Find a nursing home

Home / Wisconsin / Sheboygan

Sheboygan Senior Community Inc

3505 County Road Y, Sheboygan, WI 53083 · Sheboygan County · (920) 458-2137

60 certified beds, about 56 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 525598 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 20, 2026, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the Wisconsin average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 28 health citations since July 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.26 hours per resident per day, against 4.21 across Wisconsin and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.29 of those hours.

36.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Wisconsin average 46.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 28 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
18D
2E
7F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 20, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident interview and record review, the facility did not ensure care was provided in accordance with a physician order for 1 resident (R) (R9) of 16 sampled residents. R9 had a diabetic heel ulcer. An Apligraf (a bioengineered, bi-layered skin substitute that contains living human keratinocytes, fibroblasts, and bovine collagen commonly used to treat diabetic foot ulcers) was applied at a podiatry appointment on 11/3/25 with an order not to remove the graft. Staff removed the graft on 11/4/25 and did not inform the podiatry clinic. During a podiatry appointment on 11/11/25, it was noted that the Apligraf was missing and R9's ulcer had worsened. R9 was hospitalized for nine days and diagnosed with osteomyelitis (a bone infection). R9 required surgical debridement and both intravenous (IV) and oral antibiotics. [...]
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure food was stored and prepared in a sanitary manner. This practice had the potential to affect all 57 residents residing in the facility. The microwaves on all three households contained dried food debris. Food items in the dry storage area were not label with use-by dates. Equipment in the main kitchen was not stored to prevent contamination.
  3. D
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 3 residents (R) (R36, R37 and R63) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medication had documentation that indicated the resident and/or their legal representative were thoroughly informed of the risks and benefits of prescribed psychotropic medication. R36 was prescribed duloxetine (antidepressant medication). The facility did not ensure an Informed Consent for Medication form was thoroughly reviewed and completed with R36. R37 was prescribed lorazepam (antianxiety medication) and desipramine (antidepressant medication). The facility did not ensure Informed Consent for Medication forms were thoroughly reviewed and completed with R37. R63 was prescribed buspirone (antianxiety medication) and citalopram (antidepressant medication). [...]
  4. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not notify the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of an emergent hospital transfer for 1 resident (R) (R10) of 6 sampled residents. R10 was transferred to the Emergency Department (ED) on 11/25/25 for evaluation. The Ombudsman was not notified of the transfer. In addition, Social Worker (SW)-L was not aware of the need to notify the Ombudsman of hospital transfers if the resident returned to the facility.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments were accurate for 3 residents (R) (R36, R1, and R28) of 16 sampled residents. R36's MDS assessments, dated 1/2/26 and 12/3/25, indicated R36 received hypnotic medication. R36 was not prescribed a hypnotic medication. R1's MDS assessment, dated 10/13/25, indicated R1 received parenteral feeding. R1 did not receive parenteral feeding. R28's MDS assessment, dated 11/20/25, did not indicate R28 was on dialysis. R28 was on dialysis since admission to the facility on 8/14/25.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure care and services to prevent pressure injuries from developing and/or promote healing was provided for 2 residents (R) (R8 and R36) of 6 sampled residents. On 11/20/25, R8 was noted to have a stage 1 pressure injury on top of the head. The facility did not ensure preventative measures were implemented to prevent further skin breakdown which resulted in a stage 2 pressure injury on top of R8's head. On 12/26/25, R36 was re-admitted to the facility from an acute hospital stay with a stage 2 pressure injury on the left buttock. On 1/3/26, the facility documented that R36 developed a stage 2 pressure injury on the right buttock. The facility did not ensure initial evaluations and/or wound assessments were completed to monitor R36's pressure injuries.
  7. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not complete a fall report to determine the root cause of a fall, update a care plan, or implement post-fall monitoring for 1 resident (R) (R8) of 1 sampled resident. R8 had an unwitnessed fall on 1/8/26. The facility did not complete a fall incident report or post-fall neurological checks. In addition, the facility did not update R8's care plan with a preventative safety intervention.
  8. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff and resident interview, and record review, the facility did not provide the necessary respiratory care and services for 3 residents (R) (R10, R15, and R62) of 3 sampled residents. R10, R15, and R62 did not have orders or care plans for nebulizer (a medical device that turns liquid medicine into a fine mist allowing it to be inhaled directly into the lungs to treat respiratory conditions) cleaning.
  9. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident interview and record review, the facility did not ensure vital signs, weight, and monitoring of the fistula site were completed before and after dialysis for 1 resident (R) (R28) of 1 sampled resident. R28's medical record did not contain orders to obtain vital signs or weight or monitor the fistula site pre- or post-dialysis.
February 27, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure allegations of abuse were reported to the State Agency (SA) for 2 residents (R) (R4 and R6) of 7 sampled residents. On 11/22/24, R7 notified staff that R1 was physically aggressive toward R4 on 11/21/24. The facility did not report the allegation of abuse to the SA. On 11/22/24, R1 initiated a resident-to-resident altercation with R6. The facility did not report the allegation of abuse to the SA.
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure allegations of abuse were thoroughly investigated for 2 residents (R) (R4 and R6) of 7 sampled residents. On 11/22/24, R7 notified staff that R1 was physically aggressive toward R4 on 11/21/24. The facility did not thoroughly investigate the allegation of abuse. On 11/22/24, R1 was physically aggressive toward R6. The facility did not thoroughly investigate the allegation of abuse.
September 25, 2024Standard inspection · 15 citations
  1. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure the individual designated as the food and nutritional services director met the minimum qualifications for the role. This had the potential to affect all 55 residents residing in the facility. Dietary Manager (DM)-H did not complete an approved dietary manager or food service manager certification course or other related education.
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure food was stored and prepared in a sanitary manner. This practice had the potential to affect 54 of 55 residents residing in the facility. Cooling temperature logs were not completed for leftover and pre-made food. Staff did not consistently monitor or document cooked food temperatures or hot/cold holding temperatures. Staff did not consistently test or document parts per million (PPM) of the quaternary sanitizing solution per manufacturer's instructions. Staff did not monitor and document dishwasher and surface temperatures. Staff did not follow procedures for reheating food in a microwave. Staff did not wear hair restraints when entering the kitchen where resident food was prepared. Staff did not perform appropriate hand hygiene and safe food handling practices when serving food.
  3. F
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure minimum required members of the Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) committee met at least quarterly. The facility did not have documentation that indicated the minimum required members of the QAA committee met at least quarterly. As of 9/25/24, the facility's most recent QAA committee meeting with all required members in attendance was on 6/12/23.
  4. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe and sanitary environment and prevent the transmission of communicable disease and infection. This practice had the potential to affect all 55 residents residing in the facility. The facility did not appropriately monitor residents and staff for infections and outbreaks.
  5. F
    Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
    F882 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure a staff person designated as the Infection Preventionist (IP) completed specialized training in infection prevention and control. This practice had the potential to affect all 55 residents residing in the facility. Director of Nursing (DON)-B and Registered Nurse (RN)-E were the facility's designated IPs and did not complete specialized training in infection prevention and control.
  6. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and resident and staff interview, the facility did not maintain the dignity of 3 residents (R) (R18, R23, and R50) in the dining room during meal time with the potential to affect more than 4 of 55 residents residing in the facility. R18's vital signs were obtained at the dining table during the lunch meal on 9/24/24. Medications were administered to residents at the dining table, including R23. Residents who sat at the same table were not served at the same time, including R50.
  7. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility did not ensure 4 residents (R) (R17, R45, R46, and R6) of 5 sampled residents who received psychotropic medication were monitored for adverse reactions or side effects of the medication. R17 was prescribed lorazepam (an antianxiety medication), sertraline (an antidepressant medication), and quetiapine (Seroquel) (an antipsychotic medication). R17's plan of care did not indicate R17 was monitored for adverse reactions or side effects of the medications. R45 was prescribed Seroquel. R45's plan of care did not indicate R45 was monitored for adverse reactions or side effects of the medication. R46 was prescribed lorazepam, sertraline, and quetiapine (Seroquel). R46's plan of care did not indicate R46 was monitored for adverse reactions or side effects of the medications. [...]
  8. D
    Allow resident to participate in the development and implementation of his or her person-centered plan of care.
    F553 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident representative interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure 1 resident (R) (R31) of 18 sampled residents and their activated Power of Attorney (POA) were offered care conferences and involved in continued care planning. R31's only care conference was completed on 9/17/21. Social Worker (SW)-C verified care conferences should be held yearly, when there is a change in a resident's condition, or if requested by a resident's family.
  9. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 1 resident (R) (R109) of 3 sampled residents signed and received a copy of the Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (ABN) form which is used to inform residents of their final day of Medicare Part A insurance coverage, potential liability for payment (daily cost of care and services at the facility), and standard claim appeal rights and instructions. The facility did not provide an ABN form (a document that explains financial liability, including the facility's daily rate for services) to R109 when R109's Medicare benefits ended on 5/16/24 and R109 remained in the facility.
  10. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident representative interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 3 residents (R) (R1, R19 and R32) of 5 sampled residents received a written transfer notice that included the date of the transfer, the reason for the transfer, the location of the transfer, and appeal rights. R1 was transferred to the hospital on 8/7/24. Neither R1 or R1's Power of Attorney (POA) were provided with a written transfer notice. R19 was transferred to the hospital on 8/17/24. Neither R19 or R19's POA were provided with a written transfer notice. R32 was transferred to the hospital on 2/20/24. Neither R32 or R32's POA were provided with a written transfer notice.
  11. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident representative interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 3 residents (R) (R1, R19, and R32) of 4 sampled residents reviewed for hospitalization received written information on the duration of the bed-hold policy, the reserve bed payment policy, and the right to return to the facility. R1 was transferred to the hospital on 8/7/24. Neither R1 or R1's activated Power of Attorney (POA) were provided with a written bed-hold notice. R19 was transferred to the hospital on 8/17/24. Neither R19 or R19's POA were provided with a written bed-hold notice. R32 was transferred to the hospital on 2/20/24. Neither R32 nor R32's POA were provided with a written bed-hold notice.
  12. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure the care plan was reviewed and revised as needed for 1 resident (R) (R32) of 18 sampled residents. R32 had new diagnoses of cerebrovascular accident (CVA) (stroke) and Parkinson's disease. The facility did not revise R32's care plan to address R32's new diagnoses.
  13. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff and resident interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 1 resident (R) (R19) of 19 sampled residents received the necessary care and services to prevent or monitor weight loss. R19 had an order for weekly weights which were not consistently obtained and documented. In addition, R19 experienced a severe weight loss and the appropriate follow-up was not completed.
  14. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 1 resident (R) (R208) of 5 sampled residents was monitored for adverse reactions or side effects of a high-risk medication. R208 was prescribed clopidogrel (an anticoagulant medication). R208's care plan did not contain monitoring interventions for adverse reactions or side effects of the high-risk medication.
  15. D
    Employ or obtain outside professional resources to provide services in the nursing home when the facility does not employ a qualified professional to furnish a required service.
    F840 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not acquire a current contract/agreement in writing for outside dialysis services for 1 resident (R) (R360) of 1 resident reviewed for dialysis services. R360's physician orders indicated R360 received dialysis three times per week. The facility did not have a current contract or agreement with the dialysis provider. The facility also did not have a policy related to dialysis treatment.
July 19, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 9, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program based on current standards of practice, designed to provide a safe environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable disease and infection. This practice had the potential to affect all 57 residents residing in the facility. In addition, facility did not have a system to monitor staff illness, symptoms, and return to work dates. The facility did not have a system to prevent the growth and spread of Legionella in the facility's water system. The facility did not monitor staff illness, including onset of symptoms, end of symptoms and return to work dates.
  2. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 10, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure an as needed (PRN) psychotropic medication was not utilized more than 14 days unless an alternate duration with rationale was provided for 1 Resident (R) (R45) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medication. The facility did not discontinue R45's PRN Lorazepam (an anti-anxiety medication) order after 14 days or obtain an alternate duration with rationale.

Fire safety inspections

22 fire safety citations on file: 7 on January 20, 2026, 8 on September 25, 2024, 7 on July 19, 2023.

Every fire safety citation22 citations
  1. F
    Develop Emergency Preparedness policies and procedures.
    E 13 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Meet requirements for outpatient facilities located next to inpatient facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 132 · January 20, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  5. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. C
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · September 25, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.264.213.86
Registered nurses0.290.990.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.043.773.42
Nurse aides3.03
Licensed practical nurses0.94
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)36.8%46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.7%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.61 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.34 on weekdays and 4.04 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.47 in April to June 2025 to 4.26 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.260.294.344.04 0.0%11 of 9056
Oct to Dec 20254.370.364.484.08 0.0%1 of 9256
Jul to Sep 20254.370.324.553.92 0.0%0 of 9257
Apr to Jun 20254.470.324.634.08 0.0%2 of 9157
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wisconsin, Jan to Mar 20264.190.954.363.748.8%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.216.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.12.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.62.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.53.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
47.418.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.35.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.315.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.323.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
6.215.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.61.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.72.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SHEBOYGAN SENIOR COMMUNITY, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bank First National5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization02/26/2010
United States Department of Agriculture - Rural Development5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization12/01/2016
Holzem, TaraW-2 managing employeeIndividual05/24/2014
Clapp, RogerCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Fritz, PerryCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2014
Gensch, BrianCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2017
Hamer, StephenCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Houwers, JamesCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Isken, KeithCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2017
Kerpe, MarshaCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Price, JamesCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Theune, DorisCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2011
Thompson, CynthiaCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2015
Trager, MargaretCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2017
Vandewater, DavidCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2014
Houwers, JamesCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2011
Theune, DorisCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2011
Vandewater, DavidCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2014
Treffert, PaulOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on January 20, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on January 20, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on January 20, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 25, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Wisconsin contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wisconsin. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Sheboygan Senior Community Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Sheboygan Senior Community Inc 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Sheboygan Senior Community Inc get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 20, 2026. The Wisconsin average is 9.5.
Has Sheboygan Senior Community Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Sheboygan Senior Community Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Sheboygan Senior Community Inc?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers. Legal business name: SHEBOYGAN SENIOR COMMUNITY, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection