Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Matamoras

Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C

111 Rivers Edge Drive, Matamoras, PA 18336 · Pike County · (570) 491-1010

70 certified beds, about 62 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2021

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 396148 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 13, 2026, inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 22 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

37.7% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Pennsylvania average 44.5%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
16D
6E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 13, 2026Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record and select facility policy review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide effective pain management and administer pain medication as prescribed by the physician and failed to attempt non-pharmacological interventions to alleviate pain prior to the administration of a narcotic pain medication as prescribed for two resident out of 15 residents reviewed (Resident 10 and Resident 2).
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that nursing services met professional standards of quality as required by the Pennsylvania Code Title 49, Professional and Vocational Standards, by failing to ensure Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) administering intravenous (IV) therapy via a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC) possessed the required education, competency, and supervision for one of 15 residents reviewed (Resident 63).
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, facility policy, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide necessary care and services to ensure appropriate assessment and ongoing monitoring of a surgical wound in accordance with professional standards of practice for one of fifteen residents reviewed (Resident 2).
  4. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, a review of clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to monitor resident weights consistently and accurately to timely identify changes in nutritional parameters and implement nutritional interventions for one resident out of 15 residents reviewed (Resident 47).
  5. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, select facility policy, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to implement procedures to maintain accurate records of controlled drugs and ensure accurate drug administration for one of 15 residents reviewed (Resident 10).
  6. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that psychotropic (medications that affect mood, behavior, or mental processes) medications were used in accordance with regulatory requirements by failing to implement and document non-pharmacological interventions and failing to ensure appropriate duration and rationale for as-needed (PRN) psychotropic medication orders for two of 15 residents reviewed (Residents 6 and 63).
  7. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy and clinical record review, observation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) to prevent the spread of infection for one of 15 residents reviewed (Resident 3).
  8. D
    Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members.
    F940 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, review of employee personnel records, review of facility policies and procedures, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to develop, implement, and maintain an effective training program to ensure licensed nursing staff possessed the knowledge and competencies necessary to safely manage a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC line) for 1 resident (Resident 63) of 15 residents reviewed.
May 1, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, facility policy, controlled drug shift count records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to implement procedures to ensure the timely acquisition and administration of a prescribed intravenous (IV) antibiotic for one of 16 sampled residents (Resident 34), and maintain accurate controlled drug shift count documentation on one of two medication carts reviewed, thereby failing to promote accountability and medication safety.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, and facility documentation, it was determined the facility failed to develop a comprehensive, person-centered care plan that included measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's physical, mental, and psychosocial needs for one of 25 sampled residents (Resident 37), who expressed suicidal ideations.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to review and revise the comprehensive care plan to reflect a significant change in condition related to weight loss for one of 16 residents sampled (Resident 2).
August 8, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, clinical records and staff interview it was determined the facility failed to provide nursing services consistent with professional standards of practice by failing to follow physician orders for bowel protocol to promote normal bowel activity for one resident (Resident 42), failed to provide consistent application of prescribed therapeutic devices and preventative measures, skin sleeves, TED stockings, and heel floats for three residents (Residents 42, 46, and 48, and failed to constantly document food/fluid intakes to accurately monitor and timely identify changes in a resident's condition for one resident out of 16 sampled (Resident 24).
  2. E
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and select facility policies, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to monitor resident weights consistently and accurately to timely identify changes in nutritional parameters and failed to develop/revise and implement effective nutrition management interventions to prevent further significant weight loss and dehydration for one resident out of six residents sampled with weight loss (Residents 43).
  3. E
    Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times.
    F809 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policy, meal delivery times, snack listing and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to routinely offer evening snacks to four of four residents interviewed (Residents 4, 3, 40, and 27) and failed to offer a nourishing snack to all residents when the dinner meal is greater than 14 hours before breakfast is served.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records and select facility reports, observations and staff and resident interviews it was determined the facility failed to consistently implement measures planned to promote healing, prevent worsening and the development of pressure sores for one resident out of 16 residents sampled (Resident 43).
  5. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, a review of clinical records, and resident and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the ready availability of necessary emergency supplies for one resident out of one sampled receiving hemodialysis (Resident 218).
  6. D
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    F791 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, payor source data, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to promptly refer a resident with a broken bridge for dental services for one Medicaid payor source resident (Resident 4) and failed to provide dental services for a resident with poor dentition and high-risk diagnosis (heart valve) with Medicaid as payor source (Resident 24).
  7. D
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    F865 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policy and reports, clinical records and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to demonstrate the implementation of ongoing QAPI programs, to include the use of systems for investigating and analyzing the root cause of adverse events as evidenced by one resident out of 16 sampled (Resident 41).
March 27, 2024Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and medication records, and resident and staff interview it was determined that the facility failed to provide pharmacy services, routine drugs and pharmaceuticals, to ensure timely medication administration as prescribed for one resident out of 16 residents sampled (Resident 14).
  2. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, select facility policy and investigative reports, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility neglected to provide one resident with the necessary care and services to prevent injury and maintain physical health out of 16 sampled. (Resident 4).
  3. D
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    F602 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, select investigative reports, and clinical records, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that one resident was free from misappropriation of resident property, narcotic opioid medications, for two residents out of 17 residents sampled (Resident 16 and 17).
  4. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policy and clinical records, and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to provide nursing services consistent with professional standards of quality by failing to demonstrate that licensed nurses fully evaluated a resident's status after an unwitnessed fall for one resident (Resident CR1) out of 14 residents reviewed.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 6 on March 13, 2026, 1 on May 1, 2025, 4 on August 8, 2024.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Provide primary/alternate means for communication.
    E 32 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 13, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.893.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.790.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.533.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)37.7%44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover46.7%39.9%42.9%
Administrators who left3

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.73 on weekdays and 3.25 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.81 in April to June 2025 to 3.59 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.590.693.733.25 0.0%0 of 9062
Oct to Dec 20253.500.573.603.27 0.0%0 of 9262
Jul to Sep 20253.750.723.893.38 0.0%0 of 9261
Apr to Jun 20253.810.793.923.52 0.0%0 of 9161
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.016.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.30.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.61.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.23.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.217.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.44.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.717.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.622.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.79.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.61.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.21.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 9 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2026: "Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2026: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2026: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2026: "Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 3 administrators who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C get at its last inspection?
8 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 13, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Delaware Valley Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation C?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection