Find a nursing home

Home / Virginia / Marion

Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr

340 Bagley Circle, Marion, VA 24354 · Smyth County · (276) 783-1209

25 certified beds, about 21 residents a day · Government - State · Medicaid since 1974

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 49E131 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 30, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Virginia average is 14.3, the national average 9.2).

None of its 5 health citations since February 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

19.6% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Virginia average 48.1%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
1D
1E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 30, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, clinical record review and facility document review the facility staff failed to periodically review with the resident/resident representative advance directives for all residents of the facility.
  2. F
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, clinical record review, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to develop comprehensive care plans (CCPs) that included the residents current code status for all residents in the survey sample.
August 31, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, clinical record review and facility document review the facility staff failed to ensure that monthly medication regimen reviews were reviewed by the physician and/or the director of nursing and that pharmacist recommendations were acted upon for all residents of the facility.
  2. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review the facility staff failed to ensure one of 16 residents was free from unnecessary psychotropic medications, Resident #17.
February 26, 2021Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and clinical document review, it was determined the facility staff failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5%. There were six (6) medication errors in 32 opportunities resulting in a medication error rate of 18.75%. (The residents involved in these medication errors were: Resident #14, Resident #4, and Resident #1.)

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 1 on December 30, 2025, 6 on February 26, 2021.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. D
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 932 · December 30, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Meet other general requirements that are deficient.
    K 300 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.763.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.690.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.293.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)19.6%48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover11.1%48.2%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.92 on weekdays and 4.36 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.81 in April to June 2025 to 4.76 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.761.984.924.36 0.0%0 of 9021
Oct to Dec 20254.561.934.664.29 0.0%0 of 9222
Jul to Sep 20255.152.215.394.54 0.0%0 of 9220
Apr to Jun 20254.812.064.944.47 0.0%0 of 9120
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Virginia, Jan to Mar 20263.580.563.763.125.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.814.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.63.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.815.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
87.514.215.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 31, 2023: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 30, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 30, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."

Other nursing homes nearby

Virginia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Virginia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 30, 2025. The Virginia average is 14.3.
Has Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Sw VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection