Find a nursing home

Home / Alabama / Vernon

Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center

1050 Convalescent Road, Vernon, AL 35592 · Lamar County · (205) 695-9313

158 certified beds, about 107 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1979

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 015227 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 1, 2022, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Alabama average is 4, the national average 9.2).

Of 7 health citations since June 2018, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.83 hours per resident per day, against 3.88 across Alabama and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.82 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
1K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 1, 2022Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 4, 2019Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. K
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, review of the facility's policies titled, Handwashing CC-INFC-28, Cleaning and Disinfecting Glucose Monitoring Systems INFC-73, the ASSURE BRILLIANCE COMPREHENSIVE SERVICE & SUPPORT PROGRAM, a facility document and www.merriam-webster.com, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #1, a Registered Nurse and EI #8, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) cleaned and disinfected a multi-use glucometer between resident use. During medication pass observation on 7/31/2019 beginning at 3:47 PM, EI #1, a RN failed to clean and disinfect the multi-use glucometer when she performed finger stick blood sugar monitoring for RI #37, RI #66, RI #69 and RI #98. EI #1 further failed to wash her hands prior to and after she removed gloves and place a barrier down on the residents' over-bed table, bed and/or furniture. [...]
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and review of Resident Identifier (RI) #37's medical record, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #1, a Registered Nurse (RN) did not perform a finger stick blood sugar on RI #37, a non-diabetic resident, who was not ordered finger stick blood sugar monitoring. This deficient practice affected RI #37, one of 15 residents observed for medication pass.
June 27, 2018Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
    F676 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, medical record review and a review of a facility document titled,Restorative Nursing Treatment Schedule, the facility failed to ensure that RI (Resident Identifier) #83 was provided restorative care for ambulation. This deficient practice affected RI #83, one of twenty four sampled residents receiving restorative care. Findings Include: RI # 83 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE]. RI #83's medical history included Cerebral Infarction and Hemiplegia. On 06/27/18 at 10:21 a.m., RI #83 stated to the surveyor Restorative was supposed to be walking her/him 3 times a week, but restorative had not been doing it. RI #83's Quarterly MDS ( Minimum Data Set) with an ARD (Assessment Reference Date) of 04/19/18, revealed a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) score of 14 indicating RI #83 was cognitively intact for daily decision making. [...]
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, medical record review and a facility's document titled, SMOKING SAFETY ASSESSMENT, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #84, had on a smoking apron, as assessed, according to the smoking safety assessment during the smoke break on 06/27/18 at 11:30 a.m. This affected RI #84, one of four residents sampled for smoking. Findings Include: A review of RI #84's SMOKING SAFETY ASSESSMENT, with a date of 3/6/17, documented: .10. Safety: Does the resident need a smoke apron? Yes. RI #84 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses to include Alzheimer's Disease, Epilepsy, and Other Muscle Spasm. RI #84's Significant Change MDS (Minimum Data Set) with an ARD ( Assessment Reference Date) of 08/25/17, revealed the resident was severely cognitively impaired, and was assessed for current tobacco use. [...]
  3. D
    Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
    F810 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, medical record review and review of a facility policy titled, Self-help eating devices are available for those needing them, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #62 was provided weighted utensils during lunch meals on 06/26/18 and 06/27/18. This affected RI #62, one of seven sampled residents observed during meal time. Findings Include: Review of a facility policy titled, Self-help eating devices are available for those needing them, with no date, documented: .PROCEDURE: 1. Residents are reviewed on admission, and at least quarterly, for need of adaptive devices. 2. Adaptive devices in use are .provided for each meal. RI #62 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including, Alzheimer's Disease and Parkinson's Disease. A review of RI #62's medical record revealed the following: [...]
  4. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interviews, the facility failed to ensure a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) did not serve Resident Identifier (RI) #62's baked potato with an unclean glove during the lunch meal on 06/26/18. This deficient practice affected RI #62, one of seven sampled residents observed during meal time. Findings Include: RI #62 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE]. On 06/26/18 at 11:56 a.m., EI (Employee Identifier) #4, a CNA, was observed serving RI #62's lunch tray. The CNA was observed taking a glove from her jacket pocket, putting it on her right hand. She picked up RI #62's baked potato with the gloved hand and removed it from the aluminum foil and placed it on RI #62's plate. On 06/26/18 at 12:37 p.m., an interview was conducted with EI #4. EI #4 was asked did she serve and set up RI #62's lunch tray. EI #4 said yes. [...]
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) did not place her finger in a plastic pouch containing crushed medication for RI #89. This deficient practice affected RI #89, one of four residents observed during medication administration. Findings Include: RI # 89 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses to include Cognitive Communication Deficit, Dysphagia and Pneumonia. RI #89's Quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set) with an ARD (Assessment Reference Date) of 05/14/18, revealed the resident received intake (nutrition/medication) by feeding tube. On 06/26/18 at 4:41 p.m., during medication administration, the surveyor observed Employee Identifier (EI) #7, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), put her ungloved finger into the pill crush bag. On 06/26/18 at 5:30 p.m., the surveyor interviewed EI #7. [...]

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 5 on August 4, 2019, 1 on June 27, 2018.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure that waiting areas, nurse’s stations, gift shops, and cooking facilities, open to the corridor are properly protected.
    K 361 · August 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · August 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure precautions for handling oxygen cylinders and equipment are correctly followed.
    K 929 · August 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · June 27, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.833.883.86
Registered nurses0.820.650.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.323.263.42
Nurse aides2.46
Licensed practical nurses0.55
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.5%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.17 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.03 on weekdays and 3.32 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.91 in April to June 2025 to 3.83 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.830.824.033.32 0.0%0 of 90107
Jul to Sep 20253.610.833.892.91 0.0%0 of 92120
Apr to Jun 20253.910.794.233.11 0.0%0 of 91119
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Alabama, Jan to Mar 20263.880.634.133.270.9%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.112.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.40.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.12.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.13.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.32.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.912.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.55.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.121.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
27.524.823.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.711.312.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.82.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.01.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 4, 2019: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 27, 2018: "Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 27, 2018: "Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 4, 2019: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."

Other nursing homes nearby

Alabama contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Alabama. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 1, 2022. The Alabama average is 4.
Has Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Convalescent Nursing and Rehab Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection