Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Charlotte

Brookdale Carriage Club Providence

5804 Old Providence Road, Charlotte, NC 28226 · Mecklenburg County · (704) 365-8551

14 certified beds, about 8 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1997

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345482 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 7, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 8.55 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 3.49 of those hours.

CMS links it to Brookdale Senior Living, an affiliated group of 12 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
2E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
2C
May 7, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observations, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the resident census for the skilled unit was accurate on the daily nurse staffing sheets for 4 of 4 days of the recertification survey (5/4/2026 through 5/7/2026).
April 7, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and staff interviews, the facility failed to perform hand hygiene between handling soiled and then clean dishes to prevent cross-contamination of the clean dishes. These practices had the potential to affect food served and distributed to 9 of 9 residents who received an oral diet.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to treat 1 of 3 sampled residents with dignity by performing care in a manner that the resident felt was rude and hurried (Resident #117).
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, and staff and nurse practitioner interviews, the facility failed to maintain accurate advance directive information throughout the electronic and paper medical records for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for advance directive (Resident #119).
February 21, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to label and date leftover food items stored for use, discard dented canned goods stored for use, maintain a utility cart in clean condition that was used to transport clean dishware, keep a food storage area clean and orderly, failed to ensure a scoop was stored without the potential for cross-contamination, failed to dry metal prep pans and plastic plate covers prior to stacking, failed to ensure metal plate warmers were clean prior to use, and failed to maintain a hand washing sink in good repair. These practices occurred in the walk-in refrigerator, walk-in freezer, dry goods storage area, and had the potential to affect food served to residents.
  2. F
    Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
    F867 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility's Quality Assessment and Assurance Committee failed to maintain implemented procedures and to monitor interventions that the committee had previously put in place following the recertification survey on 09/14/2022. This was for a deficiency in the area of food safety requirements (F812). The continued failure since the previous survey of record showed a pattern of the facility's inability to sustain an effective Quality Assurance Program.
  3. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to honor food choices for 3 of 3 sampled residents (Residents #8, #10, #4) reviewed for preferences. The deficient practice had the potential to affect 9 residents who received food from the kitchen.
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, residents and staff interviews, the facility failed to maintain lighting, cabinets, and walls in good repair for 1 of 1 hall (resident rooms 214, 222) and 1 of 1 activity room nutrition area reviewed for clean, comfortable and homelike environment.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and Physician and staff interview the facility failed to provide a treatment as ordered by the physician to a non-pressure wound for 1 of 1 resident (Resident # 214) reviewed for wound care.
  6. D
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews the facility failed to remove loose garbage, food, and debris from around 1 of 1 trash receptacle located outdoors behind the kitchen. This practice had the potential to impact sanitary conditions and attract pests/rodents.
  7. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and staff interview the facility failed to post a Registered Nurse (RN) on the daily staff posting sheet, accurately post licensed staff, and post daily resident census from December 2023 through February 2024 for 16 of 83 days reviewed for daily posted staffing (12/06/2023, 12/17/2023, 12/27/2023,12/31/2023, 01/04/2024, 01/08/2024, 01/18/2024, 01/19/2024, 01/20/2024, 01/21/2024, 01/24/2024, 01/27/2024, 01/28/2024, 01/29/2024, 02/02/2024, 02/06/2024).

Fire safety inspections

29 fire safety citations on file: 9 on May 7, 2026, 8 on April 7, 2025, 12 on February 21, 2024.

Every fire safety citation29 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  3. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  4. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  5. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  6. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  7. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  8. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  9. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 7, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  10. D
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Have exits that are accessible at all times.
    K 271 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. D
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  28. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  29. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · February 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)8.553.853.86
Registered nurses3.490.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends7.083.423.42
Nurse aides3.84
Licensed practical nurses1.22
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.22 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 9.14 on weekdays and 7.08 on weekends, 23% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 19.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.30 in April to June 2025 to 8.55 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20268.553.499.147.08 19.8%0 of 908
Oct to Dec 202510.343.7611.158.28 31.5%0 of 927
Apr to Jun 20257.302.267.446.95 45.8%0 of 918
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.722.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.712.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ARCLP-CHARLOTTE LLC. CMS links this home to Brookdale Senior Living, a group of 12 nursing homes averaging 3.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bkd Fm Holding Company LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/29/2011
Brookdale Senior Living Communities IncDirect ownership interestOrganization12/15/2023
Brookdale Senior Living IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization07/26/2006
Febc-Alt Holdings IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/15/2023
Febc-Alt Investors LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/15/2023
Kaestner, HenryIndirect ownership interestIndividual04/30/2025
Kussow, DawnIndirect ownership interestIndividual04/30/2025
White, ChadwickIndirect ownership interestIndividual04/30/2025
Jones Lang Lasalle Multifamily LLC5% or greater security interestOrganization08/31/2017
Bowman, KevinManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/01/2021
Kaestner, HenryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/21/2022
Stengle, NikolasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual11/08/2025
White, ChadwickManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/09/2018
Arc Managment LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization04/01/2007
Clontz, StephanieOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/13/2025
Hall, GeorgeOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/26/2025
Kaestner, HenryOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2022
Kussow, DawnOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/23/2024
La Marre, KevinOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/22/2017
Lewis, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/22/2025
Munoz, AnnaOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/15/2024
Rutter, DougOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/22/2025
Stengle, NikolasOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/08/2025
White, ChadwickOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/09/2018
La Marre, KevinIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual09/06/2025
American Retirement CorporationAdp of the SNFOrganization09/06/2025
Arclp-Charlotte LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/26/1996
Brookdale Senior Living Communities IncAdp of the SNFOrganization12/15/2023
Brookdale Senior Living IncAdp of the SNFOrganization07/26/2006
Febc-Alt Holdings IncAdp of the SNFOrganization12/15/2023
Febc-Alt Investors LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization12/15/2023
Jones Lang Lasalle IncorporatedAdp of the SNFOrganization09/06/2025
Lbmc PCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2024
Walters Financial Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization07/22/2025
Asher, JordanAdp of the SNFIndividual02/24/2020
Clontz, StephanieAdp of the SNFIndividual09/06/2025
Drayton, ClaudiaAdp of the SNFIndividual06/18/2024
Fioravanti, MarkAdp of the SNFIndividual04/13/2025
Freed, VictoriaAdp of the SNFIndividual10/29/2019
Hall, GeorgeAdp of the SNFIndividual09/06/2025
Hausman, JoshuaAdp of the SNFIndividual04/24/2025
Mace, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual06/18/2024
Warren, DeniseAdp of the SNFIndividual10/04/2021
Wielansky, LeeAdp of the SNFIndividual04/23/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 7, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 7, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 7, 2026: "Post nurse staffing information every day."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 21, 2024: "Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Brookdale Carriage Club Providence's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Brookdale Carriage Club Providence 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Brookdale Carriage Club Providence get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on May 7, 2026. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Brookdale Carriage Club Providence been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Brookdale Carriage Club Providence accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Brookdale Carriage Club Providence?
CMS lists 44 owners and managers, and links the home to Brookdale Senior Living. Legal business name: ARCLP-CHARLOTTE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection