Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / McGregor

St. Joseph's Care Center

609 Johnson Drive, McGregor, TX 76657 · Mc Lennan County · (254) 236-9710

100 certified beds · For profit - Partnership · Medicare and Medicaid since 2025

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Health inspections
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Quality measures
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 745059 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 12, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 2 health citations since June 2025, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the last three years; the largest was $8,278, and the latest is dated January 6, 2026.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 2 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
1D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 7, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to respect the residents' right to personal privacy, including the right to send and promptly receive unopened mail and other letters, packages and other materials delivered to the facility for the residents, including those delivered through a means other than a postal service, for 1 resident (Res1) of 4 residents interviewed. The facility failed to respect Res1's right to privacy by opening his mail without his permission. This failure could result in Res1 losing trust in staff and feeling disrespected and violated.
January 6, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure the resident environment remains as free of accident hazards as is possible for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #1) reviewed for safety. On 12/11/25 the facility failed to identify a hazard when Resident #1 was served her tea that was hot enough to create 1st and 2nd degree burns after it spilled on her. The facility failed to ensure staff knew the facility policy for Hot Beverage Preparation & Burn Safety and continued to serve hot liquids that were out of range from their policy limits. This failure could place cognitively impaired residents at risk for accidents, injuries, and a diminished quality of life.
June 12, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 6, 2026Fine $8,278

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.393.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.430.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported2.983.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.015.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.40.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.73.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.09.615.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTH LIMESTONE HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
South Limestone Hospital District5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%11/01/2024
Kunka Investments LLC5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization07/11/2023
Bumpass, Michael5% or greater mortgage interestIndividual07/11/2023
Kunka, Laura5% or greater mortgage interestIndividual07/11/2023
Price, LarryCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2024
St. Josephs Care Center, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/22/2025
Bumpass, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/02/2024
Kunka, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/22/2025
Kunka Investments LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/22/2025
St. Josephs Care Center, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/22/2025
Bumpass, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual01/22/2025
Kunka, LauraAdp of the SNFIndividual01/22/2025
Love, RitaAdp of the SNFIndividual11/01/2024
Reynolds, KelleyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 7, 2026: "Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 6, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is St. Joseph's Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS does not give St. Joseph's Care Center an overall star rating in the data as of September 1, 2026.
How many deficiencies did St. Joseph's Care Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 12, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has St. Joseph's Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the last three years.
Does St. Joseph's Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns St. Joseph's Care Center?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers. Legal business name: SOUTH LIMESTONE HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection