Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Sigourney

Manor House Care Center

1212 South Stuart Street, Sigourney, IA 52591 · Keokuk County · (641) 622-2142

55 certified beds, about 42 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165325 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 25, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 16 health citations since July 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.63 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.36 of those hours.

CMS links it to Legacy Healthcare, an affiliated group of 95 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
June 25, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, staff interviews, and the facility policy, the facility failed to keep a urinary catheter bag off the floor for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for urinary catheters (Resident #42). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  2. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, policy review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure medical records were complete and accurate for 1 of 3 discharged residents reviewed(Resident #46). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  3. D
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to offer a Covid-19 booster to 1 of 5 residents reviewed for immunizations(Resident #9). The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  4. C
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement(QAPI) Committee Meeting Attendance Records, policy review, and staff interview, the facility failed to conduct meetings at least quarterly with the minimum required members. The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
  5. B
    Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
    F847 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, facility policy review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure the signed binding arbitration agreements met requirements for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #42) sampled with an admission prior to 8/1/2024. The facility reported a census of 43 residents.
May 15, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, resident and staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to notify the resident's provider of a change of condition that required physician intervention, and failed to consistently document the status of a resident for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #145). The facility staff failed to notify the provider of the blood in Resident #145's catheter for 3 days that required an intervention in a hospital. The facility reported a census of 44 residents.
  2. E
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, staff interviews, resident interviews, and the facility policy, the facility failed to provide a mechanical/ground texture meat to residents prescribed a mechanical soft or ground meat texture diet for 9 of 9 residents; and failed to provide the prescribe diet for 2 of 2 residents prescribed a 2 gram sodium diet ( Resident #20 and Resident #42) during a meal observation. The facility reported a census of 45 residents.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
  4. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the Care Plan reflected edema (swelling) for 1 of 2 resident's reviewed for edema (Resident #30). The facility reported a census of 45 residents.
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, resident and staff interview, the facility failed to consistently evidence of including residents in care conference meetings on a quarterly basis for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for Care Conferences (Resident #6). The facility reported a census of 45.
  6. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff followed wound care orders for 1 of 1 residents (Resident #6) with a wound care observation. The facility census was 45.
  7. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observations, staff interviews, and the facility policy, the facility failed to notify the physician after a resident lost over 13 pounds in a month for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for nutrition (Resident #13). The facility reported a census of 45 residents.
  8. D
    Provide or get specialized rehabilitative services as required for a resident.
    F825 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to obtain Occupational Therapy(OT) services in a timely manner for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for specialized rehabilitative services(Resident #30). The resident reported a census of 45 residents.
  9. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff followed infection prevention and control policies to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 1 sampled residents (Resident #6) with an observation of wound care. The facility reported a census of 45.
July 18, 2024Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to offer the pneumococcal vaccine at recommended times to 4 out of 5 residents reviewed for pneumococcal vaccinations (Resident #11, #13, #16, #22). The facility reported a census of 39 residents.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to intervene when several days elapsed without a bowel movement (BM) for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for a change in condition (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 39 residents.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on May 15, 2025.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · May 15, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.633.823.86
Registered nurses0.360.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.073.373.42
Nurse aides2.44
Licensed practical nurses0.84
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.15 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.86 on weekdays and 3.07 on weekends, 20% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.69 in April to June 2025 to 3.63 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.630.363.863.07 0.0%0 of 9042
Oct to Dec 20253.640.393.853.09 0.0%0 of 9241
Apr to Jun 20253.690.383.972.99 0.0%1 of 9143
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.617.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.92.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.33.83.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.716.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.44.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.519.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.51.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.42.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SIGOURNEY IA SKILLED NURSING FACILITY LLC. CMS links this home to Legacy Healthcare, a group of 95 nursing homes averaging 2.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Shabat, MenachemCorporate officerIndividual08/15/2024
Legacy Healthcare Financial Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/15/2024
Beasley, KarlaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Behounek, LinseyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Borcherding, JennyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Brubaker, AlishaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Burken, SheriOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Friedenberg, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Hedberg, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Hennager, ChristinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Heying, LarinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Houston, MindyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Jaeger, KrystleOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Knutson, MicheleOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Larson, MelissaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
McClure, DorothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Otterbeck, PatriciaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, ChaimOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Scott, KathleenOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Seu, JoshuaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Shabat, MenachemOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Shear, KileyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Staudt, SandraOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Van Patten-Richard, JuliaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Van Veghel, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wei, ShipengOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wierschem, BobbieOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wood, RosemaryOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wright, AmyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Friedman, BrianTrustee of the SNFIndividual01/03/2012
Rajchenbach, AvrumTrustee of the SNFIndividual04/28/2008
Rajchenbach, RivkaTrustee of the SNFIndividual04/28/2008
Shabat, AhuvaTrustee of the SNFIndividual01/03/2012
Cascade Capital Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Cascade Capital Partners LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Ccg Gorgona LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Gorgona Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Gorgona Propco Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Gorgona Sub Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Gpn Family Trust U/a/D 4/28/08Adp of the SNFOrganization04/03/2025
Mn8 Rh Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Burken, SheriAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Wei, ShipengAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly"
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.07 hours per resident per day, below the Iowa average of 3.37.

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Manor House Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Manor House Care Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Manor House Care Center get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 25, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Manor House Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Manor House Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Manor House Care Center?
CMS lists 43 owners and managers, and links the home to Legacy Healthcare. Legal business name: SIGOURNEY IA SKILLED NURSING FACILITY LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection