Find a nursing home

Home / New Jersey / North Bergen

Harbour View Senior Living Corp

3161 Kennedy Blvd, North Bergen, NJ 07047 · Hudson County · (201) 867-3585

84 certified beds · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2018

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 315525 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 21, 2025, inspectors cited 13 health deficiencies (the New Jersey average is 8.6, the national average 9.2).

Of 15 health citations since December 2021, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $28,674 in the last three years; the largest was $28,674, and the latest is dated August 21, 2025.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
August 21, 2025Standard inspection · 13 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of facility documents, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a resident who did not have a Pressure Ulcer (PU) upon admission and who was identified at risk of developing a PU, received care and services in accordance with professional standards of practice to prevent PUs. Resident #7 developed a facility acquired unstageable sacral wound identified by the Certified Nursing Aide and deep tissue injuries to bilateral heels identified during wound consultation (both four days after admission). In addition, the facility failed to ensure treatments were ordered at the time of identification. The resident's wounds worsened, developed a wound in another site, and had undergone a surgical debridement (a medical procedure that involves removing dead or infected tissue from a wound). [...]
  2. E
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and review of facility provided documentation, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the Certified Nursing Aides (CNAs) received a performance review for 5 of 5 CNA files reviewed. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:On 8/18/25 at 11:53 AM, the surveyor requested from the Licensed Nursing Home Administrator (LNHA) and Director of Nursing (DON) the annual education, competencies and performance reviews for five randomly selected CNAs. The facility provided a copy for each of the five CNAs which contained Nursing Assistant Clinical Skills Checklist and Competency forms and in-service education sign in sheets for education topics. The facility did not provide performance reviews for the five CNAs. On 8/19/25 at 1:59 PM, the surveyor asked the DON if the CNA performance evaluations were available. [...]
  3. E
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to assure that the required staff attended the quarterly Quality Assurance (QA) meetings for 4 of 6 (Medical Director) and 2 of 6 (Infection Preventionist) quarterly QA meetings according to the regulation and facility's practice. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:On 8/18/25 at 1:56 PM, Surveyor #1 (S#1) reviewed the provided Quality Assurance Performance Improvement (QAPI) binder and revealed: On 3/28/24 QAPI meeting, the facility management signed the attendance sheet that included the Medical Director (MD), Licensed Nursing Home Administrator #1 (LNHA#1), Director of Nursing #1 (DON#1), and Infection Preventionist #1 (IP#1). On 6/24/24 QAPI meeting, the MD, LNHA#1 and IP#2 signed the attendance sheet. [...]
  4. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, review of medical records, and other pertinent facility documentation, it was determined that the facility failed to follow appropriate COVID testing according to standards of clinical practice, facility's policy and procedure, and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines. This deficient practice was identified for 10 of 16 facility staff (6 Certified Nursing Aides, 1 Registered Nurse, and 3 Licensed Practical Nurse) reviewed for COVID-19 testing. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:According to the CDC guidelines, Interim Guidance for Managing Healthcare Personnel with SARS-CoV-2 Infection or Exposure to SARS-CoV-2, March 18, 2024,.For this guidance an exposure of 15 minutes or more is considered prolonged. [...]
  5. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to offer and administer resident a pneumococcal vaccine. This deficient practice was identified for 4 of 5 residents (Residents #5, #7, #52, and #62) reviewed for immunizations. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following: 1. On 8/19/2025 at 12:00 PM, Surveyor #1 (S#1) reviewed Resident #5's hybrid medical record. A review of Resident #5's admission Record or face sheet (AR, an admission summary) reflected that the resident was admitted to the facility with diagnoses which included but were not limited to; [...]
  6. E
    Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
    F947 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and review of facility documentation, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that Certified Nurse Aides (CNA) received at least twelve hours of mandatory in-service training for 5 of 5 CNAs education reviewed. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following: On 8/18/25 at 11:53 AM, the surveyor requested, from the Director of Nursing (DON), employee files consisting of but not limited to staffing, competencies, and educational in-services for five randomly selected CNAs. The DON stated that the Infection Preventionist/Licensed Practical Nurse (IP/LPN) was responsible for all the staff education. [...]
  7. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of other facility documentation, the facility failed to ensure the facility was maintained in a safe, clean, and homelike environment. This deficient practice was identified for 3 of 4 Resident Rooms (Rooms 7,11, and 29) and 1 of 2 shower rooms. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following: 1. On 8/18/25 at 10:38 AM, Surveyor #1 (S#1) with the Housekeeping Director (HD) toured the [NAME] unit and did random tour of the unit rooms. Both S#1 and the HD went inside Resident room [ROOM NUMBER] (RR#11). Upon entry, on the right side the closet was unable to fully closed, and the HD moved the clothes inside the closet and stated that there were too much residents' clothes inside the closet that was why it was not closing well. Both S#1 and the HD observed the toilet room with no paper towel. [...]
  8. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on the interview and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to complete the comprehensive Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment in accordance with the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual and facility policy for 2 of 17 (Residents #57 and #62) residents reviewed for comprehensive resident assessments. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:Reference: Centers For Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), RAI manual, Version 3.0, last revised in October 2024, indicated in Chapter 2, pages 2-8 revealed: .admission refers to the date a person enters the facility and is admitted as a resident. [...]
  9. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to transmit a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, an assessment tool used to facilitate the management of care, within the appropriate timeframe and in accordance with federal guidelines for 3 of 17 residents (Residents #4, #5, and #19), reviewed for resident assessments. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:Reference: Centers For Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), RAI manual, Version 3.0, last revised in October 2024, indicated in Chapter 2, Section 2.6-Required OBRA [Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act] Assessments for the MDS revealed: [...]
  10. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to; a.) ensure the care plan was updated and monitored the behavior episodes for 1 of 5 residents (Resident #5), b.) ensure rationale for the discontinuation of medication was documented for 1 of 5 residents (Resident #62), reviewed for unnecessary medications, and c.) follow a physician's order for 3 of 17 residents (Residents #5, #24, and #31) reviewed, in accordance with standards of clinical practice. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following: Reference: New Jersey Statutes, Annotated Title 45, Chapter 11. [...]
  11. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a resident receive treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice and facility policies and procedures with regard to tube feeding for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #8) reviewed. The deficient practice was evidenced by the following: Reference: New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 45. Chapter 11. Nursing Board. The Nurse Practice Act for the State of New Jersey states: [...]
  12. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interview, and review of facility documents, it was determined that the facility failed to a.) provide pharmaceutical services in accordance with professional standards to ensure accurate accountability of controlled substances, have sufficient secure procedures in place to prevent diversion of controlled substances for 1 of 4 residents observed during the medication administration observation and b.) ensure an accurate ordering and receiving of narcotic medications specifically failing to complete the required U.S Official Order Forms Schedules I & II (DEA 222 forms) with sufficient detail to enable accurate reconciliation for 2 of 2 executed forms reviewed and the unexecuted DEA 222 forms were signed by the Medical Director prior to being filled out for 4 of 4 unexecuted forms reviewed. The deficient practice was evidenced by the following: [...]
  13. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of pertinent facility documents, it was determined that the facility failed to properly store an ointment and biologicals according to clinical standards of practice. This deficient practice was identified in 1 of 4 Resident Room (Resident room [ROOM NUMBER]) observed during tour of the facility. This deficient practice was evidenced by the following:Reference: New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 45, Chapter 11. Nursing Board. The Nurse Practice Act for the State of New Jersey states: The practice of nursing as a licensed practical nurse is defined as performing tasks and responsibilities within the framework of case finding; [...]
March 5, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to properly contain trash in a closed dumpster resulting in trash overflowing the dumpster area, spilling onto the ground of 59 census residents.
  2. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to prominently post daily nurse staffing information readily accessible to residents and visitors of 59 census residents.
December 27, 2021Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

21 fire safety citations on file: 1 on January 28, 2026, 8 on August 21, 2025, 4 on March 5, 2024, 8 on December 27, 2021.

Every fire safety citation21 citations
  1. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · January 28, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Have elevators that firefighters can control in the event of a fire.
    K 531 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · December 27, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
August 21, 2025Fine $28,674

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNew JerseyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.853.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.680.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.503.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported39.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported37.7%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.28 on weekdays and 5.30 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.98 in April to June 2025 to 6.00 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20266.000.546.285.30 1.5%0 of 9056
Oct to Dec 20255.960.576.205.33 1.3%0 of 9257
Jul to Sep 20255.980.676.185.45 2.4%0 of 9256
Apr to Jun 20255.980.546.195.43 1.8%0 of 9157
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
New Jersey, Jan to Mar 20263.680.593.823.3411.6%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNew JerseyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.48.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.30.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.52.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.11.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.88.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.85.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.612.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.524.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.58.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.92.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: HARBOUR VIEW SENIOR LIVING CORP.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
3161 Kenney Blvd LLC5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization07/01/2022
Rosenberg, Avraham5% or greater mortgage interestIndividual07/01/2022
3161 Kenney Blvd LLC5% or greater security interestOrganization07/01/2022
Stern, SamuelCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Frey, RebeccaOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/10/2023
Goldstein, MarcOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2022
3161 Kenney Blvd LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/01/2022
Frey, RebeccaAdp of the SNFIndividual04/10/2023
Goldstein, MarcAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

New Jersey contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in New Jersey. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Harbour View Senior Living Corp's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Harbour View Senior Living Corp 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, no for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Harbour View Senior Living Corp get at its last inspection?
13 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 21, 2025. The New Jersey average is 8.6.
Has Harbour View Senior Living Corp been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $28,674 in the last three years.
Does Harbour View Senior Living Corp accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Harbour View Senior Living Corp?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: HARBOUR VIEW SENIOR LIVING CORP.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection