Find a nursing home

Home / Oregon / Portland

Providence Child Center

830 Ne 47th Avenue, Portland, OR 97213 · Multnomah County · (503) 930-4518

58 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · Non profit - Church related · Medicaid since 1974

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 38A001 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 8, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Oregon average is 9.2, the national average 9.2).

Of 13 health citations since January 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,286 in the last three years; the largest was $13,286, and the latest is dated December 18, 2023.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
2E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 8, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
April 19, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents with limited range of motion received necessary equipment to prevent a further decrease in range of motion for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#3) reviewed for position and mobility. This placed residents at risk for worsening contractures.
January 2, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to put services in place to eliminate the risk of elopement for 1 of 1 sampled resident reviewed for elopement. Resident 1 was identified by the facility to have eloped from the building on 12/17/23 at approximately 4:00 PM and was not found until 9:00 PM. This failure was determined to be an immediate jeopardy situation because the facility failed to identify and put in place services to prevent Resident 1's elopement risk which placed residents at risk of harm or death. Immediate Jeopardy situation began on 12/19/23.
January 30, 2023Standard inspection · 11 citations
  1. F
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to accurately document and display the DCSDR (Direct Care Staff Daily Report) in a prominent place readily accessible to residents and visitors for 33 of 33 days reviewed for staffing and for 2 of 2 units. This placed residents and visitors at risk for being uninformed of available staff and hours worked by facility staff.
  2. E
    Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
    F565 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents were provided with the opportunity to develop a Resident Council for 1 of 2 residential units (the adult unit) reviewed for Resident Council. This placed residents at risk for a lack of participation in group discussions regarding facility policies, procedures and resident rights.
  3. E
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents' personal information was not visible to the public for 1 of 2 resident care units. This placed residents at risk for unprotected personal heath information.
  4. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to thoroughly investigate falls for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#8) reviewed for accidents. This placed residents at risk for unmet needs.
  5. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to assure a Level I PASARR (Preadmission Screening for Individuals with a Mental Disorder and Individuals with Intellectual Disability) was completed for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#10) reviewed for PASARR. This placed residents at risk for inappropriate placement in a nursing facility and a lack of needed services.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on and interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure a bowel protocol was implemented for 1 of 5 sampled residents (#30) reviewed for medications. This placed residents at risk for constipation.
  7. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure fall safety measures were in place for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#8) reviewed for accidents. This placed residents at risk for increased falls.
  8. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to have a contract with the dialysis provider for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#83) reviewed for dialysis services. This placed the resident at risk for unmet needs. Findings Include: Resident 83 was admitted to the facility in 1/2023 with diagnoses including end-stage renal disease requiring dialysis. Resident 83 received dialysis three days each week. On 1/27/23 at 3:27 PM Staff 1 (Administrator) confirmed the facility did not have a contract with the dialysis clinic that served Resident 83. She stated the facility had no contracts with any other dialysis facilities and would need to develop those for future needs.
  9. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical service to ensure accurate acquiring, receiving and dispensing of medications for 2 of 5 sampled residents (#s 8 and 30) reviewed for medications. This placed residents at risk for unmet needs.
  10. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure PRN orders for psychotropic drugs were limited to 14 days unless deemed appropriate by the attending physician for 1 of 5 sampled residents (#23) reviewed for medications. This placed residents at risk for receiving unnecessary medications and adverse side effects.
  11. D
    Provide or get specialized rehabilitative services as required for a resident.
    F825 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to obtain therapy services for 1 of 1 sampled residents (#23) reviewed for therapy services. This placed residents at risk for a decline in functional abilities.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 8, 2025, 6 on April 19, 2024, 4 on January 30, 2023.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · September 8, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Develop Emergency Preparedness policies and procedures.
    E 13 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Establish roles under a Waiver declared by secretary.
    E 26 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · April 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · January 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · January 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
December 18, 2023Fine $13,286

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOregonUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported5.033.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.720.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported4.513.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported51.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In July to September 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.52 on weekdays and 6.55 on weekends, 23% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 16% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 6.0% of nursing hours, against 5.5% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.34 in April to June 2025 to 7.97 in July to September 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jul to Sep 20257.973.808.526.55 6.0%0 of 9227
Apr to Jun 20257.343.887.915.90 9.4%0 of 9130
United States, Jul to Sep 20253.770.623.953.335.5%0.6% of days
Oregon, Jul to Sep 20254.940.645.164.378.6%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Oregon

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Oregon, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$23.96$22.83 to $28.4014,800
LPNs and LVNs$38.69$35.11 to $43.604,260
Registered nurses$62.02$51.55 to $64.6339,730
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOregonUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.714.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.61.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.52.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.11.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.55.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.813.915.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on April 19, 2024: "Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 30, 2023: "Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 30, 2023: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 30, 2023: "Post nurse staffing information every day."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oregon contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oregon. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Providence Child Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Providence Child Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Providence Child Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 8, 2025. The Oregon average is 9.2.
Has Providence Child Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,286 in the last three years.
Does Providence Child Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Providence Child Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection