Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Spearman

Hansford Manor

707 S Roland St., Spearman, TX 79081 · Hansford County · (806) 659-5535

60 certified beds, about 54 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicaid since 2001

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 45F497 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 10, 2025, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 10 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.83 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.70 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 10 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 10, 2025Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with the professional standards for food service safety for 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed for kitchen sanitation. 1. The facility failed to ensure food items were properly stored, labeled, and dated.2. The facility failed to the kitchen was free of expired foods. These failures could place residents who ate food served by the kitchen at risk of food-borne illness.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to formulate an advanced directive for 1 (Resident #25) of 24 residents reviewed for advanced directives. Resident #25 had a DNR in her record that was missing the date of when Resident #25 signed the DNR. This failure could place residents a risk for not receiving healthcare as per their or their legal representatives wishes.
  3. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to implement a comprehensive care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment and describes the services that are to be furnished to attain or maintain the resident's highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 1 (Resident #1) of 15 Residents reviewed for comprehensive care plans. -The facility failed to include a care plan for Resident #1's wounds. This failure could result in resident not being able to attain or maintain their highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being.
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents who need respiratory care were provided such care consistent with professional standards of practice for 1 (Resident #12) of 15 residents reviewed for respiratory care. -Resident #12 was not receiving oxygen at the correct dose. This failure could place residents at risk for respiratory compromise and associated complications such as shortness of breath, confusion, respiratory failure, infection, and exacerbation of their condition.
  5. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review; the facility failed to ensure a medication was labeled and stored in accordance with currently accepted professional principles for 1 of 2 medication carts reviewed for medication storage. The Hall 2 medication cart had a inulin pen that had been used that was not marked with the date of when it was opened/accessed or when it should expire. This failure could result in ineffective treatment resulting in exacerbation of resident's disease processes.
August 21, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to complete an assessment that accurately reflected the resident's status for 1 of 14 residents (Resident #4) reviewed for accuracy of MDS assessments. The facility failed to complete an accurate assessment for Resident #4, the assessment indicated she received insulin and did not. This failure could affect residents by placing them at risk for not receiving adequate care and services.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with resident rights that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment and describes the services that are to be furnished to attain or maintain the resident's highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 2 (Resident #28 and Resident #101) of 14 residents reviewed for care plans. The facility failed to include bed rail use in the care plans of Resident #28 and Resident #101. These failures could place residents at risk of harm due to incorrect care and/or lack of monitoring. Findings Included: 1. [...]
  3. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to attempt to use appropriate alternatives prior to installing a side or bed rail for 2 (Resident #4 and Resident #101) of 14 residents reviewed for bed rails. The facility placed bed rails on the beds of Resident #4 and Resident #101 on the day the residents were admitted without attempting other interventions. These failures could place residents at risk of entrapment or injury due to bed rails.
June 21, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as is possible for 14 of 49 residents (Resident #7 and the 13 residents residing on the north end of hall 1) reviewed for accident hazards. 1. Resident #7 was allowed to keep his cigarettes and lighter with him. 2. Three 200 mg tablets of Amiodarone were found on the floor of the north end of hall 1. These failures could place residents at risk of injury.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 2 of 2 residents (Resident #3 and #40) and 1 of *(Nutrition Aide-(NA D) observed for infection control practices. NA D failed to use proper hand hygiene techniques when providing feeding assistance between Resident #3 and Resident #40. This failure may place resident at an increased risk for transmissible diseases.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 10, 2025, 1 on June 21, 2023.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · September 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.833.393.86
Registered nurses0.700.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.772.983.42
Nurse aides3.13
Licensed practical nurses1.01
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.13 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.26 on weekdays and 3.77 on weekends, 28% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.34 in April to June 2025 to 4.83 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.830.705.263.77 0.0%0 of 9054
Oct to Dec 20254.910.745.323.87 0.0%0 of 9253
Jul to Sep 20255.410.645.844.33 0.0%0 of 9251
Apr to Jun 20254.340.615.212.14 0.0%0 of 9145
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Texas

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Texas, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.03$16.97 to $20.7188,680
LPNs and LVNs$29.92$27.46 to $32.8957,560
Registered nurses$46.14$38.06 to $50.53271,380
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.815.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.90.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.80.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.73.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.81.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.614.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.93.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.69.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.42.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.02.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Hansford Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Hansford Manor 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Hansford Manor get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 10, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Hansford Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Hansford Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Hansford Manor?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection