indiana / Vincennes

Gentle Care Strategies

1202 S 16th St., Vincennes, IN 47591 · Knox County · (812) 882-8292

60 certified beds, about 56 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 155519 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 24, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Indiana average is 7.2, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since June 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.66 hours per resident per day, against 3.69 across Indiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.70 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 24, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for 5 of 18 residents sampled. Two residents were on Aspirin (ASA), a resident was on oxygen, a resident self administered eye drops, and a resident kept a urinal on the beside table but did not have care plans for them. (Resident 36, Resident 50, Resident 112, Resident 54, Resident 29)
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident's care plan was revised for 2 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications and 1 of 3 reviewed for Activities of Daily Living (ADL) decline. A resident's care plan was not reviewed or revised to remove areas of concern that were no longer relevant to the resident's care, i.e. antibiotic use, fracture care, and antipsychotic use. (Resident 112, Resident 46, Resident 12)
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain safe and secure storage of medications for 1 of 2 medication carts observed. A medication cup with loose controlled substances was observed in a medication cart. (100 hall) (Resident 3, Resident 12, Resident 6)
September 30, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure adequate supervision and a secured environment was in place to prevent a resident with dementia from exiting the facility unsupervised. On 9/21/24, while on 15-minute checks, a resident was noticed to be missing at 5:20 A.M. Staff quickly located the resident outside the Hall 2 emergency exit door where the resident exited the facility and apparently fallen while unsupervised. (Resident C)
March 15, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the written notification required for a transfer and discharge was provided to the resident's representative for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for hospitalization. (Resident 4)
June 10, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure services were provided in accordance with the written plan of care for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for nutrition and during random observations of a resident on isolation precautions. (Resident 23, Resident 242)
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure infection control practices were maintained to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 during 1 of 1 observations of staff COVID-19 testing. Staff were observed performing a COVID-19 test without wearing the required PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) and staff failed to perform hand hygiene.

Fire safety inspections

27 fire safety citations on file: 6 on April 24, 2025, 12 on March 15, 2024, 9 on June 10, 2022.

Every fire safety citation27 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. C
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. E
    Have properly installed hallway dispensers for alcohol-based hand rub.
    K 325 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. E
    Have an externally vented heating system.
    K 522 · March 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. F
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. C
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. C
    Develop Emergency Preparedness policies and procedures.
    E 13 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. C
    Develop a communication plan.
    E 29 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. C
    Establish emergency prep training and testing.
    E 36 · June 10, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.663.693.86
Registered nurses0.700.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.263.253.42
Nurse aides2.13
Licensed practical nurses0.83
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.75 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.82 on weekdays and 3.26 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.33 in April to June 2025 to 3.66 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.660.703.823.26 0.1%0 of 9056
Oct to Dec 20253.720.733.873.32 0.3%0 of 9256
Jul to Sep 20253.200.553.362.78 1.4%0 of 9258
Apr to Jun 20253.330.483.502.93 1.0%0 of 9156
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Indiana, Jan to Mar 20263.630.623.803.193.4%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.511.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.81.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.13.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.411.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.53.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.713.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.922.223.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.110.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PULASKI MEMORIAL HOSPITAL.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Pulaski Memorial Hospital5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/01/2022
Blue, StacyContracted managing employeeIndividual08/03/2021
Barry, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2022
Malott, GreggCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 30, 2024: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 15, 2024: "Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Indiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Indiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Gentle Care Strategies's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Gentle Care Strategies 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Gentle Care Strategies get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 24, 2025. The Indiana average is 7.2.
Has Gentle Care Strategies been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Gentle Care Strategies accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Gentle Care Strategies?
CMS lists 4 owners and managers. Legal business name: PULASKI MEMORIAL HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection