Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Forest City

Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center

915 Delaware Street, Forest City, PA 18421 · Susquehanna County · (570) 785-3005

132 certified beds, about 102 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1982

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395554 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 7, 2025, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

Of 21 health citations since April 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $21,405 in the last three years; the largest was $21,405, and the latest is dated March 22, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.21 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.67 of those hours.

CMS links it to Lme Family Holdings, an affiliated group of 15 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 21 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
5E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 29, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
    F627 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, facility policy, documentation provided to residents regarding transfers from the facility, records obtained from the acute care hospital, facility census records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure an appropriate discharge by failing to permit a resident to return to the facility following hospitalization in accordance with its policies for one of five residents reviewed (Resident 1).
  2. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, resident interviews, staff interviews, facility documentation, and facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents who were dependent on staff for assistance with activities of daily living consistently received the care and services necessary to maintain personal hygiene and dignity for one of 10 residents reviewed (Resident 1).
August 7, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to develop and implement a person-centered baseline care plan that incorporated individualized interventions for wound management for one resident out of five sampled (Resident 1).
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, physician order review, nursing documentation review, wound care consultation notes, diagnostic testing, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure care and treatment was provided in accordance with professional standards of practice and physician orders for one of five sampled residents (Resident 1).
February 7, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and staff interview, the facility failed to maintain proper storage and service practices for food in the dietary department and second-floor resident pantry/nourishment room. This failure created the potential for contamination, microbial growth, and an increased risk of foodborne illness.
  2. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the Minimum Data Set Assessment (MDS a federally mandated standardized assessment conducted at specific intervals to plan resident care) accurately reflected the status of 3 out of 19 sampled (Residents 7, 42, and 17).
  3. E
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, select facility review and staff and resident interview, it was determined the failed to reassess a resident's pain status and the repeated daily use of opioid pain medication prescribed on an as-needed (PRN) basis to ensure the development and implementation of an effective, individualized pain management plan for one of 19 residents sampled. (Resident 28).
  4. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of controlled drug records and select facility policy and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to implement procedures to promote accurate controlled medication records and failed to ensure medication availability for one of 19 residents sampled (Resident 28).
  5. E
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that residents are free from unnecessary drugs to include duplicate pain medications for one of 19 sampled residents (Resident 28).
  6. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records and staff interview it was determined the facility failed to provide care and services in accordance with accepted professional standards of practice by inaccurately identifying a diagnosis of delusional disorder for one (1) of 19 residents (Resident 44) sampled without documented clinical evidence to support the diagnosis.
  7. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, and observations, the facility failed to ensure medications were labeled in accordance with currently acceptable principles of medication storage and administration, including appropriate resident identification, medication information, and expiration/open dates for one of 19 sampled residents (Resident 28).
March 22, 2024Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and select investigation reports and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to implement effective fall prevention interventions including timely and necessary staff supervision of resident with a history of falls and known unsafe behaviors that increased the resident's risk for falls, to prevent a fall with serious injury, a fractured wrist, for one resident out of 18 sampled (Resident 49).
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policy and interviews with residents and staff, it was determined that the facility failed to review the continued appropriateness and revise the resident's plan of care in response to a significant weight loss for one resident out 18 residents (Resident 18).
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, select facility policy and investigative reports and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to assess and implement individualized measures to meet the toileting needs of one resident (Resident 70) and failed to evaluate the clinical necessity of an indwelling urinary catheter for of one resident (Resident 49)out of 18 sampled.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review clinical records and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a resident was free from unnecessary psychoactive drugs by failing to assure the presence of the documented prescriber clinical rationale for the use of a psychotropic medication and justification for the use of duplicate drug therapy for dementia with psychosis for one of five residents reviewed (Resident 11).
April 28, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, a review of select facility policy and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain acceptable practices for the storage and service of food to prevent the potential for contamination and microbial growth in food, which increased the risk of food-borne illness in the food and nutrition services department and two of three resident pantries.
  2. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, review of the facility's infection control tracking logs and policy and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to maintain a comprehensive program to monitor the development and spread of infections within the facility and plan preventative measures accordingly, failed to store resident care equipment in a manner to deter the spread of infection and failed to appropriately dispose of PPE after use.
  3. E
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to incorporate the recommendations from the Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) level II determination and the PASRR evaluation report into a resident's assessment, care planning, and transitions of care for two of 18 residents reviewed (Resident 2 and 45).
  4. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident's drug regimen was free of unnecessary antibiotic drugs for one out of 18 residents sampled (Resident 2).
  5. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that a resident's drug regimen was free of unnecessary drugs by failing to clinically justify the use of an antihistamine medication for treatment of anxiety that is contraindicated in the elderly due to anticholinergic adverse side effects for one resident out of 18 sampled residents (Resident 5).
  6. D
    Keep complete, dated laboratory records in the resident's record.
    F775 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that results of laboratory studies were present on the resident's clinical record for one resident out of 18 sampled (Resident 2)

Fire safety inspections

15 fire safety citations on file: 9 on February 7, 2025, 2 on March 22, 2024, 4 on April 28, 2023.

Every fire safety citation15 citations
  1. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · February 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · April 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · April 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · April 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. C
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 28, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
March 22, 2024Fine $21,405

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.213.893.86
Registered nurses0.670.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.893.533.42
Nurse aides1.85
Licensed practical nurses0.70
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.95 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.34 on weekdays and 2.89 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 30.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.31 in April to June 2025 to 3.21 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.210.673.342.89 30.7%0 of 90102
Oct to Dec 20253.200.653.332.85 29.8%0 of 92100
Jul to Sep 20253.090.633.222.76 22.9%0 of 9298
Apr to Jun 20253.310.663.502.84 19.9%0 of 9194
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.016.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.30.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.51.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.13.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.917.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.54.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.117.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.322.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.69.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.51.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: FOREST CITY CARE CONTINUUM LLC. CMS links this home to Lme Family Holdings, a group of 15 nursing homes averaging 2.1 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Strawberry Hill Holdings LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization33%01/28/2020
Clinical Consulting Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/01/2019
Priority Care Group LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/01/2019
Summation Financial Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/01/2019
Hildebrand-Palkov, KarynOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/13/2021
Tomazic, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2019
915 Fc Property LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/01/2019
Clinical Consulting Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization06/05/2025
Summation Financial Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization06/06/2025
Hildebrand-Palkov, KarynAdp of the SNFIndividual06/20/2025
Tomazic, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual06/06/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on February 7, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 29, 2026: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on August 7, 2025: "Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted"
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 7, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.89 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 7, 2025. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $21,405 in the last three years.
Does Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Forest City Nursing and Rehab Center?
CMS lists 11 owners and managers, and links the home to Lme Family Holdings. Legal business name: FOREST CITY CARE CONTINUUM LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection