Find a nursing home

Home / Virginia / Richlands

Clinch Valley Medical Center

6801 Gov George C Perry Hwy, Richlands, VA 24641 · Tazewell County · (276) 596-6000

24 certified beds, about 7 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1988

CMS high performing icon Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 495181 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 25, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Virginia average is 14.3, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since February 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 8.03 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Virginia and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 5.68 of those hours.

CMS links it to Lifepoint Health, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 25, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident interview, family interview, staff interview, clinical record review, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to accurately document education for the flu and pneumococcal vaccines for 5 of 5 current resident reviews, Residents #2, #3, #7, #9, and #16.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, clinical record review, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to follow establish infection control guidelines for 1 of 5 current residents in the survey sample, Resident #9.
January 10, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and document reviews, the facility staff failed to provide NOMNC notifications for two (2) of three (3) residents selected for SNF (Skilled Nursing Facility) Beneficiary Notification Review (BNR). (These two (2) residents will be identified as BNR Resident-B and BNR Resident-C.)
February 17, 2021Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 19, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review the facility staff failed to ensure 2 of 10 residents were free from unnecessary medications, Resident #8 and Resident #14.
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 19, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review, and during a medication pass and pour observation facility staff failed to store drugs in locked compartments for 1 of 1 nursing units.
  3. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 19, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and facility document review the facility staff failed to ensure food was properly stored for one of one unit.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 19, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, clinical record review, facility document review, and during a medication pass and pour observation facility staff failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 11 residents in the survey sample, Resident #13.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 2 on March 25, 2026, 4 on January 10, 2023, 2 on February 17, 2021.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 25, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · March 25, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · January 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Have properly installed hallway dispensers for alcohol-based hand rub.
    K 325 · January 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 17, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 17, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)8.033.763.86
Registered nurses5.680.690.69
All nursing staff on weekends7.003.293.42
Nurse aides0.99
Licensed practical nurses1.35
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported48.2%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.54 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.43 on weekdays and 7.00 on weekends, 17% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 10.20 in April to June 2025 to 8.03 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20268.035.688.437.00 0.0%0 of 907
Oct to Dec 20257.324.967.576.71 0.0%0 of 927
Jul to Sep 20257.515.207.657.18 1.4%0 of 929
Apr to Jun 202510.207.7410.589.27 1.2%0 of 916
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Virginia, Jan to Mar 20263.580.563.763.125.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.11.31.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.122.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
12.811.512.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: CLINCH VALLEY MEDICAL CENTER, INC.. CMS links this home to Lifepoint Health, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Lifepoint VA Holdings Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/01/2006
Legacy Lifepoint Health LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization07/01/2006
Lifepoint Acquisition Corp5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization07/01/2006
Mulkey, PeterContracted managing employeeIndividual06/10/2013
Davis, DanielCorporate directorIndividual09/19/2022
Haugh, WilliamCorporate directorIndividual09/19/2022
Davis, DanielCorporate officerIndividual09/19/2022
Grooms, JohnCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2016
Haugh, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual09/19/2022
Lawrence, CharlotteCorporate officerIndividual01/21/2022
Monte, ChristopherCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2006
Poppell, MarcusCorporate officerIndividual11/02/2009
Lifepoint Corporate Services General PartnershipOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2006

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 17, 2021: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 10, 2023: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Virginia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Virginia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Clinch Valley Medical Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Clinch Valley Medical Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Clinch Valley Medical Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 25, 2026. The Virginia average is 14.3.
Has Clinch Valley Medical Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Clinch Valley Medical Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Clinch Valley Medical Center?
CMS lists 13 owners and managers, and links the home to Lifepoint Health. Legal business name: CLINCH VALLEY MEDICAL CENTER, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection