Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Zearing

Zearing Health Care, LLC

404 East Garfield St., Zearing, IA 50278 · Story County · (641) 487-7631

40 certified beds, about 32 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
1 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165320 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 22, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 14 health citations since September 2023, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $22,205 in the last three years; the largest was $22,205, and the latest is dated June 30, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.68 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.89 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
4E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 30, 2026Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. J
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility didn't clarify and implement an emergency overdose medication order upon admission, failed to maintain an available stock of emergency medication, didn't provide staff with access or training for the automated medication storage system, and failed to accurately measure and administer titrated liquid narcotic doses for 1 of 1 resident reviewed (Resident #1). The State Agency informed the facility of the Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) on [DATE] at 1:45 PM that began as of [DATE]. [...]
  2. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, observations, and facility policy, the facility failed to perform smoking assessments to identify hazards for residents who smoked, suffered burns while smoking, and failed to implement new interventions to replace the ineffective ones to prevent further burns or decrease the risk burns for 3 of 3 residents (Resident #6, #8, #9) reviewed for smoking. The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  3. G
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews and policy review the facility failed to implement weight loss interventions in a timely manner for 2 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #6 and #3) for weight loss. The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  4. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, facility investigation file, observation, staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to have two staff members present when narcotic medications were destroyed for 4 of 4 residents reviewed for controlled substance use (Resident #1, #2, #3, #4). Additionally, the facility failed to remove expired medications from the medication cart in a timely manner (Resident #3 and Resident #4) and have a system in place to adequately dispense and reconcile controlled drugs (Resident #1 and #6). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, resident interview and policy review, the facility failed to complete and document appropriate assessments and interventions for the necessary care and services, to maintain the residents' highest practical physical well-being for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #7) for skin. The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, physician interview and policy review, the facility failed to obtain a follow up urinalysis (UA) after completion of an antibiotic for a urinary tract infection (UTI) as ordered by the Physician for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #5). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
January 22, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview the facility failed to obtain informed consent for psychotropic medications that have black box warnings (the most serious safety warning the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) uses and requires the healthcare provider to have a comprehensive discussion with the resident/representative about the risks, benefits and alternatives for use) for 5 of 5 resident reviewed for psychotropic medications (Resident #1, #2, #3, #4 and #10). The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
  2. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, resident and staff interviews, and policy review the facility failed to develop a comprehensive, person-centered Care Plan for 3 of 4 residents reviewed for falls (Residents #2, #10 and #29). Staff members reported each resident had a history of putting themselves on the floor, but their Care Plans didn't reflect the behavior. The facility reported a census of 31.
  3. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on kitchen service observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to use gloves correctly to prevent cross contamination. The facility's kitchen staff applied gloves and left them on while touching food and nonfood items. The facility reported a census of 31 residents.
August 27, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, policy review, resident, and staff interviews, the facility failed to treat residents with dignity and respect while assisting with their activities of daily living (ADL) for 2 of 5 residents reviewed (Residents #1 and #2). The facility reported a census of 32 residents.
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to separate residents from alleged perpetrator of verbal abuse in a timely manner for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for abuse (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 32 residents.
June 2, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, staff interviews, and facility policy/procedure review, the facility failed to follow the 5 rights of medication administration and physician orders to prevent a medication error from occurring. On 5/3/25, during the morning medication pass, a Registered Nurse (RN) took Resident #2's oral medications and gave them to Resident #1. The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
February 19, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to report an allegation of abuse timely for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for alleged abuse (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 35 residents.
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interviews, policy review and staff timecard punch detail, the facility staff who witnessed an alleged abuse to a resident on 1/3/25 failed to report the incident to the facility administration or the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing. Due to the facility's staff failing to report the alleged abuse to the Administration, the facility Administration failed to separate the alleged abuser from the resident for 1 residents reviewed for alleged abuse (Resident #1). The Administrator reported he didn't learn of the situation until 1/10/25, allowing the alleged abuser to continue to work with Resident #1 and other residents in the facility for approximately 7 days after the incident. Please refer to deficiency F609 for additional information. The facility reported a census of 35 residents.
December 5, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
September 21, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 4 on January 22, 2026, 1 on December 5, 2024, 3 on September 21, 2023.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 22, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · January 22, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · January 22, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 22, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have an externally vented heating system.
    K 522 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
June 30, 2026Fine $22,205

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.683.823.86
Registered nurses0.890.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.323.373.42
Nurse aides2.30
Licensed practical nurses0.49
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.05 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.83 on weekdays and 3.32 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 13.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.71 in April to June 2025 to 3.68 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.680.893.833.32 13.2%0 of 9032
Jul to Sep 20253.901.004.013.61 25.6%0 of 9233
Apr to Jun 20253.711.003.843.38 24.9%0 of 9133
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.617.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.11.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.82.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.83.83.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.016.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.84.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.519.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.22.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ZEARING HEALTH CARE CENTER LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Midwest SNF Holding Company LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%09/01/2015
Chosen Consulting Inc5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization100%09/01/2014
Orlinsky, MosheIndirect ownership interestIndividual09/01/2014
Orlinsky, MosheCorporate officerIndividual09/01/2014
Midwest SNF Manager LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization09/01/2014
Sammon, BradOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2014
Vangorp, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2024
Chosen Consulting IncAdp of the SNFOrganization03/19/2025
Forvis Mazars LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization06/01/2023
Midwest SNF Holding Company LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/19/2025
Midwest SNF Manager LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/19/2025
Orlinsky, MosheAdp of the SNFIndividual09/01/2014
Sammon, BradAdp of the SNFIndividual09/01/2014
Vangorp, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual05/21/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 30, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 27, 2025: "Respond appropriately to all alleged violations."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 30, 2026: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 22, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.32 hours per resident per day, below the Iowa average of 3.37.

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Zearing Health Care, LLC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Zearing Health Care, LLC 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 1 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Zearing Health Care, LLC get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 22, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Zearing Health Care, LLC been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $22,205 in the last three years.
Does Zearing Health Care, LLC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Zearing Health Care, LLC?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers. Legal business name: ZEARING HEALTH CARE CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection