Find a nursing home

Home / Kansas / Minneola

Minneola District Hospital Ltcu

207 Chestnut, Minneola, KS 67865 · Clark County · (620) 885-4238

20 certified beds, about 15 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicaid since 1977

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
1 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 17E470 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 4, 2025, inspectors cited 12 health deficiencies (the Kansas average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 23 health citations since July 2021, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 7.16 hours per resident per day, against 4.07 across Kansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.63 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 23 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
6E
5F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
March 4, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 12 citations
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents, with eleven residents sampled, including five residents reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, interview, record review, the facility failed to ensure that dependent resident (R)2 remained free from accident hazards/harm related to staff feeding R2 pureed foods, without ensuring the pureed foods were at a safe temperature to eat. The staff attempted to give R2 bites of pureed food which included: hot pureed soup, which had been heated 196 degrees Fahrenheit (F) and placed in an insulated container on the steam table; and a pureed grilled sandwich, which had been heated to 150 degrees F, without obtaining the temperature prior to serving the dependent resident. This failure placed R2 in immediate jeopardy.
  2. G
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 19 residents, with 11 sampled, including one reviewed for hydration. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to offer sufficient fluid intake to maintain proper hydration and health for Resident (R)6. This deficient practice resulted the hospitalization admission of R6 for dehydration.
  3. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 19 residents and one medication carts. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the staff had secured storage of resident medications when observation onsite revealed an unlocked and unattended medication cart, not in the line of vision of the attending staff, and contained oral, topical and inhaled medications. This deficient practice placed nine cognitively impaired, independently mobile residents at risk.
  4. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported 19 residents with 11 residents sampled. Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to store, prepare and serve food in a sanitary manner. This placed all residents at risk for food bourne illness.
  5. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents with 11 residents reviewed. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain a comprehensive infection control program related to laundry delivery. This failure had the potential to lead to contamination of clean linens during delivery which had the potential to negatively affect all the residents in the facility.
  6. F
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide a safe, functional, and sanitary environment in the laundry service area.
  7. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents with 11 residents sampled. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to protect the dignity of Resident (R) 10, when staff transferred the resident from her room to the shower room with her buttocks exposed. The facility failed to honor the dignity of residents in the dining room, when observation revealed a container in the dining room for soiled clothing protectors was labeled bibs only, no trash, and was visible to all residents and guests in the area. These deficient practices had the potential to negatively impact each residents dignity and psychosocial well-being.
  8. E
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents with 11 residents sampled, including four residents reviewed for advanced directives (a written document which indicated the medical decisions for health care professionals when the person could not speak). Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to have a process in place to ensure each resident's code status was accurate and easily identified for Resident (R)17, R3, R14, and R171.
  9. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents. Based on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure the facility had an effective system in place for the accurate accounting and reconcilliation of controlled medicaiton.
  10. E
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents with 15 residents sampled which included five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure a timely response to the pharmacist's identify and reported irregularities to the facility for four of the five residents sampled, Resident (R)8, R15, R17, and R6.
  11. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents with 15 residents sampled which included five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure Residents who use psychotropic drugs (any drug that affects brain activities associated with mental processes and behavior. receive gradual dose reductions, and behavioral interventions, unless clinically contraindicated, in an effort to discontinue these drugs) related to a timely response to the pharmacist's identify and reported irregularities to the facility for four of the five residents sampled, Resident (R)8, R15, R17, and R6.
  12. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 19 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the posted daily nurse staffing sheets included accurate and identifiable information to include the facility name and daily licensed and unlicensed staff hours, as required.
March 2, 2023Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 29 residents with 12 residents included in the sample. Of the 29 residents five were reported to be Covid positive and were in isolation in their rooms on the 200 hallway. The facility failed to provide a safe sanitary living environment for the residents by the failure to doff personal protective equipment (PPE) prior to leaving the positive residents rooms and using large trash receptacles in the hallway for contaminated PPE, to prevent the spread of covid and infections.
  2. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 29 residents. The sample included 12 residents with one reviewed for hospitalization. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a bed hold notice to Resident (R)25 or their representative when the resident was sent and admitted to the hospital. This deficient practice placed R25 at risk to not be allowed to return to her former room at the facility.
  3. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 29 residents with 12 included in the sample. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to develop comprehensive assessments by the failure to develop an admission Minimum data Set (MDS) within 14 calendar days after admission for Resident (R) 79 who admitted to the facility on [DATE] and failed to complete an annual comprehensive MDS for R 17 within 366 days of the previous comprehensive MDS.
  4. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 29 residents with 12 included in the sample. Based on interview and record review the facility failed to complete Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments within 92 days of the prior assessment for three of the sampled residents, including Resident (R) 20, R 5, R 14.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents with 12 selected for review. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to accurately complete the MDS for one sampled resident, Resident (R)13, with administration of an anticoagulant (a classification of medications used to decrease or prevent the clotting of blood). This placed the resident at risk for lack of needed cares.
  6. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wrote- The 02/27/23 Electronic Health Records (EHR) documented that R22 had the following diagnoses: Parkinson's disease (a progressive disorder of the nervous system characterized by unintended/uncontrollable movements) and type 2 diabetes mellitus (a chronic metabolic disorder characterized by persistent high blood glucose when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin made, or the body cannot respond to the insulin). The 07/15/22 Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented brief interview for mental status (BIMS) of 15, indicating intact cognition. The resident required extensive one person assist with all activities of daily living (ADLs) except eating, which required setup. Resident was at risk for development of pressure ulcers/injuries without pressure relieving devices on the bed or chair. The 10/14/22 Annual MDS documented a BIMS of 14, indicating intact cognition. [...]
  7. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents with 12 sampled. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to review and revise the care plan for one sampled Resident (R)25, regarding new interventions to prevent falls. This placed the R25 at risk for new injuries from repeated falls.
  8. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 29 residents with 6 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the Consulting Pharmacist identified and reported blood sugar irregularities that were out of the parameters ordered by the physician for one of the six sampled residents, Resident (R) 19.
  9. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility census totaled 29 residents with 6 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure one of the six sampled residents, Resident (R) 19, remained free of unnecessary medications by the failure to report blood sugars out of the parameters ordered by the physician.
July 15, 2021Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 10, 2021
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents. The facility had one central kitchen where food was stored and prepared for one dining room. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure staff distributed beverages to residents in a sanitary manner.
  2. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 10, 2021
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents, with 12 residents included in the sample and five residents reviewed for immunizations. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R)28 received her influenza vaccination and R10 received her pneumococcal vaccination.

Fire safety inspections

9 fire safety citations on file: 3 on March 4, 2025, 4 on March 2, 2023, 2 on July 15, 2021.

Every fire safety citation9 citations
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · March 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · March 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 15, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 15, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)7.164.073.86
Registered nurses1.630.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends6.113.603.42
Nurse aides5.02
Licensed practical nurses0.52
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.16 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 7.59 on weekdays and 6.11 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 10.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.07 in April to June 2025 to 7.16 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20267.161.637.596.11 10.4%0 of 9015
Jul to Sep 20256.421.946.755.57 7.9%0 of 9214
Apr to Jun 20256.071.786.485.04 17.3%0 of 9116
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kansas, Jan to Mar 20264.010.674.193.564.8%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.717.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.71.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.12.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.44.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.616.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.618.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.62.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 4, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 2, 2023: "Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 4, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 4, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Minneola District Hospital Ltcu's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Minneola District Hospital Ltcu 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 1 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Minneola District Hospital Ltcu get at its last inspection?
12 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 4, 2025. The Kansas average is 9.5.
Has Minneola District Hospital Ltcu been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Minneola District Hospital Ltcu accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Minneola District Hospital Ltcu?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection