Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Basile

Maison D'acadiens Care Center

2907 East Schambers, Basile, LA 70515 · Evangeline County · (337) 432-6663

78 certified beds, about 63 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2003

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195582 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 9, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 21 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.37 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Louisiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.31 of those hours.

50.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Louisiana average 47.6%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 21 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
18D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 9, 2026Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure the discharge summary included a recapitulation of the resident's stay for 1 (Resident #66) of 3 closed records reviewed.
  2. D
    Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
    F676 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents received the necessary services to maintain good grooming. The facility failed to provide proper hair grooming for 1 (#54) of 17 sampled resident. The current census was 65.
  3. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, and interview the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents that received meals prepared by the kitchen. The facility census was 65.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development of communicable diseases and infections by failing to ensure staff changed gloves and performed hand hygiene after touching contaminated areas during wound care for 1 (#10) of 2 (#4 and #10) residents observed for wound care.
June 18, 2025Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program by failing to ensure the facility was free from insects. The deficient practice had the potential to affect 62 residents who resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure the Resident's right to formulate an advanced directive was properly reflected in the Resident's medical record for 1 (Resident #47) of 24 sampled residents. The facility failed to ensure all medical records regarding code status consistently reflected Resident #47's wishes to be a DNR (Do Not Resuscitate).
  3. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the NOMNC Form CMS-10123 (Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage) was provided to the resident and/or the resident's representative prior to discharge from Medicare Part A services for 2 (Resident #115 and Resident #116) of 2 sampled residents for Advanced Beneficiary Notice (ABN).
  4. D
    Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
    F627 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to document discharge planning for a resident who had expressed a desire to discharge. The facility failed to document a referral to an outside entity, and the responses received from the outside entity, for Resident #45. The total sample included 20 residents.
  5. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that residents who were unable to carry out ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) received the necessary services to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene by failing to provide ADL care for 1 (Resident #54) of 24 sampled residents.
  6. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, and interview the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents that received meals prepared by the kitchen. The facility census was 62.
  7. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development of communicable diseases and infection by: 1. failing to ensure staff performed hand hygiene between residents while feeding dependent residents; and 2. failing to ensure staff followed enhanced barrier precautions while providing direct patient care for Resident #23.
  8. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to offer the Pneumococcal Vaccine on admit to the facility for 1 (#45) of 5 (#19, #45, #46, #54 and #60) residents sampled for Influenza, Pneumococcal and COVID-19 immunizations.
April 17, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that food was properly stored, prepared, distributed and served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The facility failed to ensure: 1. Expired/ outdated items were not available for resident consumption; 2. Dry food storage room was clean and free from residue from insects; 3. Kitchen utensils/ scoops were stored under sanitary conditions; 4. Refrigerated food contents were labeled and dated; 5. Kitchen linens were clean and properly stored. The total facility census was 63 residents.
  2. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program to ensure residents had a pest free environment. The deficient practice had the potential to affect all 63 residents that resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to transmit a MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessment within 14 days of completion for 2 (Resident #14 and Resident #43) of 2 sampled residents with MDS records over 120 days old.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that a Resident Assessment accurately reflected the cognition status for 1 (Resident #26) Resident. The sample size was 31. Review of Resident #26's EHR revealed an admit date of 12/14/2023 with diagnoses that included: Polyneuropathy, Spinal Stenosis, Urine Retention, Transient Paralysis, and Rhabdomyolysis. Review of the Resident #26's Quarterly MDS with an ARD of 12/21/2023 revealed he was interviewable with a BIMS of 10. Review of the BIMS conducted revealed: Repetition of Three Words-2 words repeated; Temporal Orientation (orientation to year, month, and day) missed by 1 year; What month are we in right now? accurate within 5 days; What day of the week is today? Correct; Going back What was the 3 words I asked you to repeat? answered after cueing; Able to recall blue- yes; Able to recall bed- yes. Total score- 10. [...]
  5. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure services were provided to meet professional standards of practice as evidenced by failing to deliver oxygen therapy as ordered for 1 (Resident #2) of 1 resident reviewed for respiratory care. The facility census was 63 residents.
  6. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that residents who were unable to carry out ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) received the necessary services to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene. The facility failed to provide oral care and nail care to dependent residents for 3 (Resident #9, Resident #10, and Resident #26) of 3 (Resident #9, Resident #10, and Resident #26) residents sampled for ADL's
  7. D
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to dispose of garbage and refuse properly. The total facility census was 63 residents.
March 4, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were electronically transmitted in a timely manner by failing to transmit a MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessment within 14 days of completion for 1 (#1) of 3 (#1, #2, and #3) Residents reviewed for resident assessments.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to ensure Resident's person centered plan of care were reviewed and revised to include a focus with interventions/tasks to address the Resident's risk of Elopement/Wandering for 2 (#2, and #3) of 3 (#1, #2, #3) sampled Resident's care plans reviewed.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 4 on June 9, 2026, 1 on June 18, 2025.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · June 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have a fire alarm with audible and visual signals that transmits the alarm automatically to notify emergency forces in event of fire.
    K 343 · June 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · June 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.373.763.86
Registered nurses0.310.310.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.683.213.42
Nurse aides2.23
Licensed practical nurses0.82
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)50.8%47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.75 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.65 on weekdays and 2.68 on weekends, 27% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 28.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.57 in April to June 2025 to 3.37 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.370.313.652.68 28.7%0 of 9063
Oct to Dec 20253.500.303.762.81 24.2%0 of 9260
Jul to Sep 20253.480.303.782.72 19.3%0 of 9260
Apr to Jun 20253.570.263.902.74 20.3%0 of 9161
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Louisiana, Jan to Mar 20263.640.263.863.103.6%0.9% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.217.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.01.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.42.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.63.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.017.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.05.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
48.422.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.42.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.32.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: 2907 BASILE SNF LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
M5 Operations, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization73%10/01/2023
Moody, Charles5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual73%10/01/2023
Arceneaux, DwightW-2 managing employeeIndividual10/01/2023
Moody, CharlesCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2023
Arceneaux, DwightOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on April 17, 2024: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 9, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 9, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 9, 2026: "Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.68 hours per resident per day, below the Louisiana average of 3.21.

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Maison D'acadiens Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Maison D'acadiens Care Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Maison D'acadiens Care Center get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 9, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Maison D'acadiens Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Maison D'acadiens Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Maison D'acadiens Care Center?
CMS lists 5 owners and managers. Legal business name: 2907 BASILE SNF LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection