Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Shakopee

Shakopee Friendship Manor

1340 Third Avenue West, Shakopee, MN 55379 · Scott County · (952) 445-4155

60 certified beds, about 51 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245445 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 23, 2025, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

Of 15 health citations since May 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $25,378 in the last three years; the largest was $25,378, and the latest is dated May 8, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.07 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.94 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
May 8, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure a mechanical lift was used in accordance with manufacturer's guidelines and Federal law to complete a safe transfer for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed who used mechanical lifts. Two nursing assistant (NA) staff members, one of which was not [AGE] years of age, attempted to transfer R1 using the lift, but did not properly secure the sling to the device prior to lifting R1 up. This resulted in R1 falling onto the floor and sustaining multiple injuries including a fractured shoulder and head laceration. These findings constituted an immediate jeopardy (IJ) situation for R1. The IJ began on 5/3/26 when the two NA staff members failed to fully connect the lift sling to the device, nor did they double check the sling attachment prior to initiating the transfer of R1. [...]
September 22, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure signs of a potential gastrointestinal (GI) bleed were acted upon or evaluated timely and, if needed, referred for care or treatment to reduce the risk of complication for 1 of 1 residents (R1) reviewed who was hospitalized with GI complications.
July 23, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a Level II Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) were completed, retained in the medical record, and readily available to ensure continuity of care with mental health needs for 1 of 1 resident (R30) reviewed for PASARR.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, intervention, and document review, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan to ensure safety with wandering behaviors for 1 of 1 residents (R9) reviewed who had a history of wandering.
  3. D
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    F685 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure a change with hearing ability was acted upon, fully evaluated and, if needed, treated or referred to the audiologist for 1 of 1 residents (R1) reviewed who complained about worsening hearing.
  4. D
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure recorded complaints of pain or discomfort were comprehensively assessed and, if needed, interventions developed to ensure adequate comfort for 1 of 2 residents (R12) reviewed for pain management.
June 5, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive care plan was developed, and maintained to ensure appropriate care was provided for 1 of 1 residents (R29) reviewed for dignity.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to implement and maintain enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) for 1 of 1 residents (R22) reviewed for transmission based precautions.
  3. C
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a registered nurse (RN) was scheduled for a minimum of eight consecutive hours a day. This had the potential to affect all 48 residents who resided at the facility.
May 18, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess and monitor bruises for 1 of 1 resident (R22) reviewed for non-pressure related skin conditions.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess and implement interventions for 1 of 1 resident (R1) who was at risk for pressure ulcers (PU) and currently had a pressure ulcer.
  3. D
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess and develop interventions to proactively provide comfort and ensure adequate pain-relief measures were in place for 1 of 1 resident (R29) reviewed who was non-verbal and demonstrated potential physical signs of pain (i.e., teeth grinding, grimacing).
  4. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility consulting pharmacist failed to address the continued use of psychoactive medications for 1 of 5 residents (R19) reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  5. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a gradual dose reduction (GDR) was attempted or an adequate medical justification for the use of psychoactive medications for 1 of 5 residents (R19) who was reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  6. D
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    F791 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure dental needs were comprehensively assessed and appropriately acted upon (i.e., referred to a dental provider) for 2 of 2 residents (R33, R5) reviewed who voiced dental concerns.

Fire safety inspections

15 fire safety citations on file: 3 on July 23, 2025, 4 on June 5, 2024, 8 on May 18, 2023.

Every fire safety citation15 citations
  1. F
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · July 23, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · July 23, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. C
    Establish roles under a Waiver declared by secretary.
    E 26 · July 23, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. C
    Conduct risk assessment and an All-Hazards approach.
    E 6 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. C
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. C
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · May 18, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
May 8, 2026Fine $25,378

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.074.193.86
Registered nurses0.941.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.693.713.42
Nurse aides3.41
Licensed practical nurses0.72
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.46 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.23 on weekdays and 4.69 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.13 in April to June 2025 to 5.07 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.070.945.234.69 0.1%0 of 9051
Oct to Dec 20255.220.945.364.87 0.0%0 of 9249
Jul to Sep 20255.300.855.494.80 1.1%0 of 9250
Apr to Jun 20255.130.795.274.78 3.5%0 of 9152
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
27.618.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.51.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.12.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.34.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.41.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.820.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.65.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.117.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.523.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.814.812.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SHAKOPEE CARE LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Probst, Seth5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual100%12/01/2024
Fairbairn, ScottOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Mohlin, JamieOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Probst, SethOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Fairbairn, ScottAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Mohlin, JamieAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Probst, SethAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 8 problems in this area, most recently on May 8, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 23, 2025: "PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities"
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 18, 2023: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 5, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Shakopee Friendship Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Shakopee Friendship Manor 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Shakopee Friendship Manor get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 23, 2025. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Shakopee Friendship Manor been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $25,378 in the last three years.
Does Shakopee Friendship Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Shakopee Friendship Manor?
CMS lists 7 owners and managers. Legal business name: SHAKOPEE CARE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection