Find a nursing home

Home / California / Sacramento

Sherwood Healthcare Center

4700 Elvas Ave, Sacramento, CA 95819 · Sacramento County · (916) 454-5752

62 certified beds, about 58 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1971

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 055305 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 9, 2025, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the California average is 15.6, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since June 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.97 hours per resident per day, against 4.52 across California and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.35 of those hours.

30.0% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (California average 36.7%).

CMS links it to Cypress Healthcare Group, an affiliated group of 13 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
6E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 9, 2025Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to store, prepare, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety when: 1. Employees were unable to demonstrate the correct concentration for sanitation solution, 2. Several pots, pans, bowls, and trays were found stacked wet (in ready to use areas), 3. Two frying pans were found darkened, stained, and scratched, 4. Three ladles, two saucepans, and a colander were found stored with a white film covering the food contact surfaces, 5. Two sandwiches stored in the refrigerator had missing information on label, and an opened gelatin container lacked any labeling, 6. Broken, chipped tiles and missing paint found on floor of kitchen and storeroom, 7. Frozen sausage patties were left open to the environment in freezer and a bag of penne pasta was not properly secured in the dry storage, 8. [...]
  2. E
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure professional standards of care were followed for three of 23 sampled residents (Resident 3, Resident 31, and Resident 45), for a census of 54, when: 1. Resident 3's weight change was not reported to the physician as ordered; 2. Resident 45's weight changes were not reported to the physician as ordered; 3. Resident 31's arm circumference and catheter length were not recorded during midline catheter (a thin, soft tube placed into a large vein in the upper arm) dressing change as ordered; 4. Resident 31's Midodrine (medication used to treat low blood pressure) doses were administered outside the blood pressure parameters; and, 5. Resident 31's Midodrine administration records were altered. [...]
  3. E
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review food was not prepared by methods that conserve nutritive value, flavor, and appearance when 1) recipes were not followed, and 2) hot food was not consistently provided to residents in the 2nd hall. This failure had the potential to lead to poor intake, nutrient deficiencies, and malnutrition for the 51 residents eating facility-prepared foods.
  4. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the alternative food options provided to residents who choose the peanut butter and jelly (PB&J), or grilled cheese sandwiches were not of similar nutritive value to the main entree. This failure had the possibility of leading to malnutrition and weight loss.
  5. E
    Have a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors.
    F813 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility lacked a dedicated refrigerator for storing food brought for residents by family or visitors. This failure had the potential to limit food intake due to the inability to store preferred foods.
  6. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow and maintain an effective infection prevention and control program for a census of 54 when: 1. Dust particles were observed on the vents above the clean linen area and the fan blades had accumulated blackish particles; 2. The log for lint cleaning was incomplete and clean items were stored in the soiled linen area; 3. The utility room was used to store medical supplies and containers used for soiled linens/trash; and, 4. A container of opened and unlabeled distilled water (a purified water that's been boiled to remove impurities and minerals) was observed on the floor for Resident 53. These failures increased the risk for cross contamination (movement or transfer of harmful bacteria from one person, object, or place to another).
  7. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a clean and homelike environment was provided for one of 23 sampled residents (Resident 5), when the floor in Resident 5's room was left sticky, stained, and dirty. This failure increased the potential for Resident 5 not attaining her highest practicable well-being.
  8. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the care plan for the use of anticoagulant (medication that prevent or delay formation of blood clots) was implemented for one of 23 sampled residents (Resident 3), for a census of 54. This failure increased the risk for Resident 3 to experience serious side effects.
  9. D
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    F685 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure proper treatment to maintain vision ability was provided for one of 23 sampled residents (Resident 24) when Resident 24's prescription was not carried out as ordered by the eye doctor. This failure had the potential to cause deterioration of Resident 24's vision.
May 10, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 17, 2021Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and review of facility documents, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety when: 1. A ten-pound chub of frozen hamburger was thawed improperly, 2. Two large pork roasts were cooled down improperly, 3. No beard guard was covering facial hair, and 4. Foods were not labeled accurately in dry storage.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide the needed care or services for one of 17 sampled residents (Resident 27) when, 1. Resident 27's toenails were not trimmed, 2. No toenail care plan was done for Resident 27, and, 3. No referral for a podiatrist was done for Resident 27. These failures had the potential for Resident 27 to not meet her highest practicable well-being.
  3. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to conduct a medication regimen review (MRR) for one of 17 sampled residents (Resident 27) when Resident 27 was receiving an anti-coagulant (blood thinner) medication. This failure had the potential for Resident 27 to experience a negative outcome from medication administration.
  4. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure the medication error rate was less than 5% when a resident (Resident 40) was not given the prescribed amount of water when receiving medications via a gastrostomy tube (medical device inserted into the stomach to provide nutrients, medication, and hydration). This failure resulted in two medication errors being identified out of 35 opportunities, resulting in a medication error rate of 5.71% for the facility.

Fire safety inspections

34 fire safety citations on file: 10 on May 9, 2025, 21 on May 10, 2024, 3 on June 17, 2021.

Every fire safety citation34 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. C
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Establish policies and procedures for medical documentation.
    E 23 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. E
    Properly install and monitor supervisory attachments on automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 352 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. E
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. D
    Conduct risk assessment and an All-Hazards approach.
    E 6 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. D
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  28. D
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  29. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  30. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  31. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  32. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 17, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  33. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 17, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  34. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 17, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeCaliforniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.974.523.86
Registered nurses0.350.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.644.093.42
Nurse aides2.64
Licensed practical nurses0.99
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)30.0%36.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.1%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.86 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.10 on weekdays and 3.64 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.18 in April to June 2025 to 3.97 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.970.354.103.64 0.0%0 of 9058
Oct to Dec 20254.100.334.283.67 0.2%0 of 9256
Jul to Sep 20254.090.294.233.74 0.5%0 of 9256
Apr to Jun 20254.180.274.363.71 0.0%0 of 9156
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
California, Jan to Mar 20264.360.594.523.972.3%0.5% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for California

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
California, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.90$22.04 to $26.35110,060
LPNs and LVNs$38.34$35.98 to $45.0682,850
Registered nurses$67.44$58.87 to $83.25338,940
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeCaliforniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.510.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.80.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.01.63.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.19.814.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.54.34.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.012.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
30.022.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.011.212.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MALTIQUE, LLC. CMS links this home to Cypress Healthcare Group, a group of 13 nursing homes averaging 3.8 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Jackson, MatthewCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2019
Jackson, RobertCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2019
Sanofsky, JackCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2019
Abrego, MariannaOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/16/2024
Belton, StacyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/23/2022
Cepec, MilanOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/09/2019
Jackson, MatthewOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2019
Jackson, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2019
Leung, VictoriaOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/20/2024
Murray, DustinOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/20/2020
Nunez, MariaOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/12/2022
Sandigo, AugustoOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2019
Sanofsky, JackOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2019
Sharma, SherinOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2019
Zaidi, FarazOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2019
Abrego, MariannaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/16/2024
Belton, StacyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/23/2022
Cepec, MilanAdp of the SNFIndividual12/09/2019
Jackson, MatthewAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2019
Jackson, RobertAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2019
Leung, VictoriaAdp of the SNFIndividual02/20/2024
Murray, DustinAdp of the SNFIndividual03/20/2020
Nunez, MariaAdp of the SNFIndividual09/12/2022
Sandigo, AugustoAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2019
Sanofsky, JackAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2019
Sharma, SherinAdp of the SNFIndividual06/02/2020
Zaidi, FarazAdp of the SNFIndividual04/01/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on May 9, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 9, 2025: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 9, 2025: "Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 17, 2021: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.64 hours per resident per day, below the California average of 4.09.

Other nursing homes nearby

California contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in California. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Sherwood Healthcare Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Sherwood Healthcare Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Sherwood Healthcare Center get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 9, 2025. The California average is 15.6.
Has Sherwood Healthcare Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Sherwood Healthcare Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Sherwood Healthcare Center?
CMS lists 27 owners and managers, and links the home to Cypress Healthcare Group. Legal business name: MALTIQUE, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection