Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Milaca

Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center

730 Second Street Southeast, Milaca, MN 56353 · Mille Lacs County · (320) 983-2185

70 certified beds, about 54 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245422 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 18, 2025, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since November 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.50 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.19 of those hours.

CMS links it to Cassia, an affiliated group of 16 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
December 18, 2025Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    F908 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure the hood vent over the flat top cooking surface and deep [NAME] was free of grease buildup in the secondary kitchen of the dining room. In addition, the facility failed to ensure the grates on a cooling fan were free of debris in the secondary kitchen of the dining room. This had the potential to affect all residents, staff and visitors who had food prepared in the secondary kitchen. During initial tour of main and secondary kitchens in the facility on 12/15/25 at 12:15 p.m., the secondary kitchen observed was a metal hood vent located over the float cook top and deep fryer. There was yellow substance noted in drips along the length of the hood-vent running approximately five inches down the angle of the metal hood. In the top of the hood there were three lightbulbs covered with glass bulb covers. [...]
  2. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess safety with self-administration of medication for 1 of 2 residents (R&) who self-administered medication after set up. R7's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R7 had intact cognition. Diagnoses included displaced femur fracture, chronic kidney disease, congestive heart failure and dementia. On 12/16/2025 at 4:07 p.m., R7 was seated in a recliner in her room watching television. The RN-A walked into the room, placed a paper cup containing medications onto the table next to R7 then walked out of the room. The paper cup contained two medications, one oval shaped brown colored and one round pink colored pill. R7 stated the nurses always just bring them to and I take them when I am ready to. [...]
  3. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to provide the required Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNFABN) to 2 of 5 residents (R7, R16) reviewed whose Medicare A coverage ended and then remained in the facility. R7's Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)-10123 signed as received on 8/27/25, identified a last covered day (LCD) of 8/29/25, when R7's Medicare coverage would end. R7's undated Census Records listing identified R7's payer source changed from Medicare Part A to Private Pay, and remained in the facility. R7 signed a SNFABN on 8/29/25, however, there was no estimated cost per day provided in the notification. R16's CMS-10123 signed as received on 10/7/25, identified a last covered day (LCD) of 10/10/25, when R16's Medicare coverage would end. [...]
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure the completed quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) was accurately coded to reflect hospice services for 1 of 2 residents (R15) reviewed for MDS accuracy.
  5. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a mobility device was in good repair for 1 of 2 residents (R49), reviewed for accidents. R49's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], indicated R49 had severe cognitive impairment and was independent with ambulation and transfers with use of a cane. R49's care plan dated 08/28/2025, indicated R49 ambulated independently, used a cane/staff. R49's care plan further indicated R49 was high risk for falls. Progress note dated 11/20/25 at 6:19 p.m., indicated R49 was more confused than baseline. R49 had very unsteady gait and the walking stick resident used had been broken and temporarily mended for weeks. Have reported to daughter he needed a new one with the level of weight he applied on it being unsteady and she stated it is fine. [...]
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure appropriate hand hygiene was completed during observations of personal cares completed with 1 of 2 residents (R5) observed during personal cares.
  7. C
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to notify the Ombudsman of transfers and discharge for 1 of 3 residents (R61) reviewed for discharge and/or hospitalizationR61's admission minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE], indicated R61 admitted on [DATE], and was cognitively intact. R61 had diagnoses of hypertension, atrial fibrillation, end stage renal disease, quadriplegia, and diabetes. R61's discharge MDS dated [DATE], indicated R61 discharged to home. Review of the October-November 2025 Ombudsman log identified residents who transferred to the hospital, however, the log failed to identify notification to the Ombudsman was completed for any residents who discharged from the facility. [...]
January 9, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive, person-centered care plan was developed, accurate, and revised to assure assessed care needs were implemented for 1 of 2 residents (R54) reviewed for care planning.
November 29, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure confidential information was not readily available for all residents, staff, and visitors to view for 1 of 1 resident (R24) observed to have private information visible on an open computer screen in a common area.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure residents received appropriate catheter care as ordered by the provider to maintain urinary catheter function for 1 of 1 residents (R37) who was reviewed for indwelling urinary catheter use. This had the potential to impact R37's catheter function and cause an increase risk of infection.
  3. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to assure the use of PRN (as needed) psychotropic medications (a drug which affects mood/behavior) were limited to 14 days, or had a physician specified, time limited, order for 1 of 1 resident, R57, reviewed for Hospice.

Fire safety inspections

15 fire safety citations on file: 15 on November 29, 2023.

Every fire safety citation15 citations
  1. F
    Construct fire resistant interior walls.
    K 331 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · November 29, 2023 · Waiver
  7. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Ensure proper storage of liquid oxygen.
    K 930 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. C
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · November 29, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.504.193.86
Registered nurses1.191.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.003.713.42
Nurse aides2.91
Licensed practical nurses0.40
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.38 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.71 on weekdays and 4.00 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.47 in April to June 2025 to 4.50 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.501.194.714.00 0.0%0 of 9054
Oct to Dec 20254.261.104.423.86 0.1%0 of 9261
Apr to Jun 20254.471.084.664.01 0.1%0 of 9158
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.518.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.12.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.14.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.020.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.95.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.017.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.223.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.014.812.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ELIM HOMES INC. CMS links this home to Cassia, a group of 16 nursing homes averaging 4.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Elim Care Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/29/1986
Broberg, LauraW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/01/2012
Leff, WilliamCorporate directorIndividual05/18/2000
Nye, GeraldCorporate directorIndividual06/13/2019
Peterson, RolandCorporate directorIndividual11/14/2013
Tangedahl, GuyCorporate directorIndividual05/17/2012
Dahl, RobertCorporate officerIndividual01/29/1986
Kern, MatthewCorporate officerIndividual02/28/2019
Youngquist, KathrynCorporate officerIndividual01/29/1986
CassiaOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  4. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Keep all essential equipment working safely."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 18, 2025. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Milaca Elim Meadows Health Care Center?
CMS lists 10 owners and managers, and links the home to Cassia. Legal business name: ELIM HOMES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection