For a stay to recover after a hospital visit, these are the results CMS publishes for St. Gerard's Community of Care's Medicare short-stay residents.
On returning residents home or to the community, CMS rates it no different from the national rate (44.2% of residents, after adjusting for how sick they were). How to read these, and what Medicare pays for.
Went home or back to the community
44.2% this home
No different from the national rate
US median of homes 51.5% · North Dakota: 0 better, 21 worse
Rate of successful return to home or community from a SNF (risk-standardized discharge to community rate). Higher is better. October 2022 to September 2024. 26 eligible stays.
Potentially preventable readmissions
11.5% this home
No different from the national rate
US median of homes 10.7% · North Dakota: 2 better, 0 worse
Rate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF (risk-standardized rate). Lower is better. October 2022 to September 2024. 32 eligible stays.
Infections that led to a hospital stay
Not reported
CMS note: The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
US median of homes 7.1% · North Dakota: 0 better, 0 worse
Percentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization (risk-standardized rate). Lower is better. October 2023 to September 2024. 10 eligible stays.
Self-care and mobility at discharge
Not reported
CMS note: The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Median of homes: North Dakota50.0% · US 56.6%
Percentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge. Higher is better. October 2024 to September 2025. 5 residents counted.
Falls with major injury
Not reported
CMS note: The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Median of homes: North Dakota0.0% · US 0.0%
Percentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay. Lower is better. October 2024 to September 2025. 6 residents counted.
New or worsened pressure ulcers
Not reported
CMS note: The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Median of homes: North Dakota2.9% · US 1.7%
Percentage of residents with pressure ulcers or pressure injuries that are new or worsened (adjusted rate). Lower is better. October 2024 to September 2025. 6 residents counted.
Medication list given at discharge
Not reported
CMS note: The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Median of homes: North Dakota100.0% · US 98.7%
Percentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge. Higher is better. October 2024 to September 2025. 3 residents counted.