Find a nursing home

Home / Maryland / Bethesda

Maplewood Park Place

9707 Old Georgetown Road, Bethesda, MD 20814 · Montgomery County · (301) 530-0500

31 certified beds, about 17 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 215287 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 10, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Maryland average is 17, the national average 9.2).

Of 5 health citations since August 2019, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 10, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and staff interviews, it was determined that facility staff failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for the resident. This was evident for 1(Resident # 5) of 10 residents reviewed for care plans during an annual survey.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews with facility staff, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident received treatment and care to promote the highest practicable well-being as evidenced by failure to follow the physician order, monitor and document the outcome for effectiveness. This was evident for 1 (Resident # 4) of 14 residents reviewed during this annual survey.
  3. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on the medication administration observation, review of the facility's policy and procedure for medication administration, and interview with facility staff, it was determined that licensed facility staff failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5 percent during the medication pass observation. This finding was evident for 3 out of 46 opportunities, which resulted in a medication error rate of 6.52%.
May 6, 2021Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 2, 2019Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of clinical records and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility staff failed to provide adequate supervision and failed to implement intervention to prevent accidents. This finding was evident for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for falls/accidents during the survey (#5) and resulted in actual harm.
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 20, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of the clinical record and staff interview, it was determined that the facility staff failed to revise the plan of care to reflect the type of assistance needed for walking in a timely manner. This finding was evident for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for falls during the survey (#5).

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 6 on March 10, 2025, 1 on May 6, 2021, 1 on August 2, 2019.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Construct fire resistant interior walls.
    K 331 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. B
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 6, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 2, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.873.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.840.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.473.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported40.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.7%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In April to June 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 7.19 on weekdays and 6.08 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 16% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 6.0% nationally.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Apr to Jun 20256.871.637.196.08 0.0%0 of 9116
United States, Apr to Jun 20253.780.623.963.336.0%0.5% of days
Maryland, Apr to Jun 20253.750.733.913.349.1%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Maryland

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Maryland, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.79$18.46 to $22.0027,720
LPNs and LVNs$35.89$31.40 to $38.309,560
Registered nurses$47.98$40.26 to $51.6152,910
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.020.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.41.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.722.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.05.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
44.413.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
28.321.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.09.812.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MAPLEWOOD PARK RETIREMENT SERVICES INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Dorazio, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual02/16/2024
Fried, LeslieCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2004
Gallagher, ElizabethCorporate directorIndividual02/14/2023
Hotvedt, RichardCorporate directorIndividual02/16/2024
May, CatherineCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2013
Moretti, AnnaCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2023
Parver, SharonCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2008
Dorazio, MichaelCorporate officerIndividual02/16/2024
Fried, LeslieCorporate officerIndividual02/01/2004
Gallagher, ElizabethCorporate officerIndividual02/14/2023
Hotvedt, RichardCorporate officerIndividual02/16/2024
May, CatherineCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2013
Moretti, AnnaCorporate officerIndividual02/01/2023
Parver, SharonCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2008
Sunrise Senior Living Services IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization06/27/1994
Coelho, AndrewOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/12/2009
Falco, DeniseOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/23/2022
Frantz, EdwardOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/16/2015
Harry, BarbaraOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/20/2005
O'Riordan, DamienOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Painter, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/11/2011
Passi, RaviOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2018
Royal, PatriciaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Sekel, WendyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/30/2017
Wells, AnjaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/23/2022
Sunrise Senior Living Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization05/21/2025
Coelho, AndrewAdp of the SNFIndividual10/12/2009
Falco, DeniseAdp of the SNFIndividual08/23/2022
Frantz, EdwardAdp of the SNFIndividual01/16/2015
Harry, BarbaraAdp of the SNFIndividual08/20/2005
O'Riordan, DamienAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Painter, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual02/11/2011
Passi, RaviAdp of the SNFIndividual06/01/2018
Royal, PatriciaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Sekel, WendyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/30/2017
Wells, AnjaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/23/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 10, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 10, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 10, 2025: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."

Other nursing homes nearby

Maryland contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Maryland. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Maplewood Park Place's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Maplewood Park Place 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Maplewood Park Place get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 10, 2025. The Maryland average is 17.
Has Maplewood Park Place been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Maplewood Park Place accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Maplewood Park Place?
CMS lists 36 owners and managers. Legal business name: MAPLEWOOD PARK RETIREMENT SERVICES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection