Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Jennings

Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home

1610 Evangeline Highway, Jennings, LA 70546 · Jeffrson Davis County · (337) 824-2829

8 certified beds, about 6 residents a day · Government - State · Medicare since 2004

Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195608 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 16, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 3 health citations since July 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 11.68 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Louisiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 3.24 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 3 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 16, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 17, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to electronically submit accurate payroll information for direct care staffing as required. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 2 (#11 and #14) of the 2 (#11 and #14) residents residing in the facility.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interview, the facility failed to maintain an effective infection prevention and control program by failing to ensure staff utilized appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) for a resident on Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) while administering medication and bolus tube feeding for 1 (#14) out of 1 (#14) resident sampled for tube feeding.
July 24, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 6, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain a clean, comfortable, and homelike environment by failing to ensure clean bed linen was provided to 1 (#1) out of 1 (#1) residents investigated for environment. The sample resident size was 9.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)11.683.763.86
Registered nurses3.240.310.69
All nursing staff on weekends9.403.213.42
Nurse aides2.07
Licensed practical nurses6.37
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.40 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 12.62 on weekdays and 9.40 on weekends, 26% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.33 in April to June 2025 to 11.68 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 202611.683.2412.629.40 0.0%0 of 906
Oct to Dec 202511.543.2712.209.88 0.0%0 of 928
Jul to Sep 202511.772.4812.3510.27 0.0%1 of 928
Apr to Jun 20257.331.637.626.61 0.0%3 of 9113
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Louisiana, Jan to Mar 20263.640.263.863.103.6%0.9% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Louisiana

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Louisiana, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$14.67$13.97 to $16.8720,690
LPNs and LVNs$27.63$23.87 to $29.4317,600
Registered nurses$38.57$33.19 to $45.0048,970
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.217.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.71.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.73.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.65.64.6

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTHWEST LOUISIANA VETERANS HOME.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
State of La, Dept of Veterans Affairs5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization11/15/2004
Price, DarlaCorporate directorIndividual04/26/2022
Ieyoub, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/17/2025
State of La, Dept of Veterans AffairsAdp of the SNFOrganization01/08/2025
Ieyoub, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/17/2025
Price, DarlaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/08/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 17, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 17, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 24, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 16, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Southwest Louisiana War Veterans Home?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: SOUTHWEST LOUISIANA VETERANS HOME.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection