Find a nursing home

Home / Kansas / Glasco

The Nicol Home

303 E Buffalo St., Glasco, KS 67445 · Cloud County · (785) 568-2251

32 certified beds, about 26 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2004

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 175473 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 10, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Kansas average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 19 health citations since August 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.54 hours per resident per day, against 4.07 across Kansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.75 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 19 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 10, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide a written notice for a transfer for Resident (R)5, R7, and R26 (or their representatives) when they were transferred to the hospital or the bed hold policy. The facility also failed to complete a discharge summary with a recapitulation (a concise medical document required during discharge from a long-term care facility or nursing home. It summarizes the resident's course of treatment, diagnoses, and medical progress) of R33's stay when R33 was discharged from the facility.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to initiate interventions to prevent the development of a Stage 2 pressure ulcer (localized injury to the skin and/or underlying tissue usually over a bony prominence, because of pressure, or pressure in combination with shear and/or friction) for Resident (R) 26.
July 31, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on the interview and record review, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate information to the federal regulatory agency through Payroll Based Journaling (PBJ) when the facility failed to submit accurate staffing hour date for all direct care personnel as required. This placed the residents at risk for unidentified issues with inadequate staffing.
  2. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan that addressed the individual resident needs for Resident (R)17, R12, R5, R13, and R26. This placed the residents at risk for impaired care due to uncommunicated needs.
  3. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with seven reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure an appropriate indication, or a documented physician rationale, which included the unsuccessful attempts for nonpharmacological symptom management and risk versus benefit for continued use for Resident (R)4, R13, R2, and R12s' antipsychotic (a medication used to treat any major mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment testing) medication and failed to ensure a 14-day stop date or specified duration for R13 and R12's ongoing as needed (PRN) antianxiety (a class of medications that calm and relax people with excessive anxiety, nervousness, or tension). This placed the residents at risk for unintended effects related to psychotropic (alters mood or thought) drug medications.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to revise the resident's care plan to reflect the resident's current health needs for Resident (R)3. This placed the resident at risk for impaired care due to uncommunicated care needs.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with three reviewed for quality of care. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to implement interventions to prevent skin tears for Resident (R) 3 and failed to provide general skincare and services for R29, who had multiple sores on his arms. This placed the residents at risk for further skin injury and related complications.
  6. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents of which eight residents were reviewed for falls. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to identify and implement interventions to prevent Resident (R) 25 and R13 from falling which placed the residents at risk for further falls and injuries.
  7. D
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
    F742 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide Resident (R) 2 with the appropriate treatment and services to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being. This placed the resident at risk for unmet mental health care needs.
  8. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and observation, the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist (CP) identified and reported Resident (R) 12 and 13's as needed (PRN) antianxiety medication without a stop date and the lack of an approved indication, or the required documentation, for the use of an antipsychotic (a class of medications used to treat major mental conditions that cause a break from reality) medications for R12 and R2. This placed the residents at risk for inappropriate and/or unnecessary medication.
  9. D
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 30 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement antibiotic use protocols to avoid unnecessary and/or inappropriate antibiotic use to reduce the risk of adverse events, including antibiotic resistance, when the facility failed to monitor effectiveness and evaluate appropriateness for the extended administration of prophylactic antibiotics for Resident (R) 5 and R12. This placed the resident at risk for complications related to antibiotic use including the development of antibiotic-resistant organisms.
August 2, 2022Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to label Resident (R)12, and R29's insulin (hormone which allows cells throughout the body to uptake glucose) vial with the date opened and expiration date, failed to discard R2's expired insulin pen and failed to discard expired stock medications in one medication cart. This placed the affected residents at risk for ineffective medications.
  2. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for immunizations. Based on interview and record review the facility failed to assess four sampled residents for the eligibility to receive the pneumococcal (pneumonia infection that inflames air sacs in one or both lungs which may fill with fluid) )vaccine, Resident (R) 3, R5, R14, R28. This placed the residents at risk for illness and pneumonia infection.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31. The sample included 12 residents. Based on record review, interview and observation the facility failed to treat residents with respect, dignity, and privacy during medication administration. This placed the resident at risk for impaired psychosocial wellbeing.
  4. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary medication. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to care plan the use of antipsychotic medications (class of medications used to manage delusions, hallucinations, and paranoia). This deficient practice placed Resident (R)3 at risk for unmet care needs related to the use of the antipsychotic medications.
  5. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review and interview the facility failed to complete a safe-smoking evaluation for one sampled resident, Resident (R) 6. This placed the resident at risk for unsafe smoking practices and accidents while smoking.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with one reviewed for bladder incontinence. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to develop and initiate a toileting program for Resident (R) 4 who was assessed as being a good candidate for bladder retraining to improve urinary continence. This deficient practice placed R4 at risk for increased incontinence.
  7. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary medication. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist (CP) identified and reported to the physician and the director of nursing (DON) that antipsychotic medications (class of medications used to manage delusions, hallucinations, and paranoia) had an inappropriate diagnosis per CMS (Center for Medicare/Medicaid Services) guidelines. The facilty further failed to ensure the phsyician responded to the CP's recommendation. This deficient practice placed Residents (R)3, R14, and R26 at risk for adverse effects from the use of the antipsychotic medications.
  8. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary medication. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure antipsychotic medications (class of medications used to manage delusions, hallucinations, and paranoia) were used for an appropriate diagnosis per CMS (Center for Medicare/Medicaid Services) guidelines. This deficient practice placed Residents (R)3, R14, and R26 at risk for adverse effects from the use of the antipsychotic medications.

Fire safety inspections

19 fire safety citations on file: 3 on June 10, 2026, 4 on July 31, 2024, 12 on August 2, 2022.

Every fire safety citation19 citations
  1. F
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · June 10, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · June 10, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 10, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 2, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.544.073.86
Registered nurses0.750.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.703.603.42
Nurse aides2.98
Licensed practical nurses0.81
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.0%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.69 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.47 on weekdays and 4.70 on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.38 in April to June 2025 to 4.54 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.540.754.474.70 0.0%0 of 9026
Oct to Dec 20254.420.734.464.32 0.0%0 of 9227
Jul to Sep 20254.550.814.584.46 0.0%0 of 9229
Apr to Jun 20254.380.964.494.10 0.0%0 of 9124
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kansas, Jan to Mar 20264.010.674.193.564.8%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Kansas

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Kansas, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.27$17.41 to $21.2424,610
LPNs and LVNs$29.69$27.05 to $33.407,530
Registered nurses$38.14$35.24 to $45.5333,800
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.617.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.81.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.12.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.54.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.616.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.94.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.818.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.01.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.22.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE NICOL HOME, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Gray, PatrickCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
Hanning, MarvinCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2011
Labes, MichelleCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
McClellan, JaniceCorporate directorIndividual07/30/2016
Melton, DavidCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2021
Travis, TracyCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
Wilson, MichelleCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
Olson, CarterCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2018
Gray, PatrickOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/21/2024
Hanning, MarvinOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2011
Labes, MichelleOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/21/2024
McClellan, JaniceOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/30/2016
Melton, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2021
Olson, CarterOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/18/2018
Travis, TracyOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/21/2024
Wilson, MichelleOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/21/2024
Anderson, EricAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2024
Olson, CarterAdp of the SNFIndividual08/18/2018

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on June 10, 2026: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 31, 2024: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 31, 2024: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 10, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is The Nicol Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates The Nicol Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did The Nicol Home get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 10, 2026. The Kansas average is 9.5.
Has The Nicol Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does The Nicol Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns The Nicol Home?
CMS lists 18 owners and managers. Legal business name: THE NICOL HOME, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection