Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Copperhill

Diversicare of Copper Basin

166 Industrial Drive Po Box 518, Copperhill, TN 37317 · Polk County · (423) 496-3245

135 certified beds, about 38 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 1993

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445310 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 26, 2025, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 14 health citations since May 2019 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.14 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.75 of those hours.

CMS links it to Diversicare Healthcare, an affiliated group of 44 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 29, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interviews, the facility failed to protect 2 residents (Resident #3 and Resident #42) from physical abuse during resident-to-resident altercations of 3 residents reviewed for abuse. Review of the facility's policy Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation, dated January 2019, revealed .Purpose: To prohibit and prevent abuse .Physical Abuse .hitting, slapping, punching . Review of the medical record revealed Resident #3 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Vascular Dementia with Psychotic Disturbance, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and Restlessness/Agitation. Review of a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #3 scored a 13 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was cognitively intact. [...]
March 26, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure the kitchen cooking equipment was maintained in a sanitary condition and failed to discard an expired cold food item in 1 of 1 walk-in refrigerator which had the potential to affect 29 of 29 residents.
  2. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure resident health information remained private and confidential for 1 resident (Resident #28) of 4 residents observed during medication administration, which had the potential to allow unauthorized individuals access to the residents's private health information.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, medical record review, observation and interview the facility failed to accurately assess dentition for 1 resident (Residents #18) of 12 residents reviewed.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interviews the facility failed to provide advanced notice of care plan conference meetings for 3 residents (Resident #1, #8, and #18) of 12 residents reviewed.
  5. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure oxygen tubing and humidification bottles were dated for 1 resident (Resident #8) of 4 residents reviewed for oxygen.
  6. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview the facility failed to ensure the medical record was complete and accurate related to Advance Directives for 1 resident (Resident #432) of 16 residents reviewed for Advance Directives.
March 4, 2022Standard inspection · 0 citations
May 30, 2019Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on the medical record review and interview, the facility failed to notify the physician when a resident refused to have an indwelling urinary catheter removed for 1 resident (#109) of 3 residents reviewed for indwelling urinary catheter use of 19 sampled residents.
  2. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on the facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to develop a baseline care plan to address the use of an indwelling urinary catheter (tube inserted in the bladder to drain urine into a bag outside of the body) for 1 resident (#109) and failed to address the tracheostomy (a tube inserted in the neck to allow air to enter the lungs) care and supplies for 1 resident (#162) of 14 residents reviewed for baseline care plans of 19 sampled residents.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to revise the comprehensive care plan for 1 resident (#44) of 19 sampled residents.
  4. D
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    F678 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure a Physician's Order was obtained for full code status for 1 resident (#109) of 19 residents reviewed.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to obtain a Physician's Order for the continued use of an indwelling urinary catheter, failed to obtain a Physician's Order for catheter care, and failed to document medical justification for the use of a urinary catheter for 1 resident (#109) of 3 residents reviewed for catheter use of 19 sampled residents.
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation and interview, the facility failed to obtain a Physician's Order for tracheostomy care (a tube inserted in the neck to allow air to enter the lungs) and failed to administer oxygen therapy in accordance with the Physician's Order for 1 resident (#162) of 7 residents reviewed for respiraratory care of 19 residents sampled.
  7. D
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow the Registered Dietician's (RD) recommendation for a house supplement at lunch for 1 resident (#44) and failed to assess food preferences in a timely manner for 1 resident (#360) of 5 residents reviewed for nutrition of 19 sampled residents.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 10 on March 26, 2025, 1 on May 30, 2019.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Conduct risk assessment and an All-Hazards approach.
    E 6 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · March 26, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · May 30, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.143.803.86
Registered nurses0.750.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.863.313.42
Nurse aides1.60
Licensed practical nurses0.80
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who left2

CMS expects 3.53 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.26 on weekdays and 2.86 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 5.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.11 in April to June 2025 to 3.14 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.140.753.262.86 5.9%1 of 9038
Oct to Dec 20253.280.763.492.75 0.6%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20253.650.863.893.07 4.7%0 of 9231
Apr to Jun 20254.110.914.333.53 1.1%0 of 9130
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.514.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.71.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.53.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.91.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.917.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.75.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.916.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.922.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.211.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.01.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.71.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: DAC OF COPPERHILL LLC. CMS links this home to Diversicare Healthcare, a group of 44 nursing homes averaging 2.5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Kellman, FranklinCorporate directorIndividual09/13/2024
Ratner, EranCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2025
Bodie, RebeccaCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2025
Nee, StephenCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2025
Ratner, EranCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2025
Weishaar, MatthewCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2025
Diversicare Management Services LP.Operational/managerial controlOrganization04/01/2025
Fair, BrentOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Issa, EliasOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
166 Industrial Drive Propco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization04/01/2025
Fair, BrentAdp of the SNFIndividual04/15/2025
Issa, EliasAdp of the SNFIndividual04/11/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2025: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2025: "Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.86 hours per resident per day, below the Tennessee average of 3.31.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 2 administrators who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Diversicare of Copper Basin's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Diversicare of Copper Basin 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Diversicare of Copper Basin get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 26, 2025. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Diversicare of Copper Basin been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Diversicare of Copper Basin accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Diversicare of Copper Basin?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers, and links the home to Diversicare Healthcare. Legal business name: DAC OF COPPERHILL LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection