Find a nursing home

Home / Utah / Salt Lake City

Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek

1205 East Bonner Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84117 · Salt Lake County · (801) 262-2908

77 certified beds, about 65 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1980

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 465074 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 4, 2024, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Utah average is 8.8, the national average 9.2).

Of 28 health citations since December 2019, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $17,940 in the last three years; the largest was $17,940, and the latest is dated April 4, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.51 hours per resident per day, against 4.09 across Utah and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.90 of those hours.

CMS links it to Monument Health Group, an affiliated group of 11 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 28 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
3G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
15D
10E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 4, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not, for 2 of 26 sampled residents, ensure that the environment remained as free of accident hazards as possible, and that each resident received adequate supervision and assistance device to prevent accident. Resident identifiers: 35 and 56.
  2. E
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility did not provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment. Specifically, soiled ceiling tiles and dusty air vents were observed throughout the facility, the west hall was found to have a urine-like odor, and the facility environment was in disrepair.
  3. E
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined that for 6 of 26 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that all allegations of abuse or neglect were reported to the State Survey Agency (SSA). In addition, the facility did not ensure the results of all investigations of alleged abuse and neglect were reported to the necessary officials, including the SSA, within 5 working days. Due to the facility's identification of missed reporting of reportable allegations and their subsequent implementation of corrective measures, as well as the facility's current compliance in this regulatory area, this deficiency was determined to be past noncompliance. The facility achieved compliance on 3/15/2024. Resident identifiers: [...]
  4. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, it was determined for 2 out of 26 sampled residents, the facility did not ensure that each resident was free from abuse. Specifically, a staff located a female resident standing in front of a male resident, in the male resident's room. The male resident was seated in a wheelchair and had a hand up the shirt of the female resident, touching the female resident's breast. Both residents have significant cognitive impairment. Due to the facility's identification of abuse, subsequent corrective measures, and the facility's current compliance in this regulatory area, the deficiency was determined to be past noncompliance and the facility achieved compliance on 3/25/2024. Resident identifiers: [...]
  5. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 26 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident who was unable to carry out activities of daily living received the necessary services to maintain good grooming. Specifically, a resident with severely impaired cognitive skills had long fingernails with brown substance under the fingernails. Resident identifier: 28.
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, for 1 of 26 sampled residents, that the facility failed to ensure PRN (as needed) orders for psychotropic drugs were limited to 14 days, unless the attending physician or prescribing practitioner believes that it was appropriate for the PRN order to be extended beyond 14 days, he or she should document their rationale in the resident's medical record and indicate the duration for the PRN order. Specifically, a PRN order for Ativan was ordered for more than 21 days. Resident identifier: 16.
May 5, 2022Standard inspection · 13 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible and each resident received adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents. Specifically, for 3 out of 26 sampled residents, residents that had multiple falls with injuries were not provided interventions or adequate supervision to prevent falls from occurring. A resident had a fall that resulted in a left hip fracture and the resident was hospitalized . In addition, a resident had a fall resulting in a hematoma to the forehead. Resident identifiers: 32, 48, and 53.
  2. G
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure that residents maintained acceptable parameters of nutritional status unless the resident's clinical condition demonstrated that this was not possible. Specifically, for 1 out of 26 sampled residents, a resident who had experienced a significant weight loss did not have interventions put in place to prevent further significant weight loss. Resident identifier: 53.
  3. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined, the facility did not treat each resident with respect and dignity and care for each resident in a manner and in an environment that promoted maintenance or enhancement of his or her quality of life. Specifically, staff members were observed standing over residents while the residents were provided with meal consumption assistance. In addition, on one occasion a resident was observed to be seated with other residents who were consuming their meal, while the resident was not provided with eating assistance timely.
  4. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined, the facility did not develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with the resident rights, that included measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that were identified in the comprehensive assessment. Specifically, for 7 out of 26 sampled residents, the facility did not ensure implementation of a resident's care plan interventions regarding limited range of motion and contractures; for three residents, the facility did not update and implement interventions for fall prevention; and, for three residents, the facility was unable to demonstrate development and implementation of dementia related care plans. Resident identifiers: 3, 15, 16, 32, 45, 48, and 53.
  5. E
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    F744 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure residents who displayed or were diagnosed with dementia, received the appropriate treatment and services to attain or maintain his or her highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being. Specifically, for 3 out of 26 sampled residents, the facility was unable to demonstrate development and implementation of interventions for managing residents' dementia with behavioral disturbances. Resident identifiers: 3, 16, and 45.
  6. E
    Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
    F867 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure the Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) committee developed and implemented appropriate plans of correction to correct identified quality deficiencies. Specifically, the facility was found to be in non-compliance with F689 and F880 which were cited within the facility's 2018 and 2019 recertification survey. Also, the facility was found to be in non-compliance with F656 and F744 which were cited within the facility's 2019 recertification survey.
  7. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, observations were made of staff administering medications without following hand hygiene protocols, staff were observed to utilize communal vital signs equipment without sanitizing the equipment between resident usage, and residents were observed to consume food items off of other residents dirty meal trays and other residents were observed to consume food from the facility trash cans. Resident identifiers: 10, 16, 25, 33, 35, 40, 45, and 48.
  8. E
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure the resident's medical record included documentation that indicates, at a minimum, the following: that the resident or resident representative was provided education regarding the benefits and potential risks associated with Coronavirus Disease-2019 (COVID-19) vaccine; each dose of COVID-19 vaccine administered to the resident; or if the resident did not receive the COVID-19 vaccine due to medical contraindications or refusal. Specifically, for 2 out of 26 sampled residents, the facility did not keep documentation within the residents' medical record regarding the residents' COVID-19 vaccination refusal, acceptance, or education of the benefits and potential risks associated with the COVID-19 vaccination. Resident identifiers: 10 and 43.
  9. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure a resident with limited range of motion received appropriate treatment and services to increase range of motion or to prevent further decrease in range of motion. Specifically, for 1 out of 26 sampled residents, a resident with limited range of motion (ROM) was not provided with the prescribed interventions for prevention of further decreased range of motion. Resident identifier: 15.
  10. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the irregularities noted by the pharmacist during the drug regimen review were not reported to the attending physician and the facility's Medical Director (MD) and Director of Nursing (DON), and these reports must be acted upon. Specifically, for 2 out of 26 sampled residents, recommendations were not acted upon timely after the pharmacist made the recommendation. Resident identifiers: 4 and 18.
  11. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure that each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug is any drug when used in excessive dose; or for excessive duration; or without adequate monitoring; or without adequate indications for its use; or in the presence of adverse consequences which indicate the dose should be reduced or discontinued; or any combinations of the reasons above. Specifically, for 1 out of 26 sampled residents, a resident's hypertensive medications were not held when the blood pressure (BP) measurements were outside of the physician's ordered parameters. In addition, the Medical Director (MD) was not notified as ordered by the physician when the resident's BP measurements were outside of the physician's ordered parameters. Resident identifier: 4.
  12. D
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not obtain laboratory (lab) services to meet the needs of its residents. Specifically, for 1 out of 26 sampled residents, a resident had a physician's order for a blood draw to measure valproic acid levels and the lab was not completed. Resident identifier: 40.
  13. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not ensure that each resident's medical record included documentation that indicated that the resident or resident's representative was provided education regarding the benefits and potential side effects of the influenza and pneumococcal immunizations; and that the resident either received the influenza and pneumococcal immunizations or did not receive the influenza and pneumococcal immunizations due to medical contraindications or refusal. Specifically, for 2 out of 26 sampled residents, the facility did not keep documentation within the residents' medical record regarding the residents' influenza consent status or education of the benefits and potential risks associated with the immunization. Resident identifiers: 15 and 43.
December 5, 2019Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined, for 10 of 32 sample residents, that the facility did not have sufficient nursing staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to provide nursing related services to assure resident safety and attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident, as determined by resident assessments and individual plans of care and considering the number, acuity and diagnoses of the facility's resident population in accordance with the facility assessment. Specifically, residents waited for over 20 minutes to be served breakfast and staff members complained of not enough staff for the Journey's unit. Resident identifiers: 4, 8, 25, 34, 35, 38, 44, 48, 49, and 61.
  2. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview it was determined that the facility did not ensure safe and secure storage of drugs and biologicals in accordance with accepted professional principles; or include the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date on the medication. Specifically, one multi-dose vial of Tuberculin Purified Protein Derivative was expired and available for resident use, the pharmacy provided emergency kit (Ekit) was not locked, and a treatment cart on the unit was not locked and secured. Resident Identifiers: 54, 61, 163, and 164.
  3. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that each resident was free from any physical restraint imposed for the purpose of discipline or convenience and not required to treat the resident's medical symptoms. Specifically, a resident had a gait belt around her waist that was secured to her wheelchair. Resident identifier: 28.
  4. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident. Specifically, a resident experienced falls and did not have a care plan updated. Resident identifier:
  5. D
    Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
    F676 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not provide appropriate treatment and services to maintain or improve his or her ability to carry out the activities of daily living. Specifically, a resident did not receive assistance with eating for 19 minutes and staff did not put in her hearing aides. Resident identifier: 11.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 2 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the residents' choice. Specifically, a resident with a hip fracture had a delay in treatment. Resident identifiers: 11 and 162.
  7. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that each resident received adequate supervision to prevent accidents. Specifically, a resident sustained 17 falls without adequate interventions developed to prevent falls. Resident identifier: 4.
  8. D
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    F744 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 9 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure a resident who was diagnosed with dementia, received the appropriate treatment and services to attain or maintain his highest practicable physical, mental and psychosocial well-being. Specifically, a resident was continually yelling out in the Journey's unit and disrupting other residents. Resident identifiers: 4, 8, 25, 35, 38, 44, 48, 49, and 61.
  9. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 32 sampled residents, that the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, a resident's urinary catheter bag was touching the floor without a barrier. Resident identifier: 47.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on December 5, 2019.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. D
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
April 4, 2024Fine $17,940

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeUtahUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.514.093.86
Registered nurses0.901.250.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.133.583.42
Nurse aides2.22
Licensed practical nurses0.39
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported50.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.65 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.67 on weekdays and 3.13 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.39 in April to June 2025 to 3.51 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.510.903.673.13 0.0%0 of 9065
Oct to Dec 20253.380.853.542.99 0.1%0 of 9266
Jul to Sep 20252.830.462.972.49 7.4%0 of 9266
Apr to Jun 20253.391.033.562.96 7.5%0 of 9166
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Utah, Jan to Mar 20263.911.114.103.442.8%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Utah

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Utah, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$19.15$17.81 to $21.3212,260
LPNs and LVNs$30.40$25.71 to $35.861,680
Registered nurses$40.67$38.49 to $50.5427,420
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeUtahUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.311.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.41.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.22.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.715.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.014.215.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: GUNNISON VALLEY HOSPITAL. CMS links this home to Monument Health Group, a group of 11 nursing homes averaging 2.6 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Murray, BrianCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2020
Gunnison Valley HospitalOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/07/2025
Health Group Management LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/07/2025
Monument Health Group LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/07/2025
Clawson, TravisOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Fragoso, LindsayOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/10/2021
Marriott, StephenOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
McKinnie-Redmond, FaithOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Morris, JaceOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Murray, BrianOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2020
Robertson, BrettOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Samuelian, SpencerOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Seastrand, JasonOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
West, ChristianOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Workman, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Gunnison Valley HospitalAdp of the SNFOrganization03/24/2025
Health Group Management LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/24/2025
Monument Health Group LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/24/2025
Monument Health Properties LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization02/07/2025
Monument Real Estate Cottonwood Creek LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization02/07/2025
Clawson, TravisAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Fragoso, LindsayAdp of the SNFIndividual05/10/2021
Marriott, StephenAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
McKinnie-Redmond, FaithAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Morris, JaceAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Murray, BrianAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2020
Robertson, BrettAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Samuelian, SpencerAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Seastrand, JasonAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
West, ChristianAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Workman, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 10 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2024: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2024: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 5, 2022: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.13 hours per resident per day, below the Utah average of 3.58.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Utah contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Utah. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 4, 2024. The Utah average is 8.8.
Has Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $17,940 in the last three years.
Does Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Monument Healthcare Cottonwood Creek?
CMS lists 31 owners and managers, and links the home to Monument Health Group. Legal business name: GUNNISON VALLEY HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection