Find a nursing home

Home / Ohio / Akron

Ohio Living Rockynol

1150 W Market St., Akron, OH 44313 · Summit County · (330) 867-2150

36 certified beds, about 35 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 365051 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 20, 2024, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Ohio average is 10.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 4 health citations since August 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

CMS links it to Ohio Living Communities, an affiliated group of 11 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 4 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
1D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
June 20, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 10, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 25, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interview and policy review, the facility failed to ensure safe food handling to prevent cross contamination. This had the potential to affect all 27 residents receiving meals from the kitchen. The facility did not identify any residents who did not eat by mouth.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 25, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation and interview, the facility did not ensure Resident #19's room was free from safety hazards that could potentiate fall risk. This affected one resident (#19) of four residents reviewed for accident hazards. The facility census was 27.
  3. C
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has September 25, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and review of the resident council minutes, the facility failed to ensure the carpeting in the resident hallways and resident rooms was maintained in a clean manner and in good condition. This had the potential to affect all 27 residents residing in the facility.
August 12, 2021Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 27, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain shower rooms located on the first and second floor in a clean and sanitary manner. The facility also failed to ensure hot water was available in the shower of the first floor. This affected one resident (#15) and had the potential to affect 27 residents (#2, #6, #10, #15, #17, #18, #22, #23, #26, #32, #36, #38, #47, #48, #49, #51, #52, #53, #56, #57, #63, #64, #66, #158, #313, #314, and #315). The facility census was 56.

Fire safety inspections

12 fire safety citations on file: 4 on June 20, 2024, 6 on August 10, 2023, 2 on August 12, 2021.

Every fire safety citation12 citations
  1. F
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · June 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · June 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · June 20, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOhioUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.693.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.640.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.283.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.9%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.89 on weekdays and 3.40 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 15.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.43 in April to June 2025 to 3.75 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.750.803.893.40 15.1%0 of 9035
Oct to Dec 20253.520.733.643.23 12.8%0 of 9235
Jul to Sep 20254.140.834.134.18 32.9%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20254.430.874.584.05 33.7%0 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Ohio, Jan to Mar 20263.640.603.803.244.6%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Ohio

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Ohio, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.76$17.93 to $21.4463,280
LPNs and LVNs$29.78$27.34 to $31.6839,900
Registered nurses$39.67$38.08 to $47.61143,730
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOhioUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.45.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.90.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.03.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.76.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.33.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.78.815.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: OHIO LIVING COMMUNITIES. CMS links this home to Ohio Living Communities, a group of 11 nursing homes averaging 4.3 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Adam, SandraCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2019
Belfance, LeslieCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2023
Ingwersen, MelissaCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2022
Joyce, JamesCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2020
White, TerryCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2019
Gumina, LaurenceCorporate officerIndividual12/12/2015
Stillman, RobertCorporate officerIndividual04/15/2013
Gumina, LaurenceOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/12/2015
Decaro, GarrenAdp of the SNFIndividual05/20/2024
Durbin, ThomasAdp of the SNFIndividual02/08/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 10, 2023: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 10, 2023: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 10, 2023: "Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 12, 2021: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."

Other nursing homes nearby

Ohio contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Ohio. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Ohio Living Rockynol's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Ohio Living Rockynol 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Ohio Living Rockynol get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 20, 2024. The Ohio average is 10.5.
Has Ohio Living Rockynol been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Ohio Living Rockynol accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Ohio Living Rockynol?
CMS lists 10 owners and managers, and links the home to Ohio Living Communities. Legal business name: OHIO LIVING COMMUNITIES.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection