Find a nursing home

Home / Kansas / La Crosse

Locust Grove Village

701 W 6th Street, La Crosse, KS 67548 · Rush County · (785) 222-2574

38 certified beds, about 35 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 175369 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 22, 2026, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the Kansas average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 20 health citations since January 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,779 in the last three years; the largest was $12,779, and the latest is dated August 14, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.27 hours per resident per day, against 4.07 across Kansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.77 of those hours.

52.5% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kansas average 48.1%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 20 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
4E
4F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 22, 2026Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide Registered Nurse (RN) coverage for eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week.
  2. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to provide the services of a full-time certified dietary manager for the 36 residents who resided in the facility and received their meals from the kitchen.
  3. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has August 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interviews, the facility failed to follow sanitary dietary standards related to food storage and service.
  4. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · deficient, provider has August 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to store medications and biologicals within professional standards of practice when the facility failed to date check vials of of intramuscular (IM-injected directly into a muscle) lorazepam (a class of medications that calm and relax people), high dose influenza (highly contagious viral infection) vaccine, and influenza vaccine, that were past the date to be used.
  5. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · deficient, provider has August 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, observation, and record review the facility failed to ensure the as needed (PRN) Benadryl being used for its psychotropic (alters mood or thought) properties had a 14-day stop date or a specified duration with supporting physician documentation for Resident (R) 6's PRN Benadryl.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · deficient, provider has August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, observation, and record review the facility failed to ensure Resident (R) 6 had a current physician order with an appropriate indication for the ongoing use of an indwelling catheter (a tube inserted into the bladder to drain urine into a collection bag) which included the size of catheter needed.
  7. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · deficient, provider has August 14, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, observation, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist (CP) identified and reported irregularities for Resident(R)6's as needed psychotropic (alters mood or thought) medication.
  8. D
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    F849 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · deficient, provider has August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, observation, and record review, the facility failed to ensure collaboration with the hospice provider for Resident (R) 6.
  9. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · deficient, provider has August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to offer and provide or obtain a signed declination for the Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV20- vaccination for bacterial pneumonia infections) for Resident (R)11, R4 and R25.
August 14, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 34 residents, with three residents reviewed for abuse, neglect, and exploitation. Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to prevent an episode of staff-to-resident physical abuse. On 06/28/25 at approximately 06:40 PM, Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M took cognitively impaired Resident (R)1 to the bathroom. CNA M called for assistance, and CNA N came to R1's room. CNA M told CNA N that R1 bit her, so CNA N took over care. CNA N noticed R1 was dabbing her face with toilet paper, and the toilet paper had blood on it. CNA N asked R1 what happened, and R1 said, Honey, can you believe it? Her fist hit my jaw. CNA N observed a purple bruise on R1's right jaw and blood in the resident's mouth. CNA N informed LN G and CNA M of R1's statement. CNA M denied hitting R1. [...]
September 11, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to employ a full time Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) to supervise the preparation of meals and sanitation in the facility's kitchen. This deficient practice placed the 36 residents of the facility at risk for inadequate nutrition.
  2. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to store biologicals as required when staff failed to discard or destroy expired medications and vaccines. This deficient practice placed residents of the facility at risk of receiving ineffective medications.
  3. E
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide food prepared by methods that conserve nutritive value, flavor, and appearance when dietary staff failed to measure and provide the proper amounts of food for the four residents with a pureed diet. This placed the four residents at risk for impaired nutrition.
  4. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with one reviewed for side rails. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a bed rail that met safety requirements and addressed risks for entrapment for Resident (R)4. This placed her at risk for accident or injury due to unidentified risks associated with side rail use.
  5. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist (CP) identified and reported the lack of a 14-day stop date or specified duration, for Resident (R)10's as needed (PRN) antianxiety (class of medications that calm and relax people) medication. This placed R10 at risk for unintended effects related to psychotropic drug medications.
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a 14-day stop date or a specified duration with rationale for Resident (R)10's ongoing as-needed (PRN) antianxiety (class of medications that calm and relax people) medication. This placed R10 at risk for unintended effects related to psychotropic (alters mood or thought) drug medications.
January 31, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to discard expired medications in the emergency drug treatment kit/box located in the medication room. This placed residents at risk for ineffective medications.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for falls. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide adequate supervision for Resident (R) 29 who fell when she was left unattended in the shower room and R35 who fell while unsupervised in an unlocked treatment room. This deficient practice placed R29 and R35 at risk for injuries from falls.
  3. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist identified and reported to the Director of Nursing, facility medical director, and physician, the lack of a 14 day stop date for Resident (R)11 and R13's as needed (PRN) psychotropic (a medication that affects mood and/or thought) or rationale for continued use. This placed the residents at risk for inappropriate use of a psychotropic medication with side effects.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observations, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a 14- day stop date for Resident (R)11 and R13 who received as needed (PRN) psychotropic (medication that affects mood and/or thoughts) that lacked a 14 day stop date or rationale for continued use. This placed the affected residents at risk for unintended affects related to psychotropic drug medications.

Fire safety inspections

22 fire safety citations on file: 6 on September 11, 2024, 7 on January 31, 2023, 9 on August 12, 2021.

Every fire safety citation22 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Ensure that personnel concerned with handling of medical gases and cylinders are trained on the risk.
    K 926 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · August 12, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
August 14, 2025Fine $12,779

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.274.073.86
Registered nurses0.770.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.683.603.42
Nurse aides2.99
Licensed practical nurses0.51
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)52.5%48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.09 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.51 on weekdays and 3.68 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.29 in April to June 2025 to 4.27 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.270.774.513.68 0.4%0 of 9035
Oct to Dec 20254.390.704.733.52 0.0%0 of 9233
Jul to Sep 20254.320.674.583.65 0.0%0 of 9233
Apr to Jun 20254.290.634.533.69 0.0%0 of 9132
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kansas, Jan to Mar 20264.010.674.193.564.8%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.817.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.71.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.72.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.84.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.316.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.94.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.718.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.62.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: RUSH COUNTY NURSING HOME SOCIETY.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Aldrich, TroyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual03/28/2024
Baalmann, RuthManaging control - governing bodyIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/22/2016
Depperschmidt, AmyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/24/2020
Holopirek, KathyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual02/22/2024
Holopirek, RachelManaging control - governing bodyIndividual02/22/2024
Aldrich, TroyCorporate directorIndividual03/28/2024
Baalmann, RuthCorporate directorIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaCorporate directorIndividual09/22/2016
Depperschmidt, AmyCorporate directorIndividual09/24/2020
Holopirek, KathyCorporate directorIndividual02/22/2024
Holopirek, RachelCorporate directorIndividual02/22/2024
Baalmann, RuthCorporate officerIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaCorporate officerIndividual05/23/2024
Depperschmidt, AmyCorporate officerIndividual09/24/2020
Aldrich, TroyOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/28/2024
Baalmann, RuthOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/22/2016
Depperschmidt, AmyOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/24/2020
Holopirek, KathyOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/22/2024
Holopirek, RachelOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/22/2024
Ladd, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2019
Rathke, CharlotteOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/17/2004
Worthey, SuziOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/10/2025
Aldrich, TroyTrustee of the SNFIndividual03/28/2024
Baalmann, RuthTrustee of the SNFIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaTrustee of the SNFIndividual09/22/2016
Depperschmidt, AmyTrustee of the SNFIndividual09/24/2020
Holopirek, KathyTrustee of the SNFIndividual02/22/2024
Holopirek, RachelTrustee of the SNFIndividual02/22/2024
Bland & Associates, P.C.Adp of the SNFOrganization09/23/2022
Farmers Bank and TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization02/04/2004
Forvis Mazars LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization02/04/2004
Aldrich, TroyAdp of the SNFIndividual03/28/2024
Baalmann, RuthAdp of the SNFIndividual06/27/2013
Basgall, TonyaAdp of the SNFIndividual09/22/2016
Depperschmidt, AmyAdp of the SNFIndividual09/24/2020
Gipson, JamesAdp of the SNFIndividual02/28/2018
Gross, SamuelAdp of the SNFIndividual06/01/2023
Hartman, SydniAdp of the SNFIndividual02/24/2022
Helm, TayciAdp of the SNFIndividual09/02/2014
Holopirek, KathyAdp of the SNFIndividual02/22/2024
Holopirek, RachelAdp of the SNFIndividual02/22/2024
Ladd, RobertAdp of the SNFIndividual05/01/2019
Leaming, LondonAdp of the SNFIndividual07/08/2024
Northcutt, JamesAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2009
Rathke, CharlotteAdp of the SNFIndividual02/17/2004
Stecklein, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual01/20/2010
Torrez, CariAdp of the SNFIndividual09/04/2024
Worthey, SuziAdp of the SNFIndividual06/10/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 8 problems in this area, most recently on July 22, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on July 22, 2026: "Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 22, 2026: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 22, 2026: "Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function."

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Locust Grove Village's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Locust Grove Village 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Locust Grove Village get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 22, 2026. The Kansas average is 9.5.
Has Locust Grove Village been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,779 in the last three years.
Does Locust Grove Village accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Locust Grove Village?
CMS lists 50 owners and managers. Legal business name: RUSH COUNTY NURSING HOME SOCIETY.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection