Find a nursing home

Home / Indiana / Muncie

Envive of Muncie

7524 E Jackson Street, Muncie, IN 47302 · Delaware County · (765) 747-7820

60 certified beds, about 38 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 155549 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 31, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Indiana average is 7.2, the national average 9.2).

None of its 16 health citations since August 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.60 hours per resident per day, against 3.69 across Indiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.81 of those hours.

CMS links it to Envive Healthcare, an affiliated group of 13 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
4E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 31, 2026Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide written notice to the residents and/or their representatives pertaining to transfer/discharge rights and the facility's bed hold policy for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for hospitalizations. (Resident's 4, 27, and 45).
  2. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident and/or the resident representative received a copy of the resident's baseline care plan following admission for 1of 3 residents reviewed for care plans. (Resident 8)
  3. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to offer and administer appropriate pneumococcal vaccinations per the Center for Disease and Control (CDC) guidance for 2 of 5 residents reviewed for vaccinations. (Resident 27 and 45)
  4. D
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to administer the appropriate COVID-19 vaccinations per the Center for Disease and Control (CDC) guidance for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for infection control. (Resident 45)
January 8, 2026Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to mitigate the risk of accidents and injury by failing to ensure safety razors were securely stored in two shared bathrooms of 4 cognitively impaired residents (Resident C, Resident H, Resident N and Resident P) on the dementia unit.
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident, who had not been deemed able to self-administer medications, received supervision during a nebulizer medication administration for 1 of 1 resident (Resident E) randomly observed receiving a nebulizer treatment.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents' personal care items were labeled and not cohorted with other resident's personal care items during observations for 3 shared bathrooms of 6 cognitively impaired residents (Resident C, Resident H, Resident F, Resident G, Resident J, Resident N and Resident P) on the dementia unit.
November 18, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure consistent shift-to-shift reconciliation of narcotics was completed to mitigate risk of misappropriation. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 22 residents with controlled medications of 40 whose medications were stored and handled by the facility.
June 9, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure shift to shift narcotic reconciliation was completed for 3 of 4 medication carts reviewed for medication storage. (A Unit, Cottage Unit, and C Unit medication carts) This deficient practice had the potential to affect 18 out of 30 residents who resided in the facility and received controlled medications from A Unit, Cottage Unit, and C Unit medication carts.
  2. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteA. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide bed hold policy and transfer/discharge notifications to the resident and/or their representative for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for hospitalizations. (Residents 31, 24, & 191) B. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure appropriate transfer information was communicated to the receiving provider for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for discharge. (Resident 38)
  3. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to follow registered dietician recommendations and to notify the physician for a resident experiencing a progressive, unplanned weight loss for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for nutrition. (Resident 18)
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff were educated in, and implemented, Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) during high-contact care. (Resident 37)
  5. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to offer, educate, and/or administer pneumococcal vaccines per the Center for Disease and Control (CDC) guidance for 2 of 5 residents reviewed for immunizations. (Residents 3 and 4)
  6. D
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to offer, educate, and/or administer COVID-19 vaccines per the Center for Disease and Control (CDC) guidance for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for immunizations. (Residents 4)
April 16, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure staff (LPN 1) followed the facility cleaning protocol for resident glucometers to reduce the risk of contamination and spread of infection for 5 of 5 residents reviewed for infection control during medication administration. (Resident B, H, J, K, and L)
August 15, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure potentially hazardous items were safely secured on the dementia unit. This deficient practice had the potential to impact 11 of 13 mobile residents who resided on the secured dementia unit.

Fire safety inspections

21 fire safety citations on file: 4 on March 31, 2026, 13 on June 9, 2025, 4 on August 15, 2024.

Every fire safety citation21 citations
  1. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · March 31, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Have an externally vented heating system.
    K 522 · March 31, 2026 · no revisit needed
  3. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · March 31, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · March 31, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Address patient/client population and determine types of services needed.
    E 7 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Develop Emergency Preparedness policies and procedures.
    E 13 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Develop a communication plan.
    E 29 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.603.693.86
Registered nurses0.810.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.203.253.42
Nurse aides2.13
Licensed practical nurses0.66
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.46 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.77 on weekdays and 3.20 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 24.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.53 in April to June 2025 to 3.60 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.600.813.773.20 24.4%0 of 9038
Oct to Dec 20253.740.713.833.52 15.6%0 of 9240
Jul to Sep 20254.080.724.193.80 18.6%0 of 9241
Apr to Jun 20253.530.553.593.38 16.6%1 of 9138
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Indiana, Jan to Mar 20263.630.623.803.193.4%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.911.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.73.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.511.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.03.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.213.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.01.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL. CMS links this home to Envive Healthcare, a group of 13 nursing homes averaging 2.3 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bankwell Bank5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization01/01/2025
Borne-Bauman, CandiceManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Flueckiger, RussellManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Lehman, ScottManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Macklin, LarryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
McIntire, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Adams County Memorial HospitalOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2025
Altea Medical Indiana PCOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2025
Envive of Muncie LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2025
Lt Care Acquisition CorpOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2025
Borne-Bauman, CandiceOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Flueckiger, RussellOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Lehman, ScottOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Macklin, LarryOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Mazhar, AlizaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
McIntire, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Smith, ScottOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Sprunger, KyleOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Vogt, JustinOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/15/2025
Wheeler, DaneOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Blue Management Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
Envive Healthcare LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
Envive of Muncie LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
First Bank of BerneAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
Lt Care Acquisition CorpAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
Proactive Clinical PartnersAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2025
Mazhar, AlizaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Vogt, JustinAdp of the SNFIndividual05/15/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on March 31, 2026: "Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 31, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 18, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.20 hours per resident per day, below the Indiana average of 3.25.

Other nursing homes nearby

Indiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Indiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Envive of Muncie's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Envive of Muncie 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Envive of Muncie get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 31, 2026. The Indiana average is 7.2.
Has Envive of Muncie been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Envive of Muncie accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Envive of Muncie?
CMS lists 28 owners and managers, and links the home to Envive Healthcare. Legal business name: ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection