Find a nursing home

Home / Alabama / Marion

Southland Nursing Home

500 Shivers Terrace, Marion, AL 36756 · Perry County · (334) 683-6141

91 certified beds, about 65 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1970

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 015104 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 22, 2021, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Alabama average is 4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since July 2018 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $5,244 in the last three years; the largest was $5,244, and the latest is dated December 18, 2023.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.91 hours per resident per day, against 3.88 across Alabama and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.52 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 22, 2021Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 27, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, review of Resident Identifier (RI) #14's medical record and the facility's policy titled NURSE CALL SYSTEM, the facility failed to ensure RI #14's call light was in reach. This deficient practice affected RI #14, one of 19 sampled residents.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 27, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, review of Resident Identifier (RI) #46's medical record and the facility's policy titled, Hand Washing Policy & Procedure, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #2, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) performed hand hygiene after she removed her gloves during medication administration. This deficient practice affected RI #46, one of four residents observed for medication administration.
June 27, 2019Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law.
    F808 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interviews, and a facility policy titled, PLANNED MENUS, the facility failed to ensure RI ( Resident Identifier ) #69 received a mechanical soft diet with chopped meat, as ordered by the physician. This was observed on 6/26/19 during the supper meal and affected one of four residents whose meals were observed.
July 11, 2018Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 26, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and review of the facility's policy titled, Food and Beverage Labeling Policy, the facility failed to ensure bags of food items in the walk in cooler and the chest freezer were labeled with an open and use by date after opening the bags. This had the potential to affect 52 of 52 residents receiving meals from dietary.
  2. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 26, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, medical record review,and a review of the facility's policy titled, RESIDENT PRIVACY POLICY & (and) PROCEDURE, the facility failed to ensure a licensed nurse provided privacy while administering an injection to Resident Identifier (RI) #28. This affected one of five nurses observed during medication pass. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, RESIDENT PRIVACY POLICY & (and) PROCEDURE, updated 10/2011, revealed: . POLICY: It is the policy of this facility to care for residents in the manner and in an environment that maintains resident dignity and respect. PROCEDURE: . 4. Provide privacy by screening the resident. (The staff will examine and treat the resident in a manner that maintains the privacy of the resident's body) * Close all doors to the room (resident room door and bathroom door). [...]
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 26, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and a review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage, the facility failed to ensure that the locked medication box in the medication refrigerator was secured. This affected one of one of one medication refrigerator observed. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage, with an update of 1/2017, revealed: Policy: It is the policy of this facility to ensure all medications housed on our premises will be stored in the pharmacy and/or medication rooms according to the manufacturer's recommendations and sufficient to ensure proper sanitation, temperature, light, ventilation, moisture control, segregation, and security. Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines 1. Narcotics and Controlled Substances: Schedule II drugs and back-up stock of Schedule III, IV and V medications are stored under double-lock and key. [...]
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 26, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, medical record review, a review of the facility's policy titled, HAND WASHING POLICY & (and) PROCEDURE, and a review of the facility's policy titled, Infection Control Policy and Procedures, the facility failed to ensure: 1) A licensed nurse washed her hands after taking gloves off, prior to putting on new gloves while administering medications. Further she did not wash her hands after returning to the medication cart to prepare medications for other residents or use a paper towel to turn off the water faucet. This licensed nurse also placed the glucometer and supplies directly on Resident Identifier (RI) #28's over bed table; and 2) a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) did not touch items in the resident's room, as well as clean items in the linen bag while providing incontinence care to RI #45. [...]

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 1 on June 27, 2019, 1 on July 11, 2018.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 27, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · July 11, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
December 18, 2023Fine $5,244

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.913.883.86
Registered nurses0.520.650.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.503.263.42
Nurse aides2.38
Licensed practical nurses1.00
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.5%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.11 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.07 on weekdays and 3.50 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.73 in April to June 2025 to 3.91 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.910.524.073.50 0.0%0 of 9065
Oct to Dec 20253.920.564.113.41 0.0%0 of 9265
Jul to Sep 20253.780.583.993.26 0.0%0 of 9264
Apr to Jun 20253.730.433.873.35 0.0%0 of 9163
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Alabama, Jan to Mar 20263.880.634.133.270.9%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeAlabamaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.712.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.50.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.92.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.63.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.912.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.85.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.421.215.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.82.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTHLAND NURSING HOME LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Sasser Enterprises IncDirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2004
Sasser, SheilaIndirect ownership interestIndividual12/19/2003
Sasser, StallionIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2004
Sasser, SterlingIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2004
Sasser, StetsonIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2004
Williams, SalleeIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2004
Sasser, StallionManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2004
Williams, SalleeManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2004
Sasser, SheilaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2004
Quality Care Rehab IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/18/2013
Sasser Enterprises IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2004
Bennett, Mary AnnOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/07/1998
Lee, WilliamOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/16/2025
Sasser, StallionOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2004
Williams, SalleeOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/05/2024
Quality Care Rehab IncAdp of the SNFOrganization04/11/2025
Sasser Enterprises IncAdp of the SNFOrganization08/25/2025
Lee, WilliamAdp of the SNFIndividual06/16/2025
Street, JoeAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2018
Williams, SalleeAdp of the SNFIndividual01/05/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 22, 2021: "Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 22, 2021: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 27, 2019: "Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 11, 2018: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Alabama contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Alabama. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Southland Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Southland Nursing Home 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Southland Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 22, 2021. The Alabama average is 4.
Has Southland Nursing Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $5,244 in the last three years.
Does Southland Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Southland Nursing Home?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers. Legal business name: SOUTHLAND NURSING HOME LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection